Antonee 6th Gear May 18, 2015 Author Share May 18, 2015 Engaging 2nd and 4th tends to pull the skirt in one direction. Dont wanna do that but its part of manual drivers' intention. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged May 18, 2015 Share May 18, 2015 Coupe for me : Our tropical weather is still warm, even at night. Don't have to smell the exhaust from other vehicles. Danger of insects flying SMACK in my face No need to worry about the soft top being slashed or weathered off colour No extra weight I put pple I dislike in the tiny backseats & they have to open legs wide wide or squashed in whatever position......becos I drive with my seat quite far back :() Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aerosmith 2nd Gear May 18, 2015 Share May 18, 2015 Looks like you have not explore Sg enough. Go to Lim Chu Kang/Neo Tiew @ night. Unidirectional engagement?? go lim chu kang at night that kind of chilly feeling is not temperature chilly lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged May 18, 2015 Share May 18, 2015 I put pple I dislike in the tiny backseats & they have to open legs wide wide or squashed in whatever position......becos I drive with my seat quite far back :() With a 2 seater roadster / convertible, don't even need to have extra people.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 18, 2015 Share May 18, 2015 go lim chu kang at night that kind of chilly feeling is not temperature chilly lol. Not true le. Nowadays, there are a lot of ppl cycling around that area at night especially saturday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissan833 5th Gear May 18, 2015 Share May 18, 2015 Got a 2014 Mercedes Benz SLK250. Wow factor.. most of the time is ownself think too much lah. Actually not as many people pay attention to you as you think. People think convertible owners are flashy, some are, but some just want to enjoy a cool topless drive home esp. in the wee hours of a morning or after rain in the evening / night. Sometimes, I drive open top to work in the morning too, really early type so traffic v smooth. That said, the roof seldom open. Due to hot weather, the need to plan route, scared of sudden shower, sometimes just plain lazy. That said, if can afford, then it's a nice thing to have, even though you don't use it very often. Just a form of luxury for car owners lor. Usually for convertible owners, they have a second car.. for ferrying people around. When I go for friend gathering, I drive my SLK.. not to haolian but to avoid fetching people because I am selfish 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kv3n 2nd Gear May 18, 2015 Share May 18, 2015 me also first time own a roadster. this are my findings so far after owning for 1 week. 1. really got more people stare despite it being not an expensive roadster. 2. don't dare to open top in day light because scared sun burnt, but more importantly, too much staring, feel embarrassed. 3. open top at night is not exactly cooling, still can feel warmth, so much still switch on air con. 4. switching on air con in open top will cause moisture build up at the vents. 5. very troublesome in the sense that you cannot park in open top mode cause your cash card and coupon might get stolen and people might flick rubbish inside. 6. very extremely prone to vandalism especially cutting the canvas with penknife, lucky my neighborhood no jealous people. 7. road noise is more apparent, you might get frightened when a huge lorry go pass because of the noise. Why buy a roadster if you feel embarrassed to open top? I don't understand. Anyway slowly will get use to it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged May 18, 2015 Share May 18, 2015 You must own an open top at least once in your life. I will go back to a cabrio again if I can find one that I like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear May 18, 2015 Share May 18, 2015 Coupe for me : Our tropical weather is still warm, even at night. Don't have to smell the exhaust from other vehicles. Danger of insects flying SMACK in my face No need to worry about the soft top being slashed or weathered off colour No extra weight I put pple I dislike in the tiny backseats & they have to open legs wide wide or squashed in whatever position......becos I drive with my seat quite far back :() I like how you think! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic May 18, 2015 Share May 18, 2015 You must own an open top at least once in your life. I will go back to a cabrio again if I can find one that I like. Admit it, you like to open your bottom more than your top. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 (edited) My dream car is an MX-5. Unfortunately sometimes need to ferry people, so not practical. Maybe next time save up to buy as second car (if there are still any more around by then). Anyway convertible driving is quite a different experience. Aside from the attention (which I can do with or without honestly), it is also nice for people who like to go on a drive just for the sake of it. The wind in your hair feeling, is quite shiok actually. Not to mention can get new hairstyle. No need go salon. And we do have cool weather at night. Just have to go to the right places. Edited May 19, 2015 by Benarsenal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 Even in hot weather it's not too bad to be in open air. It's probably not entirely the same and I prefer the security of a cooled car interior... but after riding on motorbikes for so many years, I'm sure convertibles can be refreshing! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic May 20, 2015 Share May 20, 2015 (edited) My dream car is an MX-5. We had one not so long ago, bought it on a whim, sold it a few months later. Trust me, it's overrated. The Lotus Elan we had a few years back gave a much rawer experience and was a more fun drive despite being FWD. Also remember that the Elan is usually cited as the inspiration for the MX-5 - always go back to the "source" if you can. Why I say it's overrated is that it was underpowered and not that engaging to drive. Chris Harris (an automotive journo I actually respect) has always stated this, even though he's softened his stance a bit after the hardcore fanboys started the full-on flamefest. The best convertible I've ever driven is the 911 Cabrio I sold. That's got more than enough power to give you a great feeling on the road, so you never feel it's a compromise. And the sound with the open top down and the sports exhaust mode on...oh boy. Edited May 20, 2015 by Turboflat4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic May 20, 2015 Share May 20, 2015 Is the Insurance very much higher for a convertible compared to a coupe?? and also its more higher for a canvas top compared to the folding metal type right?? Any bros with convertible like mazda MX series (say about 8 years old) can quote me how much the basic premium is with % NCD/without any NCD Does Age of Driver matter too?? tks in advance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged May 20, 2015 Share May 20, 2015 (edited) My dream car is an MX-5. Unfortunately sometimes need to ferry people, so not practical. Maybe next time save up to buy as second car (if there are still any more around by then). Anyway convertible driving is quite a different experience. Aside from the attention (which I can do with or without honestly), it is also nice for people who like to go on a drive just for the sake of it. The wind in your hair feeling, is quite shiok actually. Not to mention can get new hairstyle. No need go salon. And we do have cool weather at night. Just have to go to the right places. why not get this convertible? top closed. top opened. Edited May 20, 2015 by Vega 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 20, 2015 Share May 20, 2015 350Z Roadster. really don't understand where the term cool chilly air came from lol. That's why I always feel convertible for 'cool' in Singapore. Even worst if you had a open top and follow behind a lorry with black smoke... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged May 20, 2015 Share May 20, 2015 We had one not so long ago, bought it on a whim, sold it a few months later. Trust me, it's overrated. The Lotus Elan we had a few years back gave a much rawer experience and was a more fun drive despite being FWD. Also remember that the Elan is usually cited as the inspiration for the MX-5 - always go back to the "source" if you can. Why I say it's overrated is that it was underpowered and not that engaging to drive. Chris Harris (an automotive journo I actually respect) has always stated this, even though he's softened his stance a bit after the hardcore fanboys started the full-on flamefest. The best convertible I've ever driven is the 911 Cabrio I sold. That's got more than enough power to give you a great feeling on the road, so you never feel it's a compromise. And the sound with the open top down and the sports exhaust mode on...oh boy. Don't really like the shape of the Elan.. Don't think many can own a 911, let alone a 911 cabrio.. Currently, the more affordable convertibles I know of are the MX-5, MR-S, Copen (too small).. Mostly not in the powerful range.. If upgrade abit, can go for 350Z Roadster, which I think should have more than enough power for Singapore.. why not get this convertible? top opened. Along the way, get their caravan and their hovervan! Haha... Love the three idiots... (very smart idiots).. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dfx16 6th Gear May 20, 2015 Share May 20, 2015 For the longest time i had been considering getting a AP2 Personally i dont like soft top, but with AP2 there's an option of replacing it with a hard top But friends and tuning garages warn me this car need lot of tender loving car unlike other R models I'm still trying to convince myself, should i "BMW" buy more worries ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...