inlinesix Hypersonic September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 They have lotsa advertising on their sites? What details must the passenger provide to book 1? Are they data mining?NamePhone no Cc no ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 Name Phone no Cc no Thats pretty good info for a start. If u input pick pt & destination, its good for consumer profiling. Old school taxi unker typically prefer cash terms. But of course too early to conclude anything for now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 Thats pretty good info for a start. If u input pick pt & destination, its good for consumer profiling. Old school taxi unker typically prefer cash terms. But of course too early to conclude anything for now. Taxi drivers used to prefer cash. But anything that can help them earn more they will pick up sooner or later one la. My dad used to say he don't want to use uber because only CC. Now he use uber cuz he realise the incentives very good. As soon as he used uber, he boosted his income from 5-6k to about 7k a month driving the same hours. From 6am to 4pm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 http://www.salary.sg Recruitment companies, HR, CEOs People which I have close connections with in iras/cpf. Thanks for sharing the link. 100k a year may be decent income for someone in his or her early 30s but as you punch in the same number year after year (as you age), 80th percentile becomes 75th, then 70th..... So this job is really for unskilled person or those looking into semi retirement. Just sharing my thoughts, no right or wrong, just trade offs, like in most things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 Thanks for sharing the link. 100k a year may be decent income for someone in his or her early 30s but as you punch in the same number year after year (as you age), 80th percentile becomes 75th, then 70th..... So this job is really for unskilled person or those looking into semi retirement. Just sharing my thoughts, no right or wrong, just trade offs, like in most things. I'm fully aware. The market is bad for me as oil prices fell and ship management not able to cope with over supply. Both are my line of expertises so I'm taking a break from my line of expertise. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 (edited) I don't need to question them regarding their operation profitability. Look at things this way, how do anyone valued Facebook at 200billion worth company? Once any company where to have their IPO, book value of their company is always future earnings. If that the company were to crash, how many uber drivers will lose their job. Being a us based company, they will likely to have a bail out if millions lose their jobs. Some company after Lerman Bros almost failed and US gov said they are too big to fail. If I'm a banker now, I will always tell investors uber is now worth us70b instead of the current us50b. So 1% changes in their book value per hour; it is more then enough to cover their operations loses?? http://investor.fb.com/releasedetail.cfm?ReleaseID=924562 FB 2Q15 net income of US$700M... now thats a GOOD coy... it actually makes more than it spends... IMO uber cannot even b compared anywhere close to FB in terms of financial stability n long term outlook. anyway coys like uber, redmart, grab etc all are likely at operating loss as they seek market share n hoping 1 day somehow profits will appear from thin air lol http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2015-06-30/uber-bonds-term-sheet-reveals-470-million-in-operating-losses Edited September 27, 2015 by Duckduck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 http://investor.fb.com/releasedetail.cfm?ReleaseID=924562 FB 2Q15 net income of US$700M... now thats a GOOD coy... it actually makes more than it spends... IMO uber cannot even b compared anywhere close to FB in terms of financial stability n long term outlook. anyway coys like uber, redmart, grab etc all are likely at operating loss as they seek market share n hoping 1 day somehow profits will appear from thin air lol http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2015-06-30/uber-bonds-term-sheet-reveals-470-million-in-operating-losses No market share, no sales. Where is profit gonna be from? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 No market share, no sales. Where is profit gonna be from? duno thats wat im asking. im saying that for coys ike uber n grab to make $, they have to either raise fares or cut costs... neither which is possible based on their biz model...? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 I'm fully aware. The market is bad for me as oil prices fell and ship management not able to cope with over supply. Both are my line of expertises so I'm taking a break from my line of expertise. Good luck bro, I am sure both sectors will recover eventually. Maybe you should hedge and go into air travel.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 duno thats wat im asking. im saying that for coys ike uber n grab to make $, they have to either raise fares or cut costs... neither which is possible based on their biz model...? I am sure SGCarMart was losing money initially but due its dominant market position now, it can get away with higher fees. It is the perfect example of the network effect. Another example is Jobstreet. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 You didn't say but it is implied in your statement Sibei hypocrite still say you despise people who look for foreign ladies 😂 @Jamesc would say that the foreign ladies provide an alternative source of food and that is a good thing for the men because no one wants to eat home cooked food everyday. I agree wholeheartedly and therefore I do not despise foreign ladies. You might have mistaken me for someone else 😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 (edited) I am sure SGCarMart was losing money initially but due its dominant market position now, it can get away with higher fees. It is the perfect example of the network effect. Another example is Jobstreet. problem is transport cost is a highly sensitive political topic which no garmen can avoid controlling. if uber dominates the cab mkt here in future n raises fares alot, garmen will for sure regulate fares just like current public transport. SGCM n jobstreet arent as politically sensitive when it comes to fees they charge.. but grab n uber charge? hell yeah garmen will surely clamp down if they end up being dominant players Edited September 27, 2015 by Duckduck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forrestcat 2nd Gear September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 problem is transport cost is a highly sensitive political topic which no garmen can avoid controlling. if uber dominates the cab mkt here in future n raises fares alot, garmen will for sure regulate fares just like current public transport. SGCM n jobstreet arent as politically sensitive when it comes to fees they charge.. but grab n uber charge? hell yeah garmen will surely clamp down if they end up being dominant players I don't know about "Uber" but go google which company holds a major stake in "Grab" =) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andyngps 5th Gear September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 Why is lancer and altis considered mid range? The sonatas are more comfy than them i feel. And though no need to waste petrol driving around plough for customers...but if using petrol variant a bit bohua leh. Furthermore taxi got hugher fuel subsidy...though rental wise really bohua.. I don't know about "Uber" but go google which company holds a major stake in "Grab" =) Lol. 700m investment raised for grabbbbb.... problem is transport cost is a highly sensitive political topic which no garmen can avoid controlling. if uber dominates the cab mkt here in future n raises fares alot, garmen will for sure regulate fares just like current public transport. SGCM n jobstreet arent as politically sensitive when it comes to fees they charge.. but grab n uber charge? hell yeah garmen will surely clamp down if they end up being dominant players I agreed. And quite a bit of the uber abd grab drivers were trying to get access to the use of cars hence some even sign up as part time drivers...in the end cabbies are the one suffering. To be honest i never see even cabbies as public transport. Public transport is supposed to be mass moving in my opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 so for those cab that uses uber or grab, does that mean they dont run on meters? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 I don't know about "Uber" but go google which company holds a major stake in "Grab" =) yea i know its gona b d same issue as smrt n garmen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 obviously if you booked under Uber, they use Uber's meter. Just put busy will do. so for those cab that uses uber or grab, does that mean they dont run on meters? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 so for those cab that uses uber or grab, does that mean they dont run on meters? Comfort/SMRT should STOP their drivers accepting any job from UBER n GRAB. Cos they will lose alot of the revenue from the cab Booking fee ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...