Grab/Ryde issues and charges

Yamapi

you all never notice meh... now like no more complains of taxi drivers liao... last time, every week sure have a few threads to kpkb taxi drivers

those that complain, i think go be  Uber/Grab drivers liao....lol

Cos now taxis are outnunbered 4 to 1 mah... Yes I think you are right! :D

Edited by Othello

U meant he stick on windscreen sun strip like these?

vehicle-graphics-sunstrips.jpg

No la. He bought a small rectangle black decal. Just nice to cover the PHV decal. I find that it made it even more obvious his is PHV.

you all never notice meh... now like no more complains of taxi drivers liao... last time, every week sure have a few threads to kpkb taxi drivers

those that complain, i think go be  Uber/Grab drivers liao....lol

Too many PHV drivers, will definitely have more complains.

Pls give them a wide berth. They are liable to act like taxi drivers.

Sudden stops, sudden turns.

That's what the decal is for. To identify them and their possible behaviour.

Too many PHV drivers, will definitely have more complains.

Pls give them a wide berth. They are liable to act like taxi drivers.

Sudden stops, sudden turns.

That's what the decal is for. To identify them and their possible behaviour.

The decal too small and for those cars that come with tinted glass, the decal at the rear is not visible at a far distance and need to be very near to the car rear to se the decal. How to identify them from behind? LTA should those weather proof decal for the rear to be stick outside the rear window or on the car boot door for easy identification.

I think PHV worse. They never go for any courses. Just need driving license. I had a few PHVs stop in the middle of the road to pick up their passenger. Their passenger wave at them and they just turn on hazard light and stop for passenger to board. Never even bother to move to left lane first before stopping. 

Do you have the video of those PHV who do that? Please send the video to TP as those drivers are too dangerous to be on the road.

As a driver myself I actually support all PH drivers going for educational course, if at least to have some basic understanding on road manners and behaviour. Some of these drivers have very little experience and the criteria to start driving PH is very lax.

this guy must have done something serious to have his account suspended and payment (daily intake) not made to him

bravo to him....sue GRAB for a mere S$800+ (enough to cover lawyer fee?)

===================================

Iko Pai Kia to

12 June at 19:54 · Singapore ·

Hi all, I have edited my post. Hope it shed some light on my issue and explains with clarity on some of the questions you all are asking. Do take some time to read through.

My acc was suspended on 19 Apr 2017. I called up Grab when I was unable to log into my acc and was told that my acc has been suspended. Ask for the reason why till now I still didn't get the answer. 5 emails 1 reply just to acknowledge receive my email. Calls were not answered and was told to go back and wait for SMS when I go down to IO office.

How can tahan? After 1 month I took the next step and sought help through proper channels. FYI, the channels I've gone through are as the followings in sequence. (1) CASE (2) Small Claim Tribunals (3)Community Justice Court...a 20 mins session with a lawyer (4) Minister For Law (5) Lawyer Demand Letter.

I asked the Law Minister for justification on Grab's act whether is there any such law that is protecting them on doing such thing and that I would rest my case should there be such a law. However, my question was not answered in the reply but rather I was given alternative means to get my answer. Now, with all these being said and done, I'm still left with 1 more lifeline. Whether to proceed further or not will depend on circumstances

I just can't take the way how Grab belittled me. Win or lose is secondary to me. What's important to me is that I stood up for my right and fight for it. If I were bow out at this stage and concede defeat, I'm satisfied for at least going to war, rather than sitting down quietly letting Grab having a free stampede on me.

Up to this point, all cost incurred and time consume are still within my limits. Only my temper getting out of limit. LOL!!! That's all guys thanks for your concerns and time to read. MERDEKA! MERDEKA! MERDEKA!

19029581_1520188341334748_44462673241301

Even than, grab should reveal the reason why he was suspended right? Why did not reveal the reason? Reveal the reason could let the driver know okay yes my fault or he could dispute that its not his fault and etc.

By not revealing anything means, grab could suspend anyone even with no reason as the one who receive the ban may not done anything wrong and yet get ban. Correct? So this one grab could improve. At least let the guy know why grab ban him la..

Last time only have taxis on the road which pose danger to other road users, but now plus PHV and the road even become more dangerous.

Generally taxi drivers although some drive quite dangerous but because they are usually frequent on road so some are quite skillful..

Now those phv driver, some drive dangerous and yet inexperience.. This is a recipe for disaster. This is even more dangerous then taxi driver that drive dangerously but at least have more experience.

Edited by Yewheng

Well....even before the tamper-proof label requirement, there are already lots of "bo liao" PHV drivers using markers, black tape and what nots on their LCR license plate holder.

So this is not beneath their style.... -_-

Bo liao. I don't get this.

First of all doesn't it make it more obvious?

Secondly isn't it illegal if the label is not clearly seen?

I took uber and grab yest when my car was serviced at mandai.

Surprisingly, the drivers are older and more experienced this time. Last time, all of them were newbies.

Haha almost feel like a cab experience. But Altis definitely more comfortable than other vehicles in terms of the NVH. Also go over bumps better.

i welcome the idea of tipping uber driver!!

i already have a habit of leaving the change with taxi driver, could round off up to $5 some time. I dun mind tipping uber driver if i have a positive experience in the ride and a friendly driver, and if the fare is reasonably lower than normal taxi and not too high due to the surge, i would gladly add the tip amount. Tipping will encourage good driving behavior, good and friendly driver and a well maintained car. Also you can tip after the ride without the driver in your face unlike waiter, not being forced to leave the money on the table.

Uber is implementing tipping, but how well it works will be critical
Posted 1 hour ago by Connie Loizos (@cookie)

On the heels of what must feel to employees like the longest six months in Uber‘s eight-year history, the company last week tried ending relentless news reports about its corporate misbehavior by encouraging its CEO, Travis Kalanick, to take a leave of absence. (He has obliged, for now.)

This morning, Uber took things a step further, introducing an initiative that it’s calling “180 Days of Change” and announcing, most notably, that it will start allowing riders to tip drivers in the app.

This is no small thing. Uber has long rejected the idea of tipping for numerous reasons. The company had suggested, for example, that tips could lead to unpleasant consequences, such as drivers who might forego pick-ups in poorer neighborhoods in favor of wealthier enclaves where they might generate heftier tips.

Tipping also threatened to make a very clean experience too messy for Uber’s liking. (In the company’s words, it said it would create a confusing measure of uncertainty for customers.)

While its change of heart has been welcome by most, others were quick to assign ulterior motives to the company, whose business has been impacted — at least in the U.S. — by its abundance of poor publicity in recent months.

Indeed, though its global revenue surged to $3.4 billion in the first quarter — triple what the company saw in the first quarter of 2016 — it is right now losing market share in its own backyard to smaller rival Lyft, according to a report in yesterday’s Financial Times. Specifically, it stated that Uber’s annual growth in the U.S. slowed to 40 percent at the end of May, down from 55 percent from the same period last year. Uber’s U.S. market share has also fallen, said the report, from 84 percent in early January to 77 percent by the end of May. (The FT cited data from Second Measure, a research firm that examines anonymized credit card data to draw its conclusions.)

Alas, it’s hard to turn around public perception. Slate wondered if we should “even be discussing this cosmetic change in the driver-customer-company relationship, when the business model is dependent on cheap labor made possible by treating the drivers as contractors?”

Numerous other outlets cited writer Michael Lewis’s 20-year-old tirade against tipping, which he equated in some cases to a “shakedown.” As Lewis wrote at the time, the “more discretion you have in the matter [of tipping] the more unpleasant it is.”

It remains relevant today because it’s true, as anyone who has ever tipped another individual can attest. That makes getting it right imperative for Uber. One wrong step, and the already beleaguered company is confronting both unhappy drivers and unhappy riders. Done well, it could prove a much-needed boon for the company.

Uber clearly recognizes the challenge. Luckily for the company, it also has a playbook thanks to how Lyft — which already offers the option to tip drivers through its app — has managed the process. It’s seemingly no coincidence that this latest Uber development comes just one day after Lyft announced that its drivers have collectively earned $250 million in tips across its four-year history.

Still, Uber is being cautious. For starters, the data-driven juggernaut is rolling out tipping slowly, first in Seattle, Minneapolis and Houston, to discern what is, and isn’t, working. Like Lyft, the company is also providing riders with pre-determined options to tip $1, $3 or $5, or to select a custom amount.

Uber also is copying a feature of Lyft that provides riders with up to 72 hours to tip a driver, though Uber is extending that period to a full 30 days. (Offering belated tipping is useful for forgetful types. It also creates distance between drivers and riders who may be fearful of retribution if they haven’t tipped or tipped generously.)

Whether the moves are enough to slow the momentum of Lyft — which has expanded into 150 new cities this year — won’t be clear straightaway. Implemented the right way, however, it does take another powerful tool out of the hands of Uber’s detractors — no matter how tempting it may remain to question the company at every turn.

The decal too small and for those cars that come with tinted glass, the decal at the rear is not visible at a far distance and need to be very near to the car rear to se the decal. How to identify them from behind? LTA should those weather proof decal for the rear to be stick outside the rear window or on the car boot door for easy identification.

I think the decal should be paste on the car body, to make it visible to people. Lol.