Blublak 3rd Gear October 16, 2016 Share October 16, 2016 (edited) E200 W124 is a 1990s car/ There are a few selling less than 30k in the 2nd car market. That's why I don't even test drive the Scirocco. I like it but I know it's going to hurt my wallet badly. And the 4 door A180 is more practical than the 2 door VW. Anyway, I have a few noob questions about the new Honda Civic and I hope the experts here can give their best answers if possible. 1. I wanted to pump the tires today at the petrol kiosk and I checked the kpa in them were about 250. However the recommended kpa is 220 for all 4 tires as stated in the manual and the side door sticker. I even asked the SE and says 220 is good enough. So is 220 good enough? Would it be under inflated and cause uneven wear of the tires after some time? However if I inflate to the maximum (which is about 260 kpa for the Hankook Ventus S1 Noble tyres, I believe), would the fuel consumption per litre be higher? 2. There are pedal shifts behind the steering wheel, + and -. I think there should be a sports mode to drive this car. However I am not sure how it works. Anyone can advise the steps to use them? As in engage to which gear, what speeds, etc. 3. The proprietary Honda in car system is about to sync with my Android phone. However the car needs to be stopped in order to use the phone's GPS. Is there a way I can use the GPS to show me the directions as I drive? Or is it only that I can only use the on the spot GPS with Android Carplay? And when the heck is Singapore going to launch the official Android Auto? Even Latin America is faster than us. Need help on this and greatly appreciated. 220 kpa minimum pressure. my car also states 220 kpa but I normally pump slightly harder 230 or 235 for better and less rolling resistance. IMHO too high will be too hard aldy and more bumpy less comfortable ride. Edited October 16, 2016 by Blublak ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic October 16, 2016 Share October 16, 2016 1 - makes sure you pump when the tires are cool. 220 is fine, 250 if you want a firmer ride. There's a sticky in the tires section that has a lot of useful info. FC is actually lower for higher inflation, but the ride is a lot firmer. 2 - you need to be in "S" mode to use them. Think of them like your manual, but it's a simulated gear since the car has a CVT gearbox. Do read up your manual for more info too. Plus to shift up, minus to shift down. Change back to D on your gearshift to go back to full Auto. 3 - can't help you on the third sorry.. E200 W124 is a 1990s car/ There are a few selling less than 30k in the 2nd car market. That's why I don't even test drive the Scirocco. I like it but I know it's going to hurt my wallet badly. And the 4 door A180 is more practical than the 2 door VW. Anyway, I have a few noob questions about the new Honda Civic and I hope the experts here can give their best answers if possible. 1. I wanted to pump the tires today at the petrol kiosk and I checked the kpa in them were about 250. However the recommended kpa is 220 for all 4 tires as stated in the manual and the side door sticker. I even asked the SE and says 220 is good enough. So is 220 good enough? Would it be under inflated and cause uneven wear of the tires after some time? However if I inflate to the maximum (which is about 260 kpa for the Hankook Ventus S1 Noble tyres, I believe), would the fuel consumption per litre be higher?2. There are pedal shifts behind the steering wheel, + and -. I think there should be a sports mode to drive this car. However I am not sure how it works. Anyone can advise the steps to use them? As in engage to which gear, what speeds, etc. 3. The proprietary Honda in car system is about to sync with my Android phone. However the car needs to be stopped in order to use the phone's GPS. Is there a way I can use the GPS to show me the directions as I drive? Or is it only that I can only use the on the spot GPS with Android Carplay? And when the heck is Singapore going to launch the official Android Auto? Even Latin America is faster than us. Need help on this and greatly appreciated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheefarn 5th Gear October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 The best and most logical for local market is to replace 1.6NA with the 1.0T. Hope Kah will bring it to market in near future. Unfortunately, even if Honda do offer th 1L T in the Civic, it will prob be in the Euro market hatch model only. Our sedan Civic is just too big for a tiny1L to power the car, turbo or not.You do realize the new Civic is as virtually as big as the current Accord? Esp the interior space? Anyway, for all these current ultra high tech tiny force fed engines, their claimed fuel economy figures are always way better than what these cars can achieve in real life. Case in point... Ford 1L Ecoboost. Got lots of awards worldwide, but real world FC behaved more like a NA 2L engine than a NA 1L engin. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheefarn 5th Gear October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 Its typical japanese mindset to keep the best for themselves and the older one let's maximise profit. It is not easy to start manufacturing something new as well in a plant,esp in emerging market where really capable people could learn your technology and then went somewhere else to create something better. And, most importantly,keep the dealer in japan alive. Imagine honda let the rest of the world sell the same JDM vezel, who will PI then? Haha Well I am sure Honda China JV partner, Hongda... yes thats the spelling will rip off the L15B7 in no time. Actually in today's world, no matter how high tech your engine is, the moment you started sale in China, your friendly China JV will rip if off from you using YOUR money and resources and sell at a far lower price too. So it really doesnt matter Maybe you guys can get far cheaper parts from Taobao going forward. BYD managed to rip off Toyota verenable 1ZZ-FE 1.8L from the G9 Altis some years ago... exact same engine block with VVTi etc... but that engine keep having piston failure becos of ridiculously poor engine lub properties... but nvm, at least they manage to copy for free. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 Unfortunately, even if Honda do offer th 1L T in the Civic, it will prob be in the Euro market hatch model only. Our sedan Civic is just too big for a tiny1L to power the car, turbo or not.You do realize the new Civic is as virtually as big as the current Accord? Esp the interior space? Anyway, for all these current ultra high tech tiny force fed engines, their claimed fuel economy figures are always way better than what these cars can achieve in real life. Case in point... Ford 1L Ecoboost. Got lots of awards worldwide, but real world FC behaved more like a NA 2L engine than a NA 1L engin. Don't quite agree with your statement. My audi A3 1.4T consistently gives me ~18km/ltr (on avg speed 34km/h - measured over 15000km). Manufacturer's claimed is 20.4km/l (combined). I would say my driving pattern is 60/40 (hwg/city). And I turned off start-stop system. Also I am driving in dynamic mode. If I set drive to "efficiency" mode, I can easily get 19-20km/ltr. And I can confidently say performance (city driving wise) beats most 1.6 or 2.0 NA cars. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 Well I am sure Honda China JV partner, Hongda... yes thats the spelling will rip off the L15B7 in no time. Actually in today's world, no matter how high tech your engine is, the moment you started sale in China, your friendly China JV will rip if off from you using YOUR money and resources and sell at a far lower price too. So it really doesnt matter Maybe you guys can get far cheaper parts from Taobao going forward. BYD managed to rip off Toyota verenable 1ZZ-FE 1.8L from the G9 Altis some years ago... exact same engine block with VVTi etc... but that engine keep having piston failure becos of ridiculously poor engine lub properties... but nvm, at least they manage to copy for free. 1ZZ-FE outdate liao. Now Toyota is already on ZR liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seal Neutral Newbie October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 Any recommendations for Service Advisors (SA) at Ubi & Mandai Service ctrs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 I was at kah to view the new civic 1,5t. The SE told me the 1.5t engine is made in japan as thai cannot manufacture it and the 1.6na engine is made in thai (how true i dont know), however the rest of the car is from thai. As what some bro here mentioned, Honda now have a manufacturing plant in thai instead of an assembly plant, so some parts can be made there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tcx607 4th Gear October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 I don really bother if the engine from Thai or Japan. As long as the technology is proven and reliability is good, I can accept. From automotive industries, the brand has to sort for the best of business cost and labour supply. Every company is all about Profit/Loss. In today assembly plant, it mainly consists of Robotic and automation that works 24/7. It should have records for QMS and very low tolerance for error. In future, many automotive will come from Indonesia and Vietnam. Toyota will lead the way in coming years They have invested the largest assembly plant in Indonesia compare to the rest of the world. Follow suit will be Nissan 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 I don really bother if the engine from Thai or Japan. As long as the technology is proven and reliability is good, I can accept. From automotive industries, the brand has to sort for the best of business cost and labour supply. Every company is all about Profit/Loss. In today assembly plant, it mainly consists of Robotic and automation that works 24/7. It should have records for QMS and very low tolerance for error. In future, many automotive will come from Indonesia and Vietnam. Toyota will lead the way in coming years They have invested the largest assembly plant in Indonesia compare to the rest of the world. Follow suit will be Nissan What you mentioned is pretty true, but to a layman (those not in manufacturing or engineering field) this piece of info might means to buy or not to buy, which shows why the place of manufacture or made in country is still used as a selling factor. To me made in thai is fine as kah gives 5 years warranty and i can just pop in anytime something breaks, which i am so used to for my current 2 1/2 years old car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Penknife 5th Gear October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 Quick question. Can I shift to D from S while the car is moving? Don't quite agree with your statement. My audi A3 1.4T consistently gives me ~18km/ltr (on avg speed 34km/h - measured over 15000km). Manufacturer's claimed is 20.4km/l (combined). I would say my driving pattern is 60/40 (hwg/city). And I turned off start-stop system. Also I am driving in dynamic mode. If I set drive to "efficiency" mode, I can easily get 19-20km/ltr. And I can confidently say performance (city driving wise) beats most 1.6 or 2.0 NA cars. I heard A3 uses the same engine as some vw cars which has gearbox issues. Does yours have it as well? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 btw saw a black opc 1.5T, driver seems to be an auntie.very weird combo all round Maybe the son bought it, but cannot drive to work because work in CBD, so mother use it to go marketing lor.... Its a civic after all, not a ferrari.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 Don't quite agree with your statement. My audi A3 1.4T consistently gives me ~18km/ltr (on avg speed 34km/h - measured over 15000km). Manufacturer's claimed is 20.4km/l (combined). I would say my driving pattern is 60/40 (hwg/city). And I turned off start-stop system. Also I am driving in dynamic mode. If I set drive to "efficiency" mode, I can easily get 19-20km/ltr. And I can confidently say performance (city driving wise) beats most 1.6 or 2.0 NA cars. Bro.... you repeat many many times liao lah But still salute you for being persistant.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 (edited) Quick question. Can I shift to D from S while the car is moving? I heard A3 uses the same engine as some vw cars which has gearbox issues. Does yours have it as well? I haven't encountered a car that need to be stopped for engaging sports mode. So yes you can shift to S from D and from S to D at any time. For a lot of cars out there it is akin to pressing a sports mode button. Check your car manual for operation details of your paddle shifters; they do vary from brand to brand but many cases behave similar to what I described, while others still may have tics like holding one side to return to auto mode (Volkswagen Group DSG types). And no, @zerobim08 has yet to report significant issues with their S-tronic. Edited October 17, 2016 by 7hm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 (edited) I heard A3 uses the same engine as some vw cars which has gearbox issues. Does yours have it as well?Someone said small turbo is not efficient and I responded with my experience. I didn't even criticize the civic. Why bring dsg into it as well as the sarcastic remark? What's wrong with you,friend? Lost all your sense and sensibility but gained rudeness? :p Edited October 17, 2016 by zerobim08 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheefarn 5th Gear October 18, 2016 Share October 18, 2016 I was at kah to view the new civic 1,5t. The SE told me the 1.5t engine is made in japan as thai cannot manufacture it and the 1.6na engine is made in thai (how true i dont know), however the rest of the car is from thai. As what some bro here mentioned, Honda now have a manufacturing plant in thai instead of an assembly plant, so some parts can be made there. Thats 100% BS la... See here http://www.japantimes.co.jp/news/2016/05/13/business/corporate-business/honda-opens-new-plant-thailand/#.WAVss2fJPIU http://world.honda.com/news/2016/c160512eng.html Honda will export completed engines and parts to the whole Asian continent... next time anyone insist on buying a MIJ Honda, pop the hood to see a Thailand made engine inside LOL The L15B7 is being produced there already. In fact Honda engineers made changes to the engine so that it can accept E20 fuel... E20 is the what most Thai commonly use over there... Gasoline mixed with 20% Ethonol. Results in even more power but fuel burns quickly though... Thailand market doesnt sell pure gasoline anymore. Their top of the line fuel is 95 octane but that too is E10... 10% ethonol mix. I don really bother if the engine from Thai or Japan. As long as the technology is proven and reliability is good, I can accept. From automotive industries, the brand has to sort for the best of business cost and labour supply. Every company is all about Profit/Loss. In today assembly plant, it mainly consists of Robotic and automation that works 24/7. It should have records for QMS and very low tolerance for error. In future, many automotive will come from Indonesia and Vietnam. Toyota will lead the way in coming years They have invested the largest assembly plant in Indonesia compare to the rest of the world. Follow suit will be Nissan Our Fortuner and Vios are already from Indonesia... so does that POS Avanza... Why no one complain about that? Is it becos BM choose to keep a low profile on these cars origins? People are heaping praises on the new Fortuner... although that weak 2.7L truck engines continues to be an issue. No diesel model for SG yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 18, 2016 Share October 18, 2016 Someone said small turbo is not efficient and I responded with my experience. I didn't even criticize the civic. Why bring dsg into it as well as the sarcastic remark? What's wrong with you,friend? Lost all your sense and sensibility but gained rudeness? :p Your A3 is single or twin scroll? That makes a whole lot of diff regardless of size of turbo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear October 18, 2016 Share October 18, 2016 Your A3 is single or twin scroll? That makes a whole lot of diff regardless of size of turbo. Not sure but think it is single turbo. Does it matter? As long as it does the job. Not expecting super car performance but have enough power to change lane/overtake (like a bigger 2-2.5l NA engine). ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...