SGCMmadman 6th Gear January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 used to live in bishan, was the 1st batch to shift there in 1985 n stayed till 2002, never encountered any spooky stuff jus normal weirdos in neighbourhood. wen younger, grandma lived in norfolk rd area n had to take bus at novena which had a jewish cemetery jus beside the busstop, now is the velocity n novena mrt station. heard stories but i din see aniting. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 Frankly - this part seems to have become a "side issue". To me, it is the very crux of the issue - it's the part that I most want clarified. I'd also like to know why the "religious entities" have to bid at all - instead of simply having the "best" (instead of the most lucrative) proposal be awarded the site. I'm thinking it was "skipped" because they are too emotional to think logically... I think only Sharon Tan brought it up but the MP brushed it off, I'm not sure whether her questions were answered... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 I'm thinking it was "skipped" because they are too emotional to think logically... I think only Sharon Tan brought it up but the MP brushed it off, I'm not sure whether her questions were answered... So far - in all that I have read, it hasn't been addressed. Nor has it been addressed exactly how a Pte Ltd will make a profit from the management of a temple. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 6, 2015 Author Share January 6, 2015 you are right... "...As the site was sold for the predominant use as a Chinese temple development and not that of a columbarium, the space for the columbarium must not exceed one-fifth of the total gross floor area of the building, it added." Quoted from, http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/columbarium-news-irks-future-residents-sengkang-flats?page=1. So now it raises my concern of having a PRIVATE profit driven entity venturing into building a place of worship and managed by a board of director?? How absurd can it get?? how many unit can it sell for 20% of the space? if base on pure business calculation with 30 years lease, i doubt it is profitable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 I'm thinking it was "skipped" because they are too emotional to think logically... I think only Sharon Tan brought it up but the MP brushed it off, I'm not sure whether her questions were answered... It's here. http://therealsingapore.com/content/transcript-fernvale-resident-why-life-corp-using-religion-get-itself-property This saga inevitably exposed the company. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 you are right... "...As the site was sold for the predominant use as a Chinese temple development and not that of a columbarium, the space for the columbarium must not exceed one-fifth of the total gross floor area of the building, it added." Quoted from, http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/columbarium-news-irks-future-residents-sengkang-flats?page=1. So now it raises my concern of having a PRIVATE profit driven entity venturing into building a place of worship and managed by a board of director?? How absurd can it get?? So it seems there's some answering for the authorities here. Suppose to have only 20% columborium. Is the Life Source sticking to 20%? 80% area use for what then? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 how many unit can it sell for 20% of the space? if base on pure business calculation with 30 years lease, i doubt it is profitable. do like lta lor.....tender for occupancy.....comes in different package....below 1.6 feet....above 1.6 feet and open cat. Price will be awarded to the highest bidder with every succesful bidder paying the highest price in each category! Huat arrr..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 used to live in bishan, was the 1st batch to shift there in 1985 n stayed till 2002, never encountered any spooky stuff jus normal weirdos in neighbourhood. wen younger, grandma lived in norfolk rd area n had to take bus at novena which had a jewish cemetery jus beside the busstop, now is the velocity n novena mrt station. heard stories but i din see aniting. Used to take the first train(ard 6-6.10am) towards north for six years at Novena MRT station. Never encounter or see special thing also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 So it seems there's some answering for the authorities here. Suppose to have only 20% columborium. Is the Life Source sticking to 20%? 80% area use for what then? That's the $64,000 question isn't it? Rent it to one of the clan societies to run / manage a temple? If so - isn't it a bit backwards? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 Used to take the first train(ard 6-6.10am) towards north for six years at Novena MRT station. Never encounter or see special thing also. oiii....6 am.....they all go back to sleep liao lah! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 6, 2015 Author Share January 6, 2015 do like lta lor.....tender for occupancy.....comes in different package....below 1.6 feet....above 1.6 feet and open cat. Price will be awarded to the highest bidder with every succesful bidder paying the highest price in each category! Huat arrr..... no lah they do the same as condo, the higher the 'floor' the unit will be more expensive, then they may have north south east west facing, etc. if they do subscription base before opening, over-subscribed might subject to bidding lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 So it seems there's some answering for the authorities here. Suppose to have only 20% columborium. Is the Life Source sticking to 20%? 80% area use for what then? Used for the prayer hall lah. Depending on how the count the columbarium floor area, if only the area occupied by the niches are counted, 20% is a lot of space, considering that a niche is like 20x30x30cm? Stack them 3 metres high, huat ah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 6, 2015 Author Share January 6, 2015 Used for the prayer hall lah. Depending on how the count the columbarium floor area, if only the area occupied by the niches are counted, 20% is a lot of space, considering that a niche is like 20x30x30cm? Stack them 3 metres high, huat ah! conference room, chanting hall, each section (or block) need to have triple the size for praying area cos at any point of time might have more than 3 families paying respect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 no lah they do the same as condo, the higher the 'floor' the unit will be more expensive, then they may have north south east west facing, etc. if they do subscription base before opening, over-subscribed might subject to bidding lor confirm oversubsribed liao lar.....that area major development. The question is how to squeeze maximum profit!Come...lets open a pte ltd....u 50 cents..i 50 cents....got tender we apply.....ai mai? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 6, 2015 Author Share January 6, 2015 confirm oversubsribed liao lar.....that area major development. The question is how to squeeze maximum profit! Come...lets open a pte ltd....u 50 cents..i 50 cents....got tender we apply.....ai mai? depends on how they price the 'unit' remember it is one time payment but lease and operating cost are for the whole lease term. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 depends on how they price the 'unit' remember it is one time payment but lease and operating cost are for the whole lease term. not sure if its a one time payment...but they can put a 10 yrs lease like our coe.....need to renew or buy new space! Now all talk only...all sweet sweet.....later when open pull all types of pattern. Its a profit driven company....no profit they will siam far far! Must check who is the ceo of the 1 dollar company! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 Used for the prayer hall lah. Depending on how the count the columbarium floor area, if only the area occupied by the niches are counted, 20% is a lot of space, considering that a niche is like 20x30x30cm? Stack them 3 metres high, huat ah! Most of the time the columbarioum will be very quiet, not many people. Prayer hall is likely to be under utilised. For a private profit company, they can't have it. Unless they are like durian, only earn during the qing ming season. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 Most of the time the columbarioum will be very quiet, not many people. Prayer hall is likely to be under utilised. For a private profit company, they can't have it. Unless they are like durian, only earn during the qing ming season.maybe got advertisement space....... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...