The_Bear Turbocharged August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Due to the unique geographical situation of Singapore, most manufacturer's are forced to select a single AD resulting the sad situation we have. Countries like UK have multiple distributors nation wide, even within the same city. Competition drives up the service level. And they have the benefit of importing their cars themselves by driving it over from Europe (how it actually works I dunno). Another frame work that we can consider is to make it easier and more transparent for individuals to import our own vehicles. Of course there are compliance issues to take care of but if LTA is not so anal, there are ways to get it down. Consumers just need a company to help handle the paper work while they make their purchases. Main downside it the wait time but that is very long now with PIs and ADs (unless you pay more). ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 The problem is the population of cars was just manageable whe nour population was targeted at just slightly around 3 million plus to maybe 4. Then the FT flood gate open and now targeting at 6.9 mil, so naturally more ppl, more families more demand for cars. No need rocket scientist to understand this. I would rather not drive if I don't need to send my young children all around the place and if my older kid can take public bus to school might even forgo driving not a problem. My next car maybe my final car by then children are old enough to take public transport. Take public transport got "views" to see why not. come to think of it, nowadays like no more student uses school buses.. last time very popular one leh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 If ADs closed shops, then maybe NTUC will come into picture. NTUC can also sell cars. Everything also see.....become Bao ka liao Pte ltd..... got money they sure comes into picture.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ExigeTan 3rd Gear August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 For the same trip, how much would it cost u now? Don't forget about insurance, maintenance & any fixed cost for car ownership. Car purchase $70k.... So lets say $6k depreciation per year In round figures $16 per day depreciation $6 Road tax + Insurance $3 season parking $7 Say 6 litres of fuel (60 km or so) at $1.14 per lire (boleh!!) $10 per day for maintenance Grand Total $42 And that's before you start talking about convenience, time, and the fact that the bag of shirts was bigger than a large suitcase - so not exactly the sort of thing I can take along as I make multiple stops. How is a car not better? Not to mention - drive home takes me 20 minutes, by bus and train would be closer to 1 hour - that is 40 minutes I get to spend with my kids in the evening - remembering that time between reaching home and getting them to bed is already short, so 40 minutes is a pretty significant portion of the total time we get to spend together. Due to the unique geographical situation of Singapore, most manufacturer's are forced to select a single AD resulting the sad situation we have. Countries like UK have multiple distributors nation wide, even within the same city. Competition drives up the service level. And they have the benefit of importing their cars themselves by driving it over from Europe (how it actually works I dunno). Another frame work that we can consider is to make it easier and more transparent for individuals to import our own vehicles. Of course there are compliance issues to take care of but if LTA is not so anal, there are ways to get it down. Consumers just need a company to help handle the paper work while they make their purchases. Main downside it the wait time but that is very long now with PIs and ADs (unless you pay more). May as well ask a cat not to eat fish or a tadpole not to swim... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 people are still selfish, u can agree to do something together but when it comes to action, all act for their own benefit when they about cannot get their car, or rather, when given the impression they cannot get their car, they LL top up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 so you saying they have us as the common enemy? tot we are the carrots, not the enemy? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 If ADs closed shops, then maybe NTUC will come into picture. NTUC can also sell cars. Tiagong Singapore Casket ws not allowed to expand along this vein... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 These greedy AD wants to crowd cat A with their higher profit margin lower CC continental cars. They just want more share of the CAT A, which normally dominate by BnB cars. Good that Nissan and Honda absent themselves from the meeting. Nissan and Honda absent themselves from the meeting probably because the models they selling are not much impacted from the new LTA rulings or policies. There is a reason for it, not because they are acting out of principles or what. Like most ADs and businesses, people act or take action or lobby for changes when their interests are affected. Nissan and Honda not doing anything is because they are probably not much affected by the testing LTA intend to roll out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Another frame work that we can consider is to make it easier and more transparent for individuals to import our own vehicles. Of course there are compliance issues to take care of but if LTA is not so anal, there are ways to get it down. Consumers just need a company to help handle the paper work while they make their purchases. Main downside it the wait time but that is very long now with PIs and ADs (unless you pay more). Would you bite if there are shops that can handle import of any cars of your fancy with reasonable mark-up? Do you not worry about maintenance and warranty and spare parts issues after the car hit our shore? The after part is the more worrying part. You could save some penny but might end up losing a lot of sleep, haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Due to the unique geographical situation of Singapore, most manufacturer's are forced to select a single AD resulting the sad situation we have. Countries like UK have multiple distributors nation wide, even within the same city. Competition drives up the service level. And they have the benefit of importing their cars themselves by driving it over from Europe (how it actually works I dunno). Another frame work that we can consider is to make it easier and more transparent for individuals to import our own vehicles. Of course there are compliance issues to take care of but if LTA is not so anal, there are ways to get it down. Consumers just need a company to help handle the paper work while they make their purchases. Main downside it the wait time but that is very long now with PIs and ADs (unless you pay more). For self import, the biggest problem has always been LTA. If import existing model, homo should not be a problem. Certain car maker has stopped selling cars to Sg buyer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andylkkg 4th Gear August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Still wondering why LTA or Lui do not want to stand out to clarify why they allow ADs to package COE together with the car prize and also pay as per bid. It is a long overdue and this policy of pay as per bid cannot be implement purely due to huge total loss of revenue for them? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Car purchase $70k.... So lets say $6k depreciation per year In round figures $16 per day depreciation $6 Road tax + Insurance $3 season parking $7 Say 6 litres of fuel (60 km or so) at $1.14 per lire (boleh!!) $10 per day for maintenance Grand Total $42 And that's before you start talking about convenience, time, and the fact that the bag of shirts was bigger than a large suitcase - so not exactly the sort of thing I can take along as I make multiple stops. How is a car not better? Not to mention - drive home takes me 20 minutes, by bus and train would be closer to 1 hour - that is 40 minutes I get to spend with my kids in the evening - remembering that time between reaching home and getting them to bed is already short, so 40 minutes is a pretty significant portion of the total time we get to spend together. May as well ask a cat not to eat fish or a tadpole not to swim... What gonna do when your future car is no longer 70k?? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 ADs may pull the plug and walk out of SG since no impact on such small numbers of car population. Car owners sure suffer what is the worse case? MIC or MIM cars loh. got 4 wheels can go. 10 years that car is just a huge chunk of metal, plastic and rubber. so, dun really matter what brand the cars that come in. most of us use the car for errands anyways. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waterh2o 4th Gear August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Car purchase $70k.... So lets say $6k depreciation per year In round figures $16 per day depreciation $6 Road tax + Insurance $3 season parking $7 Say 6 litres of fuel (60 km or so) at $1.14 per lire (boleh!!) $10 per day for maintenance Grand Total $42 And that's before you start talking about convenience, time, and the fact that the bag of shirts was bigger than a large suitcase - so not exactly the sort of thing I can take along as I make multiple stops. How is a car not better? Not to mention - drive home takes me 20 minutes, by bus and train would be closer to 1 hour - that is 40 minutes I get to spend with my kids in the evening - remembering that time between reaching home and getting them to bed is already short, so 40 minutes is a pretty significant portion of the total time we get to spend together. May as well ask a cat not to eat fish or a tadpole not to swim... Some things in life you can't just slap a price tag on. e,g family time, chit chatting while in the car with your kids, ....etc 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Would you bite if there are shops that can handle import of any cars of your fancy with reasonable mark-up? Do you not worry about maintenance and warranty and spare parts issues after the car hit our shore? The after part is the more worrying part. You could save some penny but might end up losing a lot of sleep, haha. Ppl has been self-importing expensive car like Porsche. How can be parts be not available in Singapore unless Domestic Mkt model? For JDM, most parts are common parts. Workshop nowadays very uptodate lah. PI could provide this service at a price of about $5k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ExigeTan 3rd Gear August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Ppl has been self-importing expensive car like Porsche. How can be parts be not available in Singapore unless Domestic Mkt model? For JDM, most parts are common parts. Workshop nowadays very uptodate lah. PI could provide this service at a price of about $5k. For low tech / mass market cars - no argument. For the more advanced, more exclusive cars, the mechanics do have to have a lot of additional training, and there is a lot more that goes into it than you might think. Just as one example - Did you know that for BMW M, the cars are governed to 250km/h right? Did you know that if you do a M Cars performance driving course can have the limiter removed at the BMW workshop? Do you think an outside workshop can do things like this? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waterh2o 4th Gear August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 come to think of it, nowadays like no more student uses school buses.. last time very popular one leh.. Easy explaination Pri school kids - Parents send by car/school bus. Sec school - same JC - still same (for goodness sake) except not more school bus. Uni - Parents buy VW sirocco for them. My uncle 1 of them. Swee bo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waterh2o 4th Gear August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 Some things in life you can't just slap a price tag on. e,g family time, chit chatting while in the car with your kids, ....etc On public bus, your conversation with you kid probably like this "Boy Boy hurry come, here got seat. Faster" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...