ADs angry liao......

Soya

PI is not charity la ... PI also want to make money and who don't want to make more?

PI will always checking on AD pricing and give tiny bit discount

if the discount is not more than $30k for conti car ... no point to buy from PI ... high risk for small PI ... big PI price is also high

korean/japanese BnB car profit margin is thin and there is not much difference between PI vs AD pricing

That why PIs came into the picture?

as long as you can afford it, it is a need

otherwise, it is a want

In that case, your Need will turn into a WANT some of these days as COE continues to head north.

then I think we hope all the ADs pull out of Singapore ...dun supply any cars to Singapore

see if the Govt scared or not...... [:p]

No lah where got scared. Good opportunity for it to take over all the dealerships and exercise full control over the transport domain - build the roads, sell the cars, collect the related taxes. [thumbsup]

such aspiritions should be tempered with reality. Singapore is so small, and how to have so many cars? With more and more MRT stations built, all we need are more reliable, trains, buses and taxis.

The problem is the population of cars was just manageable whe nour population was targeted at just slightly around 3 million plus to maybe 4. Then the FT flood gate open and now targeting at 6.9 mil, so naturally more ppl, more families more demand for cars. No need rocket scientist to understand this.

I would rather not drive if I don't need to send my young children all around the place and if my older kid can take public bus to school might even forgo driving not a problem. My next car maybe my final car by then children are old enough to take public transport. Take public transport got "views" to see why not.

then I think we hope all the ADs pull out of Singapore ...dun supply any cars to Singapore

i bet my last dollar if they dare to do that <_<

wait............. i am in negative equity [laugh][laugh]

That why PIs came into the picture?

errrmmm......I tink swimming wif sharks less worrysome than buying from PI.

hahahaha.......that's why unity is the power....

if all agrees there will be strength, but if everyone try to wait for personal gains the pie becomes smaller and smaller until

there is not enough to feed all...

They won't care. Public transport infrastructure to them is in place. Existing cars still can slowly milk them dry with ERP. Not scared lah. Lost revenue in import tax and COE just up the ERP rates can liao. :ph34r:

lol......even cow also got limit to how much they can milk..........later my blood also milked out how... [:p]

errrmmm......I tink swimming wif sharks less worrysome than buying from PI.

Not really. Both are equally bad options. The main problem is the lack of transparency in LTA's policy (Import and sales of vehicles) and the weakness of our consumer protection laws. Either you get screwed by some muscular AD or fly-by-night PIs. But to a certain extend, the traders are also hindered by the overly elaborate tax system.

Eg. If a car is so lemon that a full exchange makes more sense than trying to repair, how would the taxes be rebated and the COE transferred? Given that the dealer is totally willing to absorb the cost of change for the vehicle?

Not really. Both are equally bad options. The main problem is the lack of transparency in LTA's policy (Import and sales of vehicles) and the weakness of our consumer protection laws. Either you get screwed by some muscular AD or fly-by-night PIs. But to a certain extend, the traders are also hindered by the overly elaborate tax system.

Eg. If a car is so lemon that a full exchange makes more sense than trying to repair, how would the taxes be rebated and the COE transferred? Given that the dealer is totally willing to absorb the cost of change for the vehicle?

The same applies for accident repairs - and the tax structure also encourages export instead of scrap, so parts are invariably "brand new" - there is no used parts to speak of.

But it is certainly a cash cow for the govt

remembering the case where some 2nd hand dealers kup together........they were later charged for price fixing leading to the vehicles sold at a price not reflective of market sentiments.

mo? this only applies 1 way...

Totally agree. Hope LTA wack them with anti-trust. Why are the competitors working together? Is this the only thing they are colluding ?

And after you whack them, they bid COE all at $1k :D

If ADs closed shops, then maybe NTUC will come into picture. NTUC can also sell cars.

My agenda today with car

1. Drop baby to childcare - about 7 km from our house, 10 minute walk from nearest bus stop

2. Drive to office - home to office...LRT, Two MRT tracks, feeder bus

3. Drive to client 1 to drop off brochures, chit chat 10 minutes, make sure all ok

4. Drive to client 2 to deliver 100 shirts, inside a controlled area, chit chat 10 minutes. To get out by cab, either have to call and hope or walk 10 minute to main gate.

5. Drive back to office

Take taxi for the above? Dunno how much - guess?

I'd say $20 for 1 and 2

$12 for 3

$12 for 4

$20 for 5 - inclusive of call fee.

Already at $60 plus in cab fares, without even talking about the convenience of loading and unloading the shirts into the cab, waiting, etc etc...

and haven't talked about going home yet.

Then not to mention the days we go to Tuas South to see client (yes - we have clients in Tuas Avenue 9)...office to there is 40+ km....some meetings are 9 or 9:30 am...how much would that cost me?

TRICK QUESTION....

Up or down, the number of cars sold is the same!!

For the same trip, how much would it cost u now?

Don't forget about insurance, maintenance & any fixed cost for car ownership.

What if all this ADs combine together and bid on $10/- in next round COE bidding for Cat A,B & E.

Will LTA have to follow even if let say only 1000 COE and 2500 bids of all $10/- ... :o

ADs don't have to agree on one price together..

just inform all their kakis "steady.. we don't bid so hiong liao ok.."

COE sure drop.. LTA sure sweat big time.. fat cow tio slaughter..

Like that also anti-trust, how about that Singapore Business Federation or Singapore Vehicle Trader Association?

Wouldn't it be a bigger collusion?

Hahah if every single AD pull out, I expect the Singapore Inc/Temasek GLC will swoop in and grab the opportunity. When that day comes, ho say liao everything will be under "control". [laugh]