Jman888 Moderator April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 16 minutes ago, Ender said: If you have the prescription, look out for Lenskart online promo. Nothing beats them in prices during promo. $68 for 2 pairs for my son and myself. I would say quality similar to ownday, I chose TR90 frames since both of us are into sports, coz they are light and bendy, I dun really agree on making spectacles with lenses online. The reason is every lens has only one centre point which must match the position of your eyeballs on the frame. That is why you always see the optician mark the eyeballs point on the glasses of the frame, where they will then cut the lens base on that centre point. more importantly so if you are making progressive lenses. it is ok to just buy the frame online then get the lenses from local optician. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 3 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Sup sup water for u la. 😁 I only have 2 things to fear. Going to dental clinics Going to optical shops Confirm 💸💸💸 😭 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 3 minutes ago, Jman888 said: I dun really agree on making spectacles with lenses online. The reason is every lens has only one centre point which must match the position of your eyeballs on the frame. That is why you always see the optician mark the eyeballs point on the glasses of the frame, where they will then cut the lens base on that centre point. more importantly so if you are making progressive lenses. it is ok to just buy the frame online then get the lenses from local optician. PD they call it. Pupillary distance (or PD) refers to the distance between your two pupils. It's necessary to center a prescription in your frames for clear, accurate vision. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 (edited) 6 minutes ago, Jman888 said: I dun really agree on making spectacles with lenses online. The reason is every lens has only one centre point which must match the position of your eyeballs on the frame. That is why you always see the optician mark the eyeballs point on the glasses of the frame, where they will then cut the lens base on that centre point. more importantly so if you are making progressive lenses. it is ok to just buy the frame online then get the lenses from local optician. You need the PD for that for the complete prescription. Next time you have your prescription, get the PD measurement included. i know of optometrist will leave out that information when they reluctantly write down your prescription when you asked for it. With that measurement, Lenskart is able to centre the lens into the frame. it's not a complicated measurement. Edited April 20, 2021 by Ender 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 When measuring my PD (Pupillary distance) today at KS. The auntie was standing up but I was seated. She held up her index finger to her eye and asked me to focus on it. Naturally I had to look up due to the difference in eye level. "Don't look up" she said, trying to mark out the centre point on the spectacles I chose. I tried to refocus. "Don't look up!" she repeated. "I am sitting and you are standing, of course I look up what?" Then she marked both points on the lenses with a marker. "Zhun or not" I was worried. "Yes, yes, zhun lah" "Can you ask your colleague to confirm? I pay so much I don't want to mess up" Luckily her colleague confirmed her markings correct using a different method to check. 😃 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 21, 2021 Share April 21, 2021 I am using Varilux progressive lens due to high asti but I have read of free form progressive lens that are cheaper with less distortion. Anyone using them? https://www.quora.com/What-high-end-progressive-lenses-are-the-best-Zeiss-or-Essilor/answer/Ray-LeBlanc-6?ch=99&share=c1345bb9&srid=pDDAm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic April 21, 2021 Share April 21, 2021 (edited) 12 hours ago, Kxbc said: I had my first titanium frame in early 90s and it was a Seiko frame. So damn light. Not sure if this brand is carried anymore in sg. From then on, all my frames are titanium except for the Oakley. Still around, but need to search hard. Mostly NOS, but there are new additions sometimes. Saw a Seiko frame in a shop two years ago, and recently when I went again, it's still there. LOL Heard there is one famous German brand, their Ti frames are manufactured by Seiko. Price is triple of Seiko. LOL Edited April 21, 2021 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 21, 2021 Share April 21, 2021 (edited) 3 hours ago, Voodooman said: I am using Varilux progressive lens due to high asti but I have read of free form progressive lens that are cheaper with less distortion. Anyone using them? https://www.quora.com/What-high-end-progressive-lenses-are-the-best-Zeiss-or-Essilor/answer/Ray-LeBlanc-6?ch=99&share=c1345bb9&srid=pDDAm This kind better ask the optometrist. They can discuss pros and cons with you. Technical stuff. The young optometrist i mentioned earlier is on this thread still. his nick is gangsterkia (which is quite ironic cos he's well spoken and polite). You can post there if u have general questionhttps://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/the-spectacles-thread-part-2.4713091/page-435 I like this guy cos he's sharing his knowledge and of course while he gets HWZ forum members looking for him, he doesn't really sell his services. And he's been doing this for many years siah. I found him when i was looking for a new optometrist in 2018. I'm not sure whether such democratic types of services are available here in SG given our small market and our tendency to go for brand names (after all most pple wearing glasses have been doing so for many years). Edited April 21, 2021 by Lala81 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged April 29, 2021 Share April 29, 2021 Oh yah, collected my glasses today. Very good fitting and I say! the degrees very accurate. Small fonts also no problem reading. Now vision is like Steve Austin's. "Tu tu tu tu tu tu tu....." 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 6, 2021 Share June 6, 2021 (edited) On 4/21/2021 at 12:11 PM, Lala81 said: This kind better ask the optometrist. They can discuss pros and cons with you. Technical stuff. The young optometrist i mentioned earlier is on this thread still. his nick is gangsterkia (which is quite ironic cos he's well spoken and polite). You can post there if u have general questionhttps://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/the-spectacles-thread-part-2.4713091/page-435 I like this guy cos he's sharing his knowledge and of course while he gets HWZ forum members looking for him, he doesn't really sell his services. And he's been doing this for many years siah. I found him when i was looking for a new optometrist in 2018. I'm not sure whether such democratic types of services are available here in SG given our small market and our tendency to go for brand names (after all most pple wearing glasses have been doing so for many years). anyway my son need glasses. Checked with the optometrist I mentioned above, but now he isn't in the retail line anymore. Edited June 6, 2021 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 Went to neighbourhood spectacle shop at Central area after reading google reviews. Friendly lady optometrist. Got myopia control lenses which have differing degree on lower half. Not cheap for children glasses. Asked my eye friend, he's not sure if they work (but he's not up to date on this stuff as well). Anyway got it for my son. Maybe it's all placebo effect for parents thinking they done what they could. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 19 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Went to neighbourhood spectacle shop at Central area after reading google reviews. Friendly lady optometrist. Got myopia control lenses which have differing degree on lower half. Not cheap for children glasses. Asked my eye friend, he's not sure if they work (but he's not up to date on this stuff as well). Anyway got it for my son. Maybe it's all placebo effect for parents thinking they done what they could. Lol. I heard it works for some kids. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic August 13, 2021 Share August 13, 2021 Was at Junction 8 and saw a promo for certain branded frames; free basic lenses or top up $100 for Hoya progressives. So tried on a few frames and found one that suited me. Collected around 8 days later. Staff at the outlet were friendly and I was attended to by a tall slim lady. Quite professional. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 20, 2022 Share March 20, 2022 news feature on KS https://www.zaobao.com.sg/news/singapore/story20220317-1253022 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 16, 2022 Share August 16, 2022 (edited) Anyone has experience with photochromatic/transition lenses brand wise? Just saw EYE doctor today for my son and soon going to start atropine eyedrops for myopia (after confirmation checks and progress post drops) Don't need them now now cos need time for the above. But according to her, will need bifocal lenses with transitions to reduce outdoor glare (wah piang like Lao lang. But no choice since he's on the eyedrops). They will not be cheap but bo pian. Just wondering got any difference between the various brands. Edited August 16, 2022 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic August 16, 2022 Share August 16, 2022 On 4/20/2021 at 9:30 AM, Fcw75 said: From my understanding at KS, the optometrists there only measure your eye degree. They need to get a certificate or something. Then the salesperson there will recommend you frames, lenses, etc to suit your face. Yours seems very personalized. I don’t think KS can reach your standard...haha. But they are patient and customer service are good. Price I find reasonable. Once my Oakley case was worn out and I went back there to find the lady who served me regularly, she gave me one free from their stockpile. People sell at Carousell for $10-20. For those who frequent there, please correct me If I’m wrong. Bro…… what is KS?? Full name pls Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 16, 2022 Share August 16, 2022 Just now, BanCoe said: Bro…… what is KS?? Full name pls Kwong Shin at Bras Basah Complex bro. But all aunties hor except probably the daughter in the article posted by jman888. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 16, 2022 Share August 16, 2022 3 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Kwong Shin at Bras Basah Complex bro. But all aunties hor except probably the daughter in the article posted by jman888. All flowery eyed like me liao how to measure readings corrightly liddat? 😅 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...