Hamburger Hypersonic September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 obviously if you booked under Uber, they use Uber's meter. Just put busy will do. guess its only matter of time as lta will not be amused. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 CONFESSIONS OF AN UBERX DRIVER: FED UP WITH 'GHOST' PASSENGERS Sep 27, 2015 The Newpaper BY NG JUN SEN He hates "ghost" passengers. Mr Yeo Beng Huat, a full-time UberX driver, is talking about passengers who make bookings but do not turn up at their pick-up locations. It is time wasted, he says, because he could have picked up other fares. Worse, the no-shows cannot be contacted. "They never turn up. When I try calling their phone, no one answers. It is as if they never existed," jokes the 56-year-old who drives a red Toyota Vios. This is a perennial problem faced by cabbies and drivers using private car hire services. But it is a particularly big issue for UberX and GrabCar drivers, who depend on call bookings exclusively and cannot pick up passengers who flag them down. UberX lets users book private cars such as a Toyota Corolla or a Nissan Sunny, and the minimum fare starts from $8. With seven taxi companies and several ride-matching app services available, passengers are tempted to use multiple options to book a ride quickly, say drivers. Sometimes, this could lead to a sticky situation when the driver decides to leave after waiting for a long time. http://www.tnp.sg/news/confessions/confessions-uberx-driver-fed-ghost-passengers?google_editors_picks=true Sunny and Corolla is under UberX?? then what is normal Uber cab? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 Uber taxi is taxi lor. UberX is private passenger cars such as Altis, Vios, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 (edited) guess its only matter of time as lta will not be amused. think reason y lta close 1 eye is coz uber n grabcar fills up the current complaints abt lack of cabs, but lta need to realize that uber or grabcar will also have the same issues if they become dominant. if u goto HK u almost never have cab issues, so they need to address structural issues, not cover a problem with short term fixes http://www.scmp.com/business/markets/article/1850856/uber-faces-losing-battle-against-key-hong-kong-transport HK prob knows this which is why theyre prob kicking uber out... i duno y dont garmen move to taxi medallion system like in HK... just like i dun understand why smrt dun copy HKMTR biz model... much more successful Edited September 28, 2015 by Duckduck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 think reason y lta close 1 eye is coz uber n grabcar fills up the current complaints abt lack of cabs, but lta need to realize that uber or grabcar will also have the same issues if they become dominant. if u goto HK u almost never have cab issues, so they need to address structural issues, not cover a problem with short term fixes In other words, no one group should be allowed to become too dominant in any one arena. Good to have plurality and diversity. Hmm, that sounds awfully familiar. What does it remind me of? Ah well, just can't put my finger on it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 In other words, no one group should be allowed to become too dominant in any one arena. Good to have plurality and diversity. Hmm, that sounds awfully familiar. What does it remind me of? Ah well, just can't put my finger on it! thats for another topic but specifically abt transport, there isnt enough critical thinking n pragmatism. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 Uber started out as an apps and expanded worldwide... how? they take 20% of the fares earning from drivers, so if the fare is $100, they get $20. And not every drivers will hit the incentives, the percentage of drivers hitting the top incentives may just be 1%. If you have 10,000 drivers uber already earn $200,000. And only 100 drivers will hit the top incentives which may only be $178,560. They still earn $21,440 per week, so the more drivers they recruit the more they earn because less drivers will hit the incentives... Of course the above is only assumption but nobody will be doing a biz that is losing money. And to top that up, they had "partners" in car rental specifically 'Lion City Rental'. Uber started the rental company to work hand in hand with their apps. The drivers will rent a car from Lion City Rental and drive uber... Win-Win for uber... Same with Grabcar, they had "partners" in rental company and they take 20% of the fares. To hit their incentives is even more difficult... for example 45 jobs will get extra $200... however the conditions: - 1. Multiple stops is still consider 1 job, though addition stops will incur $5 for customers 2. Cannot be the same customer, if happens to be the same customer then it would not be a job to be considered for the incentives so the driver can't 'cheat' the system by getting the same customer to do advance booking... I don't know may be some drivers are just luckier than others or they have trade secrets to achieve the incentives but to me, the winner is still the company as not every drivers will hit the incentives. My humble opinion... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 the above quote is untrue as Uber requires the car to be fully paid up before applying to be a Uber driver It is TRUE because instead of buying a car, people can rent a car to do uber part time: - First, it can cover the rental cost Second, use the rented car as personnel transport Rental car need not be fully paid up... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 IMO, using own vehicle as a taxi is not a good idea if you have a family since a taxi carries various type of passengers who are often strangers. It is difficult to tell if a passenger has an infectious disease which is one of the many occupational hazard taxi drivers are exposed to. If someone with an infectious disease sits in your car and if it is not well cleaned and fumigated, such health risk is inevitably exposed to your family unless their immunity level is high. Perhaps I'm just being paranoid? This will be the case if there is a outbreak like SARS... normal taxi are also used like family transport that's why during CNY and long public holidays, taxi are so hard to find... Your scenario will also happens with our own private car, how sure are we that the colleagues, the relatives, the friends we know are free of infectious disease? Will they tell everyone in the world that they had the disease? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 think reason y lta close 1 eye is coz uber n grabcar fills up the current complaints abt lack of cabs, but lta need to realize that uber or grabcar will also have the same issues if they become dominant. if u goto HK u almost never have cab issues, so they need to address structural issues, not cover a problem with short term fixes http://www.scmp.com/business/markets/article/1850856/uber-faces-losing-battle-against-key-hong-kong-transport HK prob knows this which is why theyre prob kicking uber out... i duno y dont garmen move to taxi medallion system like in HK... just like i dun understand why smrt dun copy HKMTR biz model... much more successful Nowadays, the medallion lays with the taxi rental company unlike good old days. The problem lays with lack of incentive or punishment to make taxi is always on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 obviously if you booked under Uber, they use Uber's meter. Just put busy will do. They run on the same meter... Its just another way to book a taxi and pay for the taxi ride. The fare follows the taxi's meter then when reach the destination the taxi driver keys in the fare plus all the other surcharges or ERP. Then it charges your credit card. The benefit for the taxi driver is that if the passenger doesn't show up, at least they still get a $2 no-show fee. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 you mean normal taxi (Comfort or SMRT) can also be used as Uber cab, mean the taxi driver has their own devices to get 'uber call'? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 It is TRUE because instead of buying a car, people can rent a car to do uber part time: - First, it can cover the rental cost Second, use the rented car as personnel transport Rental car need not be fully paid up... Isn't that what taxi drivers have been doing all along? But uber more attractive la, since there's no taxi sign on top. you mean normal taxi (Comfort or SMRT) can also be used as Uber cab, mean the taxi driver has their own devices to get 'uber call'? Yes. They just register as ubertaxi driver and provide their vocational license info and taxi info. Its another way to get booking. Works similar to grabtaxi and easytaxi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 Taxi drivers used to prefer cash. But anything that can help them earn more they will pick up sooner or later one la. My dad used to say he don't want to use uber because only CC. Now he use uber cuz he realise the incentives very good. As soon as he used uber, he boosted his income from 5-6k to about 7k a month driving the same hours. From 6am to 4pm. wah i seriously need to consider taxi driving soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 wah i seriously need to consider taxi driving soon Lol. 7k is not alot when you realise no medical benefits, annual leave, MC and all the other miscellaneous benefits you get from working elsewhere. Furthermore, CPF got to contribute yourself. Deduct all these and the pay is not so ideal already considering there is also no career advancement. Plus every other driver on the road will stereotype you as a reckless driver. Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 Lol. 7k is not alot when you realise no medical benefits, annual leave, MC and all the other miscellaneous benefits you get from working elsewhere. Furthermore, CPF got to contribute yourself. Deduct all these and the pay is not so ideal already considering there is also no career advancement. Plus every other driver on the road will stereotype you as a reckless driver. Lol. may not be enough for some here but definitely good enough for me in fact already higher than my peasant median income Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 They run on the same meter... Its just another way to book a taxi and pay for the taxi ride. The fare follows the taxi's meter then when reach the destination the taxi driver keys in the fare plus all the other surcharges or ERP. Then it charges your credit card. The benefit for the taxi driver is that if the passenger doesn't show up, at least they still get a $2 no-show fee. I thot paying thru the app is much cheaper than using meter? if im pax onboard, i will complain against this "wan en fu yi" driver for denying the commission due to Uber/Grab Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 (edited) I thot paying thru the app is much cheaper than using meter? if im pax onboard, i will complain against this "wan en fu yi" driver for denying the commission due to Uber/Grab Can't complain. That's how uber works. Don't want to pay the price LTA set then use uberx or uberexec lo. Ubertaxi they have to use the taxi meter cuz that is regulated by LTA. If the taxi use the uber meter then it will be illegal already. Edited September 28, 2015 by Nzy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...