2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Following two are approved and available for the XT~  [laugh]

Invidia Q300

HKS Legamax Premium

Where to get it and what's the damage like? [laugh]

Are you trying to turn Forester into mini Macan?

Whenever u need to change clutch pack, there are 2 to change hor.

Any aftermarket mod to lower engine temp will make the car performs better even in start/stop traffic.

Not forget to change all the rubber hose to silicon hose.

The Jap Porsches... not bad leh....

every engine oil has operating temp range.  operating temp should fall within this range.

CAI but little gain and also many downsides to CAI

bigger intercooler?

Bigger intercooler + lower temp threshold will help.

CAI is useless in the city.  It is only useful at high speed on highway.

Bigger intercooler + lower temp threshold will help.

CAI is useless in the city.  It is only useful at high speed on highway.

bigger intercooler --> bigger turbo --> free flowing CAI +DP-->tune for higher power---> higher temp 

then back to bigger intercooler again + oil cooler?

then upgrade handling and brakes, reduce weight

wah when will it end?

Edited by Enye

bigger intercooler --> bigger turbo --> free flowing CAI +DP-->tune for higher power---> higher temp 

wah when will it end?

I will stopped at bigger intercooler + lower temp.  With bigger intercooler, thermal efficiency will improve.

That's what i have in mind for my mini.

Edited by Davidtch

every engine oil has operating temp range. operating temp should fall within this range.

CAI but little gain and also many downsides to CAI

bigger intercooler?

CAI on turbo car is a waste of time and money. Whatever cold air you intake will be heated up by the compression of the compressor. That's why need intercooler to cool the compress air before going into engine.

It's better to mod the intercooler for better cooling or airflow than to do CAI on a turbo car.

Watercooled intercooler anyone?

I will stopped at bigger intercooler + lower temp. With bigger intercooler, thermal efficiency will improve.

That's what i have in mind for my mini.

But bigger intercooler means longer airflow to engine, also means bigger turbo lag.

Either we move the intercooler to the front or cut a big hole at the bonnet! Lol

Orr at least have a scoop. 10680136_815274138510038_362991364153005

CAI on turbo car is a waste of time and money. Whatever cold air you intake will be heated up by the compression of the compressor. That's why need intercooler to cool the compress air before going into engine.

It's better to mod the intercooler for better cooling or airflow than to do CAI on a turbo car.

But bigger intercooler means longer airflow to engine, also means bigger turbo lag.

Either we move the intercooler to the front or cut a big hole at the bonnet! Lol

Where is Forester intercooler housed?  Not in front of radiator?

Luckily my mini intercooler is housed in front of radiator.  So, can change bigger intercooler?

Where is Forester intercooler housed? Not in front of radiator?

Luckily my mini intercooler is housed in front of radiator. So, can change bigger intercooler?

Not only your mini, my previous Colt turbo is also front mounted. Evo also front mounted.

For FXT the intercooler is top mounted. That's subaru's signature position, hence the bonnet scoop for all the previous lineup.

However the FXT is the first in Subaru history not to include a scoop. The air is directed from the grille to the intercooler via a air tunnel on the bonnet. While its adequate in seasonal countries, I have my doubts on its effectiveness in topical weather like ours. The bonnet is scorching hot and how efficient is cold air directed to the intercooler. That's one area I felt we can mod in our FXT. If we can effective cool the compress air I believe we can get more efficient power from the compressor. I'm kinda surprised no Japanese aftermarket makers came out with something. The picture on the one with scoop I posted earlier is fabricated in the Philippines and cost a bomb to import here..and seriously not very nice.

I prefer the WRX scoop design.

Edited by Pocus

also:

1) water spray for TMIC if don't want FMIC (with extra lag)

2) water/meth injection

both LTA-friendly but probably not warranty-friendly LOL

Went into Motor Image just now, and sat in the Forrester 2.0 iP.

For 119k it's a lot of car. You may say it's stodgy but it's serious value for money. 
The cabin has a hewn from rock feel, good material usage, with many soft touch surfaces, and the square configuration allows for a wide and usable cabin. There is very impressive legroom at the back, and the fold down mechanism is easy to use. 
It's Jap made, good ground clearance and has many nice features. 
What's not so nice is the fuel consumption... 11 km /l for the NA version, less for the turbo.. 
It does present an alternative to the HRV / Civic / Corolla buyers who are looking for more space and a little more go too. 

I understand that it was just facelifted in Jan this year too.
  • Dislike 1

For 119k it's a lot of car. You may say it's stodgy but it's serious value for money.

The cabin has a hewn from rock feel, good material usage, with many soft touch surfaces, and the square configuration allows for a wide and usable cabin. There is very impressive legroom at the back, and the fold down mechanism is easy to use.

What's not so nice is the fuel consumption... 11 km /l for the NA version, less for the turbo..

It does present an alternative to the HRV / Civic / Corolla buyers who are looking for more space and a little more go too.

FC 11km/l.. One test drive .. One round less than 1km can tell its 11km/l.. Sat la u.. Damn Tok kong.. I drive mine for 5,000km and only can "estimate"..

Not only your mini, my previous Colt turbo is also front mounted. Evo also front mounted.

For FXT the intercooler is top mounted. That's subaru's signature position, hence the bonnet scoop for all the previous lineup.

However the FXT is the first in Subaru history not to include a scoop. The air is directed from the grille to the intercooler via a air tunnel on the bonnet. While its adequate in seasonal countries, I have my doubts on its effectiveness in topical weather like ours. The bonnet is scorching hot and how efficient is cold air directed to the intercooler. That's one area I felt we can mod in our FXT. If we can effective cool the compress air I believe we can get more efficient power from the compressor. I'm kinda surprised no Japanese aftermarket makers came out with something. The picture on the one with scoop I posted earlier is fabricated in the Philippines and cost a bomb to import here..and seriously not very nice.

I prefer the WRX scoop design.

my Leggy even with scoop design also very hot still... it's not a low pressure turbo, I guess it will just be hot.

the lack of scoop is to improve pedestrian safety score... but though one can argue why WRX and Levorg still have it haha...

just enjoy it lah, no worries about stuff getting stuck in scoop (like cigarette butts thrown by moronic drivers or just plastic bags / leaves)

wah when will it end?

first thing to end is definitely MI warranty...

Actually anyone did Stage 1/2 for their FXT yet? The CVT gearbox can take it? What is the weakest link which limits the increment in power?

My friend ordered the manual base rex and will be get his car in aug/sept. He read that the auto cvt gearbox is quite weak if looking to do up the car.. Lets say up hp to abv 300 and torque to above 400nm.

Can i say the same for FXT CVT gearbox?

Ya fc for the fna and fxt are terrible. A vezel or qq 1.2 turbo or even a vezel hybrid is much better buy. Heard these can hit 15-20km/L easily. Dun buy it just because it looks like a big car and quite value for money. Got to think of the high maintenance cost in long term ownership. Heard that the awd is very complex and cost a lot to repair if spoil too. A vezel or qq wun have this prob.

Got to agree that it's a lot of car for the money... And youre also right to point out the less than stellar fuel consumption...

But it doesnt stop there... The car is just so zhng-able. It seems to cast a spell on its owner... Compelling the owner to keep spending.. Buy this... Add that... You need this... Give me that...

You've been warned. :D

Sent in for 5k servicing today. They told me 5k Can still use shell oil since it's free and only using it for another 5k. 10k onwards can choose mirt 5w40 at $17+ or motul 300v 5w40 racing for $70+. The 300v sounds like good deal.

Also took the plunge to do 4 door sound proof using 3m for $680... See how it goes..