Kusje Supersonic November 3, 2014 Share November 3, 2014 If market movement worries you, then you shouldn't even apply for EC in the first place. And my "you" means anyone. Precisely my point. A typical person with a salary low enough to satisfy the cap for an EC will definitely be worried if they are subject to market movement for 2 houses. Imagine a couple with 11k combined income holding 2 properties worth a combined 1.5 mil or more (900k for the EC and 600k for the resale). Shouldn't they be worried? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger1 6th Gear November 3, 2014 Share November 3, 2014 Precisely my point. A typical person with a salary low enough to satisfy the cap for an EC will definitely be worried if they are subject to market movement for 2 houses. Imagine a couple with 11k combined income holding 2 properties worth a combined 1.5 mil or more (900k for the EC and 600k for the resale). Shouldn't they be worried? Most youngsters dun think like that leh. Even garment also say boleh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged November 3, 2014 Share November 3, 2014 Precisely my point. A typical person with a salary low enough to satisfy the cap for an EC will definitely be worried if they are subject to market movement for 2 houses. Imagine a couple with 11k combined income holding 2 properties worth a combined 1.5 mil or more (900k for the EC and 600k for the resale). Shouldn't they be worried? No problem if can rent 1 out. But with thousands of MMC TOP in 2015..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic November 3, 2014 Share November 3, 2014 No problem if can rent 1 out. But with thousands of MMC TOP in 2015..... Can't rent out la. Once you get your EC, within 6 months must sell the HDB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear November 3, 2014 Share November 3, 2014 I think many ppl have the wrong perception of EC. EC, like any public housing, is for long term. U buy EC is to stay long. It's not meant for investment, not for flipping, not to buy and sell for higher profit. Those who want to make money, should go for private, where the potential is there. As long as can make money, does wrong perception matter? I booked an EC after staying in a resale flat for 3 years. I opted for EC as it was about 200k more than PC. So I reckon I could make 200k after my EC meets MOP. I will sell it off and move back to HDB flat. Fortunately, when I got my EC, my resale flat rose in value from about 560k to 700k in Dec 2013 when I had to let it go because of the 6 months' ruling on getting the EC. Now my resale flat in the same block is going for 80k less. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged November 3, 2014 Share November 3, 2014 Can't rent out la. Once you get your EC, within 6 months must sell the HDB. sorry. I am referring to condo + HDB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged November 4, 2014 Share November 4, 2014 I booked an EC after staying in a resale flat for 3 years. I opted for EC as it was about 200k more than PC. So I reckon I could make 200k after my EC meets MOP. I will sell it off and move back to HDB flat. U mean the EC cost 200K more than the PC ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 4, 2014 Share November 4, 2014 U mean the EC cost 200K more than the PC ?? maybe is compared penthouse with 2rm OSR There is new upcoming EC at Punggol - Name of EC is The Amore EC whoa!!! angmo ec!!!! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged November 4, 2014 Share November 4, 2014 whoa!!! angmo ec!!!! Haha....ya sounds like lor. It is situated just beside Horizon Primary School. Nearby also another EC going to launch, The Terrace. This one facing the waterway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 4, 2014 Share November 4, 2014 Haha....ya sounds like lor. It is situated just beside Horizon Primary School. Nearby also another EC going to launch, The Terrace. This one facing the waterway. huat ah!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged November 4, 2014 Share November 4, 2014 maybe is compared penthouse with 2rm whoa!!! angmo ec!!!! It will be selling very well. Because.... Friend: Hey, where is your home now? Me: Amore condo Friend: Wow! You must be doing very well to afford Ardmore... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 4, 2014 Share November 4, 2014 It will be selling very well. Because.... Friend: Hey, where is your home now? Me: Amore condo Friend: Wow! You must be doing very well to afford Ardmore... whoa!!! can stay in Ardmore!!! really is amtk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
rameshpvb Neutral Newbie November 4, 2014 Share November 4, 2014 You can register interest with this link, to get more updates on this EC - The Amore Ec - Register Interest OSR There is new upcoming EC at Punggol - Name of EC is The Amore EC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear November 4, 2014 Share November 4, 2014 U mean the EC cost 200K more than the PC ?? Ha ha you got me. I was half asleep when posting. EC should be less. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic November 4, 2014 Share November 4, 2014 You can register interest with this link, to get more updates on this EC - The Amore Ec - Register Interest Only Angmoh need apply. Peasant go away.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 5, 2014 Share November 5, 2014 Only Angmoh need apply. Peasant go away.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged November 5, 2014 Share November 5, 2014 (edited) true story.... so a friend turned to me for advice on lakelife ec... he's a civil servant, mid 40s, have young kids, combined income 12k, 5rm hdb fully paid, and a part-time entrepreneur (the kind who tries all kinds of things, many fail but hoping one might succeed)... i asked if the unit he targetting smaller or bigger than his hdb? he said smaller as he couldn't meet debt requirement for the big ones (1.4mil!) i asked if the ec further or closer to mrt? he said further sports facilities? his hdb is walking distance to a swimming complex.. got 2 olympic pools plus lazy river and big slide...the ec has one shallow pool. parking? his hdb is park directly downstairs. EC is one multistorey block some distance away debt? Is he willing to go back into housing debt, be more hardworking so he doesn't lose his job, and sacrifice some entrepreneur time? that one he couldn't answer so in many ways its a downgrade the clincher... ... a hopeful 500k profit in 10 years time for the kids' uni not entirely true 1. many young couple salary below $12k whack EC because they think buy toyota sell lexus after MOP 5 years. this group of buyer is increasing rapidly 2. upgrader who sold their hdb ... they normally cash out the profit and they do not plonk $400k to the EC. they would love to cash out $100k-$150k and take on more loan for the EC of course ... sensible and play safe type will plonk as much as possible into the EC and settle the loan in the shortest period 1st timer buy EC if nothing goes wrong in life for 5 years ... profitablity is high ... let's say buy at 30-35 with a 10 years early headstart compare to upgrader upgrader age 40-45 buy EC ... i don't see a point especially the hdb is already fully paid up unless living in EC is a die die must have Edited November 5, 2014 by Karoon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny Hypersonic November 5, 2014 Share November 5, 2014 Only Angmoh need apply. Peasant go away.... ya lo...even the web show pics all ang mo.......so kind n sweet ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...