2BDriver Hypersonic August 7, 2014 Share August 7, 2014 remembering the case where some 2nd hand dealers kup together........they were later charged for price fixing leading to the vehicles sold at a price not reflective of market sentiments. mo? this only applies 1 way... Brand New Car AD's are all white horse owner with high jumping skill like our elites, they'll be safe and sound, at worst.... MIW stab on their shoulders and say.........you all don't like that leh, ching chai lah.................. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear August 7, 2014 Share August 7, 2014 Are you aware that they...the AD's are the culprits in speculating the COE pricing in price package ? I went for booking and were told not to dream of COE dropping to the mark that I wish to purchase thier new car I challenge the ADs to have 1 extra field for customers to put in the amount they are willing to bid for the COE instead of a package price. Ultimately, why should we allow the ADs to tell us how much we want to bid? Then there goes the rational of supply and demand when the COE price is already "fixed". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 7, 2014 Author Share August 7, 2014 I challenge the ADs to have 1 extra field for customers to put in the amount they are willing to bid for the COE instead of a package price. Ultimately, why should we allow the ADs to tell us how much we want to bid? Then there goes the rational of supply and demand when the COE price is already "fixed". Technically, u can oredi do that. They package the car price at $150k incl COE or $140k w/o COE. Would u pick the latter? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear August 7, 2014 Share August 7, 2014 Technically, u can oredi do that. They package the car price at $150k incl COE or $140k w/o COE. Would u pick the latter? The price of the car only should be displayed openly and not the type of rubbish with and without COE price. If it's $140k w/o COE, then can complain to case that AD is overcharing? Why is price so high when I am not utilising their services to bid for a COE? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear August 7, 2014 Share August 7, 2014 U left out the part whereby they can still claim that the 130hp rule helps to lower COE prices in march and say the policy is very good cos it works. Now August le, the CAT A and B price not much difference. http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/coe-category-tweak-achieved-its-goal-lta It'll make a big difference if there's pressure to make LTY feel he'll be the next to be kicked out of his million dollar job. The seat of the transport ministar is jinxed anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic August 7, 2014 Share August 7, 2014 Technically, u can oredi do that. They package the car price at $150k incl COE or $140k w/o COE. Would u pick the latter? I requested to bid by my own for COE and paying any difference for the new car price, but AD wouldn't allow me to purchase under the reason of Market Practice COE Package Only. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darky8888 4th Gear August 7, 2014 Share August 7, 2014 I cannot speak for others but for myself it is good to have a car, sending 1st kid to school, drops off 2nd kids at mum place and travelling half an island to work. then at night have dinner with my parents, chit chat with them and fetch all my kids back back without having to leave my parents place too early so schooling kid can sleep early. repaat this for 5 days a week. Weekend travel another half an island to in law place for them to see my kids. Full untilised. I would say difficult without a car and i say difficult never say impossible/ you are right.. same situation as u as i stay in the East and work in the West with my kid child care near my work place... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic August 7, 2014 Share August 7, 2014 stop suggesting self bid coe, you decide coe or AD price car without coe if that happen pig not just climb tree ... can fly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 7, 2014 Share August 7, 2014 These greedy AD wants to crowd cat A with their higher profit margin lower CC continental cars. They just want more share of the CAT A, which normally dominate by BnB cars. Good that Nissan and Honda absent themselves from the meeting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cruise 1st Gear August 7, 2014 Share August 7, 2014 What's there to talk? You talk some more govt ask you to close shop. You want to be rebellious? You can be charged for disrupting social order. People from Internal Security will lock you up until you comply. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 7, 2014 Share August 7, 2014 The price of the car only should be displayed openly and not the type of rubbish with and without COE price. If it's $140k w/o COE, then can complain to case that AD is overcharing? Why is price so high when I am not utilising their services to bid for a COE? Complaint to case got use meh? Free mkt. LL suck thumb. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged August 7, 2014 Share August 7, 2014 ADs may pull the plug and walk out of SG since no impact on such small numbers of car population. Car owners sure suffer Nearly all the ADs are local companies if you noticed. Think you got confused between AD (Authorized Dealers) and brand names. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged August 7, 2014 Share August 7, 2014 I cannot speak for others but for myself it is good to have a car, sending 1st kid to school, drops off 2nd kids at mum place and travelling half an island to work. then at night have dinner with my parents, chit chat with them and fetch all my kids back back without having to leave my parents place too early so schooling kid can sleep early. repaat this for 5 days a week. Weekend travel another half an island to in law place for them to see my kids. Full untilised. I would say difficult without a car and i say difficult never say impossible/ If the car become unaffordable, I believe we would be forced to make changes to our schedules and lifestyle. People are ''insisting' on their current arrangement because it justifies the reason to purchase a car. But for others who simply do not have the financial means, they either have to change their schedules and give up on something. Sadly, such mindset is difficult to change because it is difficult to sacrifice your family's quality of life. The main reason people would change is when a car becomes increasing expensive, thus as long as Singapore is doing well, cars will always be expensive. you are right.. same situation as u as i stay in the East and work in the West with my kid child care near my work place... Look at it this way, for someone who does not command the kind of renumeration like you to afford a car will not be making such arrangement. If the same job pays $300 less but is just 5 minutes walk from your place, would you have taken it and give up the car? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyklon 5th Gear August 7, 2014 Share August 7, 2014 ADs may pull the plug and walk out of SG since no impact on such small numbers of car population. Car owners sure suffer Don't be naive. The price premium (aka their profit margin) we pay for our car, can be even more than what the car will cost in the open market. Meaning, you sell one car here, you get more profilt than some ang moh in europe sell 10 cars. A camry or accord is easily 20-30k profit. A 5 series or e class is easily 40-50k profit. A 7 series or S class is easily 70-80k profit. Where in the world can find such a good profit? No AD will be dumb enough to close shop, unless their car don't sell in the first place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 (edited) Don't be naive. The price premium (aka their profit margin) we pay for our car, can be even more than what the car will cost in the open market. Meaning, you sell one car here, you get more profilt than some ang moh in europe sell 10 cars. A camry or accord is easily 20-30k profit. A 5 series or e class is easily 40-50k profit. A 7 series or S class is easily 70-80k profit. Where in the world can find such a good profit? No AD will be dumb enough to close shop, unless their car don't sell in the first place. I think it's not a fair comparison. What you mentioned are popular and luxury makes. And what I heard ppl working inside the company of 5 & 7 series, the local distributor is making losses for this make. You only look at profit but not the daily operation expenses. Not everything comes free. So far I only know air, rain and sunlight are free. Some smaller players in the market had already pulled out quite a while ago. Advance auto who used to distribute Citroen cars, gave up , now taken over by a bigger player. Mazda motors used to be ran by a family business, pulled out and taken over by another bigger player. Skoda, call Harvest huh? Also in trouble. China cars like Geely needless to say exited a while ago. No doubt for popular & luxury make the premiums will be higher as there's demand for these cars. But what about others? Edited August 8, 2014 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 I think it's not a fair comparison. What you mentioned are popular and luxury makes. And what I heard ppl working inside the company of 5 & 7 series, the local distributor is making losses for this make. You only look at profit but not the daily operation expenses. Not everything comes free. So far I only know air, rain and sunlight are free. Some smaller players in the market had already pulled out quite a while ago. Advance auto who used to distribute Citroen cars, gave up , now taken over by a bigger player. Mazda motors used to be ran by a family business, pulled out and taken over by another bigger player. Skoda, call Harvest huh? Also in trouble. China cars like Geely needless to say exited a while ago. No doubt for popular & luxury make the premiums will be higher as there's demand for these cars. But what about others? then I think we hope all the ADs pull out of Singapore ...dun supply any cars to Singapore see if the Govt scared or not...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 then I think we hope all the ADs pull out of Singapore ...dun supply any cars to Singapore see if the Govt scared or not...... They won't care. Public transport infrastructure to them is in place. Existing cars still can slowly milk them dry with ERP. Not scared lah. Lost revenue in import tax and COE just up the ERP rates can liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waterh2o 4th Gear August 8, 2014 Share August 8, 2014 sell more or less is not important ... bottomline is AD has target to achieve ... year-vs-year profit ... if sell less car means increase profit margin if sell more car means more profit in this case, i have no complain on AD ... AD is to make money they are not charity organisation the only directive from the TOP is profit profit profit the question is to have policy to control AD from exploiting the system to their advantage and put buyer at disadvantage no competition ... no control ... AD is KING That why PIs came into the picture? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...