Soya Supersonic January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 soon...... very long wheelbase one? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 very long wheelbase one? Now that u mention, thats 1 hatchback I dont like..... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Actually I prefer 1.5-1.6na n mate to 6spd auto. Horror stories of dsg really turn me off. Turbo means increased ins premium n car price. But the new elantra grill much more appealing. This despite it hinted of audi. Dry clutch DSG, the german VW and gearbox manufacturers also cannot make it as reliable as a normal AT gearbox ... Now u tell me korean also want to try. mlmlwml. The elantra is a good car. Just that I'm also of the same mind re: these low end DSGs my BIL's Kia picanto has had a few minor repairs leh. And it's only just coming to it's 7 years old. Oil leaks etc. Comparatively, the lancer and altis that my BIL and I owned has less such issues at the same age. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
hsl118 6th Gear January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Then u may want to wait till March as the new Elantra will be here according to yesterday ST. Turbo some more!! Recently popped by Komoco, SE did mentioned they are doing their best to clear existing stock, and also off the record recommended to avoid first few batches or at least first batch of the new launch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Dry clutch DSG, the german VW and gearbox manufacturers also cannot make it as reliable as a normal AT gearbox ... Now u tell me korean also want to try. mlmlwml. The elantra is a good car. Just that I'm also of the same mind re: these low end DSGs my BIL's Kia picanto has had a few minor repairs leh. And it's only just coming to it's 7 years old. Oil leaks etc. Comparatively, the lancer and altis that my BIL and I owned has less such issues at the same age. Bro, u n ur bil collect bnb cars ah? Btw, my ex colleague picanto also have leaks, but i guess its wear n tear or previous heat issue. Touchwood, so far my used hyundai ride didnt have such issues. Old car must change fluid or coolant at shorter intervals, esp coolant n atf. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Recently popped by Komoco, SE did mentioned they are doing their best to clear existing stock, and also off the record recommended to avoid first few batches or at least first batch of the new launch. Most people advise against owning first few batches of a new launch. Some conti brands arrive here late so it's not really first few batches but for Koreans and Japs, they are normally fresh off the oven so some logic in this theory but then again Koreans and Japs by virtue of their car being less electronics should be fine? Just worry on this dual clutch thingy, surprised they venture here but surely there's a reason behind this? N I doubt if cost is the reasoning. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Value for $$$ subjective..... most of the bro here will tell you $200k ride is value for $$... ..... to common like me, my wife tell me a good value for $$$ ride is a bicycle with motor.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Bro, u n ur bil collect bnb cars ah? Btw, my ex colleague picanto also have leaks, but i guess its wear n tear or previous heat issue. Touchwood, so far my used hyundai ride didnt have such issues. Old car must change fluid or coolant at shorter intervals, esp coolant n atf. Hmm no lah. Just that I've owned an altis until just below 7 years and my other BIL owned a Lancer for like 5-6 years until it's almost 9 years old as well. My other BIL the Kia seems to have more of these minor repair issues though nothing ever having a real breakdown. This is what I've directly observed. not tiagong mah. Lol on the other hand, my friend just sold off his 5 year old VW Polo late last year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Hmm no lah. Just that I've owned an altis until just below 7 years and my other BIL owned a Lancer for like 5-6 years until it's almost 9 years old as well. My other BIL the Kia seems to have more of these minor repair issues though nothing ever having a real breakdown. This is what I've directly observed. not tiagong mah. Lol on the other hand, my friend just sold off his 5 year old VW Polo late last year. Ok didnt know there were 2 bil. Seemed like korean ride wear n tear occurs earlier if compared to jap. Ur fren vw sold may b just wanna chg car, unless suffering from infamous issues of mu n dsg issues. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greyice Neutral Newbie January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Driven a korean and japanese car. Both are equally reliable to me. Same style of usage and maintance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Ok didnt know there were 2 bil. Seemed like korean ride wear n tear occurs earlier if compared to jap. Ur fren vw sold may b just wanna chg car, unless suffering from infamous issues of mu n dsg issues. nah he's been experiencing some problems. So decided to trade in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Driven a korean and japanese car. Both are equally reliable to me. Same style of usage and maintance.Sounds assuring. Wc models, if u dun mind to share. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
hsl118 6th Gear January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Most people advise against owning first few batches of a new launch. Some conti brands arrive here late so it's not really first few batches but for Koreans and Japs, they are normally fresh off the oven so some logic in this theory but then again Koreans and Japs by virtue of their car being less electronics should be fine? Just worry on this dual clutch thingy, surprised they venture here but surely there's a reason behind this? N I doubt if cost is the reasoning. Yes am surprised too, told SIL to adopt a wait and see approach.. her Jetta seems to be holding up for now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greyice Neutral Newbie January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Sounds assuring. Wc models, if u dun mind to share.Mit lancer (2000) and Getz (2006) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Wah. Still the dinosaur age of debate jap cars or korean cars reliability ah.... My take. Both r on par liao lar. Agreed. It's like ppl still saying they prefer to buy Toshiba tv over Samsung or LG. My Sorento hasn't missed a beat these past 2 yrs. No warranty claims so far n feels bullet proof. Car build is tight n feels sibei solid maciam conti. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ainano Clutched January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Bro, China cars are as good as low end Japanese and Korean car. Principle about owning a car is cannot be stingy on the maintenance and must be on time. Let me tell you about my experience, 6 years ago bought my daughter a China car, a PARF Geely MK for 20k, she used daily average 70 km to/fro working place.Now milleage about 130k, about 2 years to go. The car has served her well with good purposes. We took care of the car well with prompt maintenance and services. There still people selling these cars at sgcarmart with low reasonable price, consistent with the depreciation same as 6 years ago. Now you got ask yourself a question, can you own a PARF car with montly depreciation of less $200 now. Then get a Geely, take care of it and it will take care of you. No need to be shy just drive at least you are the proud owner of a PARF car with minimum financial comittment. There's others there outside glamourous driving expensive car but heavily financially burden. Spare parts no problem as the engine is Toyota engine and the consumable parts are common. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 what happen when a geely get into a crash. this is my main concern. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 what happen when a geely get into a crash. this is my main concern. dunno, we never hear of any feedback. dead men tell no tales? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...