The_Bear Turbocharged August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Would you bite if there are shops that can handle import of any cars of your fancy with reasonable mark-up? Do you not worry about maintenance and warranty and spare parts issues after the car hit our shore? The after part is the more worrying part. You could save some penny but might end up losing a lot of sleep, haha. You seems to have a lot of faith in local dealers. My experience with a few of the 'popular' ADs resulted in wait time for common spare parts. And with the price they are charging, you are better off trusting your luck most of the time, if you stick to the more reliable makes. Warranty? It is a very slippery place to go. Anyway, the BS crop of 3rd party warranties not withstanding, warranties can be covered by a competent 3rd party at a price. And trust that this price has been included into your purchase, even marked-up. In this internet shopping age, if something is readily available, it can be sourced. Even if it is halfway around the world. Most of us don't drive a Bugatti. To answer your question, I have made a similar arrangement with a local PI and it has saved me over $40k so far. But it was not a Bugatti. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jayy25 6th Gear August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 My agenda today with car 1. Drop baby to childcare - about 7 km from our house, 10 minute walk from nearest bus stop 2. Drive to office - home to office...LRT, Two MRT tracks, feeder bus 3. Drive to client 1 to drop off brochures, chit chat 10 minutes, make sure all ok 4. Drive to client 2 to deliver 100 shirts, inside a controlled area, chit chat 10 minutes. To get out by cab, either have to call and hope or walk 10 minute to main gate. 5. Drive back to office Take taxi for the above? Dunno how much - guess? I'd say $20 for 1 and 2 $12 for 3 $12 for 4 $20 for 5 - inclusive of call fee. Already at $60 plus in cab fares, without even talking about the convenience of loading and unloading the shirts into the cab, waiting, etc etc... and haven't talked about going home yet. Then not to mention the days we go to Tuas South to see client (yes - we have clients in Tuas Avenue 9)...office to there is 40+ km....some meetings are 9 or 9:30 am...how much would that cost me? TRICK QUESTION.... Up or down, the number of cars sold is the same!! Frankly, i do concur with you that having a vehicle of your own (not only car, vans, lorry or pickups) really help most families to spend more time together, go places and for carrying out errands effectively....not mentioning when it rains, you will be hoping how nice if you have a car now to bring you home safe and dry. Those who always comment that not having a car is no big deal in SG since our public transport is claimed the best and extensive to almost any part of the island. Or take the taxis since taxis in singapore is plentiful and cheaper than countries like in Japan, Korea or ang mo countries..... Well it is easier than done because I drive too and there was once my car was in the workshop for a month. I took the public transport and this is what I realised Weekdays to work place in tanjong pagar via MRT 1) 10 mins walk to Potong Pasir MRT at 8am 2) managed to board the train towards outram at 8.20am (missed a train due to full capacity) 3) reached outram mrt at 840am then walk another 10mins to office if i do a brisk walk. 4) reached office at 9am and with a wet Shirt and messy looking face due to sweat Weekdays to work place in tanjong pagar via Car 1) 5mins walk to my car at 8am 2) 10 mins drive via CTE if i wish to pay more ERP $ otherwise 20mins drive via bong keng road towards orchard RD if i wish to pay less ERP $ 3) reached office at 830am - 840am looking fresh and ready to start the day 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Easy explaination Pri school kids - Parents send by car/school bus. Sec school - same JC - still same (for goodness sake) except not more school bus. Uni - Parents buy VW sirocco for them. My uncle 1 of them. Swee bo. Not really. The main issue is the un-coordinate dismissal time due to the myriad of 'extra' activities that school imposes for the same reason that all our government board suffers from. Kiasu and kiasi. School buses become uneconomical when only taking one way (Which does not work for the bus companies too). If the timing can be synchronized, that will resolve one part of the problem. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Ppl has been self-importing expensive car like Porsche. How can be parts be not available in Singapore unless Domestic Mkt model? For JDM, most parts are common parts. Workshop nowadays very uptodate lah. PI could provide this service at a price of about $5k. I think you are simplifying the issues. A few people can do does not mean the process is easy. Do not deceive yourself about the spare parts issue. Yes, any parts can be indented if you approach those stockists. But how about the lead-time? And do you think many workshops have the expertise to do proper diagnostic to isolate the fault and indent the correct parts and fix the problem? No offense, but if PIs are so competent there would be no business for ADs already since they already win the price front. Right? It is not so easy to maintain a proper workshop for any makes due to advancement in technology as this is not 1970s. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 ADs may pull the plug and walk out of SG since no impact on such small numbers of car population. Car owners sure suffer Pull the plug? Dont think they are so stupid to give up a cash cow. Many car dealers on sideline waiting. Peter kwee lost his VW distributorship to VW parent co. but secure Mazda dealership under his trans eurokars co. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ExigeTan 3rd Gear August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Not really. The main issue is the un-coordinate dismissal time due to the myriad of 'extra' activities that school imposes for the same reason that all our government board suffers from. Kiasu and kiasi. School buses become uneconomical when only taking one way (Which does not work for the bus companies too). If the timing can be synchronized, that will resolve one part of the problem. Or children can learn to be more independent. I remember at 8 and 9 years old cycling to school. Most of my school mates walk or cycle - very few were driven Also - get schools closer to home instead of driving half the island to get to school. Frankly speaking, if within 2km, it is a pretty easy walk - even for a 6 year old. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 You seems to have a lot of faith in local dealers. My experience with a few of the 'popular' ADs resulted in wait time for common spare parts. And with the price they are charging, you are better off trusting your luck most of the time, if you stick to the more reliable makes. Warranty? It is a very slippery place to go. Anyway, the BS crop of 3rd party warranties not withstanding, warranties can be covered by a competent 3rd party at a price. And trust that this price has been included into your purchase, even marked-up. In this internet shopping age, if something is readily available, it can be sourced. Even if it is halfway around the world. Most of us don't drive a Bugatti. To answer your question, I have made a similar arrangement with a local PI and it has saved me over $40k so far. But it was not a Bugatti. Imagine the ADs with proper training with car makers also facing unsolved problems, you expect the PIs to do better? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Frankly, i do concur with you that having a vehicle of your own (not only car, vans, lorry or pickups) really help most families to spend more time together, go places and for carrying out errands effectively....not mentioning when it rains, you will be hoping how nice if you have a car now to bring you home safe and dry. Those who always comment that not having a car is no big deal in SG since our public transport is claimed the best and extensive to almost any part of the island. Or take the taxis since taxis in singapore is plentiful and cheaper than countries like in Japan, Korea or ang mo countries..... Well it is easier than done because I drive too and there was once my car was in the workshop for a month. I took the public transport and this is what I realised Weekdays to work place in tanjong pagar via MRT 1) 10 mins walk to Potong Pasir MRT at 8am 2) managed to board the train towards outram at 8.20am (missed a train due to full capacity) 3) reached outram mrt at 840am then walk another 10mins to office if i do a brisk walk. 4) reached office at 9am and with a wet Shirt and messy looking face due to sweat Weekdays to work place in tanjong pagar via Car 1) 5mins walk to my car at 8am 2) 10 mins drive via CTE if i wish to pay more ERP $ otherwise 20mins drive via bong keng road towards orchard RD if i wish to pay less ERP $ 3) reached office at 830am - 840am looking fresh and ready to start the day hehehe.. not to mentioned, the train break down!! tiagong Circle line broke down this morning again! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waterh2o 4th Gear August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Pull the plug? Dont think they are so stupid to give up a cash cow. Many car dealers on sideline waiting. Peter kwee lost his VW distributorship to VW parent co. but secure Mazda dealership under his trans eurokars co. Yup How much does a new Merc C class selling in UK compared to Spore? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Imagine the ADs with proper training with car makers also facing unsolved problems, you expect the PIs to do better? No. I expect those who can to leave the ADs eventually and set up their more competent services elsewhere. I only expect the PI to bring in the car for me. And most diagnosis and repair is not that complicated as the dealers want us to believe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 For low tech / mass market cars - no argument. For the more advanced, more exclusive cars, the mechanics do have to have a lot of additional training, and there is a lot more that goes into it than you might think. Just as one example - Did you know that for BMW M, the cars are governed to 250km/h right? Did you know that if you do a M Cars performance driving course can have the limiter removed at the BMW workshop? Do you think an outside workshop can do things like this? How come i have not heard anyone self-import low tech/mass market car? I only hear about ppl import porky. I know ppl who has the same software as BMW AD workshop. This person is not even operating a workshop. Rob from DMS Automotive can remove speed limiter. He is in town every few mths. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 No. I expect those who can to leave the ADs eventually and set up their more competent services elsewhere. I only expect the PI to bring in the car for me. And most diagnosis and repair is not that complicated as the dealers want us to believe. I like the entrepreneur spirit in you. And really hope the industry will pan out like you expected. For now I very kiasi, prefer to have peace of mind knowing where to approach on maintenance and spare parts and warranty issues. I need to spend more time and energy on my day job in order to earn enough to afford my car and house and bring bacon home. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Frankly, i do concur with you that having a vehicle of your own (not only car, vans, lorry or pickups) really help most families to spend more time together, go places and for carrying out errands effectively....not mentioning when it rains, you will be hoping how nice if you have a car now to bring you home safe and dry. Those who always comment that not having a car is no big deal in SG since our public transport is claimed the best and extensive to almost any part of the island. Or take the taxis since taxis in singapore is plentiful and cheaper than countries like in Japan, Korea or ang mo countries..... Well it is easier than done because I drive too and there was once my car was in the workshop for a month. I took the public transport and this is what I realised Weekdays to work place in tanjong pagar via MRT 1) 10 mins walk to Potong Pasir MRT at 8am 2) managed to board the train towards outram at 8.20am (missed a train due to full capacity) 3) reached outram mrt at 840am then walk another 10mins to office if i do a brisk walk. 4) reached office at 9am and with a wet Shirt and messy looking face due to sweat Weekdays to work place in tanjong pagar via Car 1) 5mins walk to my car at 8am 2) 10 mins drive via CTE if i wish to pay more ERP $ otherwise 20mins drive via bong keng road towards orchard RD if i wish to pay less ERP $ 3) reached office at 830am - 840am looking fresh and ready to start the day This is very common for ppl who drives to work. I ride bicycle to work daily. 7km a day from Kallang MRT to Asia Sq. I am not as mess up as u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ExigeTan 3rd Gear August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 How come i have not heard anyone self-import low tech/mass market car? I only hear about ppl import porky. I know ppl who has the same software as BMW AD workshop. This person is not even operating a workshop. Rob from DMS Automotive can remove speed limiter. He is in town every few mths. Very honestly - I am all into saving money, my car come from PI. But for that sort of car, and that sort of service I wouldn't use until, at the very least, car is out of warranty - the cost benefit is simply not there. Not to mention - you can afford such a car in the first place, then the servicing costs are not supposed to be such a worry to you (kinda like buying a Lamborghini then complaining about the fuel efficiency) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 I like the entrepreneur spirit in you. And really hope the industry will pan out like you expected. For now I very kiasi, prefer to have peace of mind knowing where to approach on maintenance and spare parts and warranty issues. I need to spend more time and energy on my day job in order to earn enough to afford my car and house and bring bacon home. That's why we have this wonderful forum to share and we should thank all the good people who made this work. Note: Ultra brown-nosed PLP post. 1 million points. Danke. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waterh2o 4th Gear August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Very honestly - I am all into saving money, my car come from PI. But for that sort of car, and that sort of service I wouldn't use until, at the very least, car is out of warranty - the cost benefit is simply not there. Not to mention - you can afford such a car in the first place, then the servicing costs are not supposed to be such a worry to you (kinda like buying a Lamborghini then complaining about the fuel efficiency) Or buy condo but complain maintenance fees high. Gosh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 I think you are simplifying the issues. A few people can do does not mean the process is easy. Do not deceive yourself about the spare parts issue. Yes, any parts can be indented if you approach those stockists. But how about the lead-time? And do you think many workshops have the expertise to do proper diagnostic to isolate the fault and indent the correct parts and fix the problem? No offense, but if PIs are so competent there would be no business for ADs already since they already win the price front. Right? It is not so easy to maintain a proper workshop for any makes due to advancement in technology as this is not 1970s. The only reason a few ppl can do it because of $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$. Everything has to be paid in cash upfront. Spare parts got issue meh?? I used to drive E39 520 when it has EOL. No issue getting parts. They are workshop specialise in Merc, BMW & Porky. Maybe i will be difficult for horse or bull. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ExigeTan 3rd Gear August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 The only reason a few ppl can do it because of $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$. Everything has to be paid in cash upfront. Spare parts got issue meh?? I used to drive E39 520 when it has EOL. No issue getting parts. They are workshop specialise in Merc, BMW & Porky. Maybe i will be difficult for horse or bull. I know for Bull - you PI the car the dealer will shun you, won't invite you to drives or other things he organise. He ever say before. I know for the Bavarian, you can pay to have the car adopted by the dealer ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...