Grab/Ryde issues and charges

Yamapi

Can I get one of those stickers? :grin:

Yes..Yes...Me looking around how to get my hand on one of those sticker. , Edited by Kopites

thought you claim the xmm dun wanna sit your lao pok chia?

Hang Cheng Jin pai

Nowadays no choice behind also ferry workers

One person $1.50

:XD:

Yes..Yes...Me looking around how to get my hand on one of those sticker. ,ð

Anyway i have been mistaken as uber so often driving a vezel. Might well paste the ticket and hitchhike mei mei for free. ð

Mai Tu liao

Office got meeting can say use uber

Ownself uber ownself :XD:

Yes..Yes...Me looking around how to get my hand on one of those sticker. ,ð

Anyway i have been mistaken as uber so often driving a vezel. Might well paste the ticket and hitchhike mei mei for free. ð

Without the decal, xmm will sit beside you. With the decal, xmm will sit behind you. So you still want to paste or not?

Knowing how much Singaporeans like 'face', this will probably wipe out a big chunk of 'owner-drivers', people who use their cars for both personal and private hire use (whether rental or not). Especially those who only do part time a few hours a day, not many will want to be seen driving a 'taxi' for the rest of their own personal time use.

In the end the only ones left will be those full-timers, those who drive Uber/Grab the whole day for a living. Which means they become effectively like taxis. So we are back to square one.

Does this apply to UberPool / GrabHitch as well?

This Private Hire decal came about because of complaints. If complaints are received on GrabHitch, matter of time before this gets implemented for Hitch drivers.

You can expect more and more requirement on private hire cars.

LTA at the end of the day, wants them looking and working like taxis, except they can't do street pick ups.

That will make taxi drivers happy.

Without the decal, xmm will sit beside you. With the decal, xmm will sit behind you. So you still want to paste or not?

No..If i am doing the 4 circle yes maybe mei mei willing to sit beside me. Vezel ? I doubt so. Vezel do give me huge space at the boot. Flattened rear seat room for two.

Uber resumes ride-hailing service in Taiwan

TAIPEI • Uber Technologies said it will resume its ride-hailing service in Taiwan yesterday after "constructive talks" with the island's authorities, ending a two-month suspension that came after mounting fines from the government.

"After constructive talks with the transportation authorities, we are now partnering with licensed rental car companies to resume serving riders in Taipei," Uber said in a statement.

The resumption of service comes after the United States-based ride-hailing service halted operations on the island on Feb 10, after higher penalties of as much as NT$25 million (S$1.2 million) per infraction took effect from the island's Ministry of Transportation and Communications.

http://www.straitstimes.com/asia/east-asia/uber-resumes-ride-hailing-service-in-taiwan

This decal thing sibeh lame & unneeded. They think we China meh? Every private car on the road can be your taxi, just flag your arm, anyone can stop, even trucks lol.

the decal itself is tamper proof, doesn't affect the car in anyway. Easier for u to view the video to understand

What so difficult to taper with the decal?

In the first place, don't stick it direct to the screen. Get one of those decal holders or just tape it to the screen can already. Don't even need to remove.

By the way, what problem does this policy solve huh?

In the first place, don't stick it direct to the screen. Get one of those decal holders or just tape it to the screen can already. Don't even need to remove.

It's quite evident from the video that when the decal sticks, it's pretty obvious. Don't think the tape to screen idea will work.

Like all mods, do all that u think u can but once u get caught..

Not forgetting that usually our cars are outdoors and are checked for summons. They will also pay special attention to the decals the first few months after implementation..

The decal will be stick to your windscreen by the authorised installation centre. So unless the installation centre people want to risk getting their rice bowl broken, they'll stick the sticker to the windscreen and if you remove, the additional wording on the decal will be visible.

The only thing is that for new vehicle, the compulsory inspection is the 3rd year upon owning the vehicle and bi-yearly. LTA should make it a yearly inspection for the decal / label instead of inspecting it only when the vehicle is due for inspection. Better still make follow the road tax renewal so that those who want to tamper the label will seriously think twice or renew the road tax for one year instead of half year.

Seems like uber is so short of drivers that they sending recruiters going door to door at hdb, to promote their car rental. Encountered 2 last Sunday at Sengkang, the moment I step out of the lift, 1 asked me if I am staying at the unit beside the lift, whether I have driving licence. The other 1 was outside another unit telling the resident the benefits of driving Uber. They were both wearing lanyards with 'Uber' on them.

Seems like the only penalty is having to pay $20 for another set of stickers. I think many will just remove the decal then pay $20 everytime they get caught or have to go inspection.

Seems like uber is so short of drivers that they sending recruiters going door to door at hdb, to promote their car rental. Encountered 2 last Sunday at Sengkang, the moment I step out of the lift, 1 asked me if I am staying at the unit beside the lift, whether I have driving licence. The other 1 was outside another unit telling the resident the benefits of driving Uber. They were both wearing lanyards with 'Uber' on them.

Maybe uber bought too many cars and not many takers, so now they panic liao?! Lol.

Edited by 13177

As a uber driver, my incentives are getting impossible to get.

If they keep shrinking incentives, then they will keep losing drivers.

I'm not at all surprised.

They just want to keep bringing in more new drivers, but they don't pay attention to keeping existing ones happy.

Without the drivers and the riders, uber is NOTHING.

It can have the best app in the world, but it will have no business to it.

Edited by Kb27

As a uber driver, my incentives are getting impossible to get.

If they keep shrinking incentives, then they will keep losing drivers.

I'm not at all surprised.

They just want to keep bringing in more new drivers, but they don't pay attention to keeping existing ones happy.

Without the drivers and the riders, uber is NOTHING.

It can have the best app in the world, but it will have no business to it.

True. Now already harder and harder for the drivers, with the licence and the decal. They should do more to try and encourage and retain their existing drivers. If not I foresee a huge drop in the number of drivers over the coming months.