Wt_know Supersonic January 7, 2016 Share January 7, 2016 the plan is to make $500k bto so that you don't clean out your OA ... LOL ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wildfaye29 Turbocharged January 7, 2016 Share January 7, 2016 minimum sum will not stay at 161k and will increase with inflation usually there would not be too much excess SA funds after deducting the minimum sum your best bet is to accumulate more OA if you wish to cash out a significant amount ie spend less on property repayment once RA is created, salary contributions will no longer flow into SA, only to OA and MA if you continue to work erm... OA best usage is to pay for property leh, imo la... I know min sum will increase w inflation. assuming the figures don't change, than the amt that is able to be withdrawn from SA is pretty substantial, knowing that SA usually not able to touch for most people, esp until 55 when withdrawal is possible. oh? no more SA aft RA is created? hmm...that will be SA% will go into OA? becos MA is already full? if 25 today ... 30 years later minimum sum is $380k with 3% yearly inflation rate $400k-$380k = can cash out $20k only ... muahahahahaha a wise man said ... you must reach the goal post fast before someone move the goal post again else what you see is what you cannot touch aiya, I tot I score hat trick aldy! lol! ya, the goal posts will always keep moving further and further away. see no touch. its estimated from age 25 to 55 using 6k salary per mth x 12 mths (ordinary wages) + 5mths max bonus (additional wages) at current SA contribution rates. also include annual 4% interest on SA savings over the 30 year period. Oh, I forgot about MA hit max. At current %, 5 yrs into work life by 30yo, MA will be max liao, excess will flow into SA. So from 30-55, the SA is greatly increased. Estimated 800k in SA at 55 yo including yearly 4% compounding. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic January 7, 2016 Share January 7, 2016 (edited) erm... OA best usage is to pay for property leh, imo la... I know min sum will increase w inflation. assuming the figures don't change, than the amt that is able to be withdrawn from SA is pretty substantial, knowing that SA usually not able to touch for most people, esp until 55 when withdrawal is possible. oh? no more SA aft RA is created? hmm...that will be SA% will go into OA? becos MA is already full? aiya, I tot I score hat trick aldy! lol! ya, the goal posts will always keep moving further and further away. see no touch. Oh, I forgot about MA hit max. At current %, 5 yrs into work life by 30yo, MA will be max liao, excess will flow into SA. So from 30-55, the SA is greatly increased. Estimated 800k in SA at 55 yo including yearly 4% compounding. yes SA% even MA% will go into OA if MA and RA full MA max and SA at min sum or above, MA will overflow into OA MA will also be used for shield plans yearly, so not every month will have overflow Edited January 7, 2016 by Enye 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged January 8, 2016 Share January 8, 2016 You just named 3 of my favourite dishes lol u eat these 3 dishes for too long, the only best friend u get to see often is the doc......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator January 8, 2016 Share January 8, 2016 u eat these 3 dishes for too long, the only best friend u get to see often is the doc......... Haha agreed! Char Kway Teow they don't make it like they used to so I don't eat much of it these days. Nasi Lemak and Roast Pork, I do eat maybe 3-4 times a month so think it's quite balanced I hope 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged January 8, 2016 Share January 8, 2016 Haha agreed! Char Kway Teow they don't make it like they used to so I don't eat much of it these days. Nasi Lemak and Roast Pork, I do eat maybe 3-4 times a month so think it's quite balanced I hope we all know these days, young ppl can kena diseases that were used to be for aged people. i got a young relative, only about mid 20s. overweight, eat lots of oily food. Yes, roast pork and pork belly are his fav. On New year day, he kena stroke. its a mild one, but its enough for him to be rushed to hospital. He spend his New Year celebration on hospital bed for one week. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged January 8, 2016 Author Share January 8, 2016 we all know these days, young ppl can kena diseases that were used to be for aged people. i got a young relative, only about mid 20s. overweight, eat lots of oily food. Yes, roast pork and pork belly are his fav. On New year day, he kena stroke. its a mild one, but its enough for him to be rushed to hospital. He spend his New Year celebration on hospital bed for one week. Spring plays tennis Everyday. Burns all the fats. He is as slim as andy Murray. Just a bid older only. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator January 8, 2016 Share January 8, 2016 we all know these days, young ppl can kena diseases that were used to be for aged people. i got a young relative, only about mid 20s. overweight, eat lots of oily food. Yes, roast pork and pork belly are his fav. On New year day, he kena stroke. its a mild one, but its enough for him to be rushed to hospital. He spend his New Year celebration on hospital bed for one week. Ok thks for the warning bro!! I do need a wake up call on food intake at times as I'm not the most disciplined person around as far as food is concerned lol 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator January 8, 2016 Share January 8, 2016 Spring plays tennis Everyday. Burns all the fats. He is as slim as andy Murray. Just a bid older only. Not slim lah bro and definitely can't compare with Andy Murray haha!! And much older not abit 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 9, 2016 Share January 9, 2016 we all know these days, young ppl can kena diseases that were used to be for aged people. i got a young relative, only about mid 20s. overweight, eat lots of oily food. Yes, roast pork and pork belly are his fav. On New year day, he kena stroke. its a mild one, but its enough for him to be rushed to hospital. He spend his New Year celebration on hospital bed for one week. Probably not the oily food that caused it. Its the carbo that he ate along with it. Carbs like money, the roots of all problems. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear January 9, 2016 Share January 9, 2016 Men auto lugi 5 years of their minimum sum to CPF Life under the default scheme... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 9, 2016 Share January 9, 2016 Men auto lugi 5 years of their minimum sum to CPF Life under the default scheme... Aren't the payouts for men higher? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic January 9, 2016 Share January 9, 2016 They said 90 ma ... 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 (edited) pay cash is the BEST 1. if you pay $1k every month cash ... you have less disposable income 2. force saving in cpf and force cutdown expenses on take home pay 3. every year see CPF account ... feel so lich !!! Why Singaporeans Should Stop Using Their CPF Money To Pay Their HDB Home Mortgage Edited January 11, 2016 by Wt_know 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 pay cash is the BEST 1. if you pay $1k every month cash ... you have less disposable income 2. force saving in cpf and force cutdown expenses on take home pay 3. every year see CPF account ... feel so lich !!! Why Singaporeans Should Stop Using Their CPF Money To Pay Their HDB Home Mortgage I guess it depends on the scenario and circumstance of individual families. For your example, people who are earning well, with ability to save, and not investment savy suits your example most. For others who earn less, reducing disposable income affects them greatly, unless they are already saving at least the installment sum for retirement, and if they are no good at getting better returns from CPF rates I would think for majority in the 20s to early 50s, the family commitment would always mean cash on hand is a better choice given the flexibility to use for good and bad reasons. So no.. I do not agree with your linked example Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 pay cash is the BEST 1. if you pay $1k every month cash ... you have less disposable income 2. force saving in cpf and force cutdown expenses on take home pay 3. every year see CPF account ... feel so lich !!! Why Singaporeans Should Stop Using Their CPF Money To Pay Their HDB Home Mortgage good idea, then COE won't be so high Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 (edited) pay cash is the BEST 1. if you pay $1k every month cash ... you have less disposable income 2. force saving in cpf and force cutdown expenses on take home pay 3. every year see CPF account ... feel so lich !!! Why Singaporeans Should Stop Using Their CPF Money To Pay Their HDB Home Mortgage the "opportunity cost" in using cpf oa to buy property is already manifested as accrued interest still must pay back when sell seems like the author doesn't know this Edited January 11, 2016 by Enye 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 (edited) CPF liberalized to allow buying property. Property market including hdb chiong to the roof. Without CPF liberalisation, property price won't be what it is today....and you're still have lots of money in CPF, which is the original aim of having money when you retire. Now it's all gone, and became a Ponzi scheme. Edited January 11, 2016 by Kb27 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...