Advice needed - BMW 316i vs 320ED

F1enthusiast

With 130hp on a 1.5 ton body, you could still call it a good drive.

can la... dont push... go market... go work.... point a to point b

not too bad.... only problem is .. isnt that toyota's territory? :p

can la... dont push... go market... go work.... point a to point b

not too bad.... only problem is .. isnt that toyota's territory? :p

BMW is always about THE DRIVE.

Don't push might as well buy Toyota Corolla.

I think the owners of Alfas, GTRs, XKRs might take umbrage to such a statement. [laugh]

Rem BMW tagline:

Ultimate Driving Machine

Sheer Driving Pleasure

These owners can go to BMW Welt & riot.

How many ppl actually buy the car for the drive? Provided they know how to push the car to the limits or got balls of steel to do it. Most of the time they just buy the car to bai swee. Show off to friends and relatives. Drive? Drive slowly can liao. Singapore where got roads for you to drive fast? Drive fast drive slow, still BMW mah.

How many ppl actually buy the car for the drive? Provided they know how to push the car to the limits or got balls of steel to do it. Most of the time they just buy the car to bai swee. Show off to friends and relatives. Drive? Drive slowly can liao. Singapore where got roads for you to drive fast?

Drive <> Top speed.

Do you mean that most ppl are juz badge whore?

Drive <> Top speed.

Do you mean that most ppl are juz badge whore?

You know lah. In Singapore you drive fast ppl call you racer boy, drive slow they call you road hogger. Buy Toyota ppl call them B&B, buy BMW kenna call badge whores. So why care in the first place? The thread to me is actually quite unnecessary. If ppl can't decide just roll dice. Will it matter? No, not really.

Is engine the only difference in the 11K? What about the options, such as iDrive system? Wheels?

116 & 118 also got price difference.

Edited by Davidtch

134 horsepower pulling a 1.46 ton body still can consider as sheer driving pleasure or ultimate driving machine? Like that a lot of cars on the road can be considered as supercar based on power-to-weight ratio

its not about the capability to pull away from the crowd that stir emotion.

its the confident of going in and pulling away from the apex that made others' jaw drop.

anyone can drive fast in a straight, even my grandmother can do that. But not all in a corner....

that is the different.

I guess any car on the road can take a corner and pull out safety, so all of them shoulld give sheer driving pleasure to the driver. In that case, supercars like ferrari and lambo should not focus on research for more powerful engine since horsepower is not the essence here

well, actually i share your view to a certain degree...but i can understand why some people just want to have a car of a well-known brand, doesnt matter if it is really quite disappointing or boring. BMW obviously recognised the commericial potential of this segment and created a model for it.

ive never really understood the meaning of drivability or sheer driving pleasure... does it mean cruising at 250kmh with great stability? does it mean ability to take a sharp corner at 120kmh? does it mean the ability to hit 100kmh in 3.5secs? only RWD? will some or all of the above be consider the ultimate driving machine?

i dont know.... the worse drive i had was sitting in a ferrari and the best drive i had was innocently keeping pace with a WRX STI at 99 turns with my old ford focus.

I think to each his own. so i try to respect others choice by being polite...the 316 is a nice ride.:)

In simplistic term,

316 is to attract unker driving Camry/Teana over to BMW

320ED is actually 318 in disguise as it has the same HP. The selling point is it has lower fuel consumption than 320.

You know lah. In Singapore you drive fast ppl call you racer boy, drive slow they call you road hogger. Buy Toyota ppl call them B&B, buy BMW kenna call badge whores. So why care in the first place? The thread to me is actually quite unnecessary. If ppl can't decide just roll dice. Will it matter? No, not really.

I agree that this thread is unnecessary.

well, actually i share your view to a certain degree...but i can understand why some people just want to have a car of a well-known brand, doesnt matter if it is really quite disappointing or boring. BMW obviously recognised the commericial potential of this segment and created a model for it.

ive never really understood the meaning of drivability or sheer driving pleasure... does it mean cruising at 250kmh with great stability? does it mean ability to take a sharp corner at 120kmh? does it mean the ability to hit 100kmh in 3.5secs? only RWD? will some or all of the above be consider the ultimate driving machine?

i dont know.... the worse drive i had was sitting in a ferrari and the best drive i had was innocently keeping pace with a WRX STI at 99 turns with my old ford focus.

I think to each his own. so i try to respect others choice by being polite...the 316 is a nice ride.:)

Since you have not been long on this forum, let me enlighten you that i am BMW FANBOY. To me, 316 is crap as i am driving the same engine that produce 184hp.

BMW is always about IL6, 50% front/rear weight distribution & RWD.

This is THE ultimate driving machine:

https://youtu.be/q1dYv_gKTA8

Drivablity is nvr about how fast you drive. It is about how well the car could go through corner at whatever speed.

Does it breakaway easily when pushed beyond its limit?

We've also given the impression that we are Badge Whoring Ah Beng Woh [dizzy]