Grab/Ryde issues and charges

Yamapi

If you don't drop where the rider wants, you will get 1-star rating.

Yes, you get punished either by rider or LTA.

Print out a list of prohibited no-stop zones and stick it to the back of the front seat.

If they still want to stop there, pass them a form to sign that they will pay for the fine. (But will not work for dermit points.)

It's better to get 1 star rating and be able to continue driving than to end up with a suspended licence for collecting too many demerit points. Unreasonable pax is not as important as one's licence which is not easily acquired and which also provides a good option to earn an income (part time or otherwise) especially for the supposedly unemployable elderly.

For me, I rather sacrifice the good rating than my licence if I were the PHV driver.

If you don't drop where the rider wants, you will get 1-star rating.

Yes, you get punished either by rider or LTA.

Edited by Neutralsg

Riders, please do not make job difficult for drivers.

We drivers are not allowed to stop 9m within the bus stop. I know this rule, do it and don't get caught. But sometimes it really irritate me when rider insist want to drop at bus stop or just after bus stop due to their convenient sake (usually house is beside bus stop) .

Comeon, we can turn to carpark and drop them. It only make the most 1 minute difference.

Like today, met one not understanding lady when I told her actually not supposed to stop at bus stop, and propose to turn to carpark and drop them off instead. And she said nevermind drop after the bus stop. I told her also cannot. Then she told her husband what's wrong with me, every driver also do that. Nevermind I keep my cool, lucky the husband is understanding and said nevermind if it is difficult for me, drop them inside carpark.

So as a reminder for all rider, please try best not to make job difficult for driver. No stopping within 9m at the bus stop means a big No, this is even if the house is right beside bus stop. So don't tell drivers to do that. Thanks.

The other day I got one pickup at 802 woodlands.st 81

So I went into the car park.

Rider txt me, saying she's waiting seated at the bus stop on the main road.

I pressed "I've Arrived" hoping she would just take a few step to go behind the block where's I was waiting.

But she cancelled the ride instead. Fking waste my time.

Every job has its downside and such problems are not uncommon with cabbies and PHV drivers. Taking it in one's stride helps to lessen the stress of earning $$$ in such vocations.

I pressed "I've Arrived" hoping she would just take a few step to go behind the block where's I was waiting.

Bloody bitch..,

Usually if a rider is unreasonable, such nature may be the result of being able to get away all too often from drivers who submit to their whims and fancy.

The best way to reduce such riders is to refuse to unreasonable demands and feedback to the operations dept., who can then monitor and ban such riders who accumulate too many of such complaints / feedbacks for unreasonable demands.

BUT, how many drivers actually take the trouble to feedback to the company? Hence, the continued existence of such riders who tend to take advantage of submissive drivers.

Therefore, eventually, who may end up punished depends very much on how the problem is handled by the affected parties.

Of course the easiest route is not to be bothered by such so called 'punishment'.

Usually unreasonable rider will punish responsible driver.

Driver has no recourse.

Edited by Neutralsg

Some people walk 9 metres will die one issit.... :D

It’s always those self entitled ones lor!

Usually if a rider is unreasonable, such nature may be the result of being able to get away all too often from drivers who submit to their whims and fancy.

The best way to reduce such riders is to refuse to unreasonable demands and feedback to the operations dept., who can then monitor and ban such riders who accumulate too many of such complaints / feedbacks for unreasonable demands.

BUT, how many drivers actually take the trouble to feedback to the company? Hence, the continued existence of such riders who tend to take advantage of submissive drivers.

Therefore, eventually, who may end up punished depends very much on how the problem is handled by the affected parties.

Of course the easiest route is not to be bothered by such so called 'punishment'.

Are you sure operations dept wlll listen?

If Grab does not have a way to track complain, how does it knows too many complaints for unreasonable demands?

Grab does not have a system that allows driver to rate riders unlike Uber.

Now, Grab business is bad.  Are you sure that they will care what drivers deem to be unreasonable?

Mind you, taxi drivers always encounter this kind of behaviour.  Most of the time, taxi company sided with passengers.

Riders, please do not make job difficult for drivers.

We drivers are not allowed to stop 9m within the bus stop. I know this rule, do it and don't get caught. But sometimes it really irritate me when rider insist want to drop at bus stop or just after bus stop due to their convenient sake (usually house is beside bus stop) .

When I get these situations, I usually text the passenger to inform them I cannot stop at a bus stop. If the the passenger insist and in most cases, they will claim why other drivers can and I am so inflexible, I will just let known it is other drivers choice to take the risk. I will wait in the carpark until 5 mins is up.... click no-show.

When a passenger complained once to Grab and Grab contacted me for coffee to question why I am so inflexible, I told Grab it will be better for Grab to issue me an official memo signed off by Grab management that Grab authorized me to pick up at bus stop or taxi stand. If any TP or LTA intercept me, that is the Grab authorization letter I will show the officers.

Obviously, I get silence from the Grab team. Their balls just shrunk.

When I get these situations, I usually text the passenger to inform them I cannot stop at a bus stop. If the the passenger insist and in most cases, they will claim why other drivers can and I am so inflexible, I will just let known it is other drivers choice to take the risk. I will wait in the carpark until 5 mins is up.... click no-show.

When a passenger complained once to Grab and Grab contacted me for coffee to question why I am so inflexible, I told Grab it will be better for Grab to issue me an official memo signed off by Grab management that Grab authorized me to pick up at bus stop or taxi stand. If any TP or LTA intercept me, that is the Grab authorization letter I will show the officers.

Obviously, I get silence from the Grab team. Their balls just shrunk.

Cannot means cannot, dont know why some passenger and even Grab team insist Grab driver to pick up passenger at a bus stop?  <_<

Quite a few reasons actually...

1. First and foremost, drivers are to be blamed. There are some drivers out there who waived off waiting charge regardless how long, or pick up at illegal spots they're not supposed to. When riders are mentally conditioned to the point where laws are broken, they expect every driver to break the law all the time. Just imagine if each and every driver refused to pick up at illegal spots, passengers only have two choices. Pick up at correct location with a lower cost or pay more for a taxi street-side pickup.

The last time I got a booking at T3, the pax called me to tell me he is actually at T2. I told him he cannot make a booking like that since I have to make a big round to get from T3 to T2. He still wanted to be picked up so I slapped him with a $5 extra stop charge. Before I moved from T3, I click Pick Up so he cannot cancel the booking (and make another fresh booking when I am making my way). He LL also has to pay me the $5 extra stop.

I know some drivers will say nvm lah .... just drive over. By doing that, you are encouraging passengers to book with the wrong locations all the time. This is what I call - spoil market drivers.

2. Some riders are what I call in one word - cock-a-naden. They can't even drive, how would they know traffic rules?

3. Like in hotel bookings, many bookers do not read T&C. Your failure to read T&C when it is made available, is not driver's fault for refusing your demand.

Edited by Ravinged

honestly i dont know how grab driver make money...based on my calculations and what i hear its very very tough thats why many give up...this country very tough life is a struggle...ah gong makes it so tough...everything is about $$$$ [crazy]

you want hawker, foodcourt or restaurant ... my friend

spore is run like SGX

as long as we live better than HK means good already

mai hiam la ...

post-7984-0-34565200-1532845587_thumb.jpeg

you want hawker, foodcourt or restaurant ... my friend

spore is run like SGX

as long as we live better than HK means good already

mai hiam la ...

i am ok ....but worry about future generations as well as those who are struggling...HK is crap [crazy]

Always better to indicate so you can be advised whether you need to book a bigger ride. Everybody says two luggages, most cars can fit in but I throw back the question - 2 cabin luggages or 2 jumbo luggages? That makes a world of difference, depending on the car model. Another factor is how the passenger packed his luggage. I have seen at airport some soft jumbo baggage being packed like an exploding hippo.

Above all else, it should be a standard thing passengers should indicate in bookings just like indicating the exact number of staying guests when booking a hotel.

Just last week, I had such a booking for 1 pax (not from Grab though) and nothing was indicated. When I arrived at the pickup, they had 3 adults and 1 baby. Along with them was 1 jumbo luggage, 1 medium size luggage, 1 trekking backpack (about 12kg) and 2 strollers (1 of which was more bulky). There was just no way those are going to fit into a E-Class boot. Had to make the pax book an additional car for the maid to bring the additional stuff.

When the other driver arrived, he also went wahhhhhhh...

I can relate to your concerns and issues on such rider booking airport service, thy do not think like driver faces daily

Every rider who book to T1/2/3/4 including Cabin crew must do the mandatory note to driver- Eg: I have one medium luggage + one hand carry tote bag. the rides is confirmed. Thank you.

And not expecting driver to ask, Number of luggage/s ? etc

Driver do not expect to be tipped nor expect driver to help rider to load / unload luggages, this is not driver's responsibility. [drivingcar]