GrabHitch/RYDE-car pooling services

Carpools

Seems like nobody mentioned in this thread, tot wanna pass the word around.

For those newbies, pls be informed you're not suppose to drive into taxi-stand to pick up or drop off passengers. It's liable to fines. Some places have both pick-up and taxi-stand side by side (e.g. AMK Hub, Parkway Parade, Ion Orchard, etc), which is fine as long as don't drive taxi lane. Even for bus stops, you have to see your peak timing and those with CCTV best to avoid at all times.

Pls SMS or call in advance before heading to pick up. Many places in town cannot wait for riders (e.g. Ion, Wisma, Taka, Cineleisure, 313, etc). There are cameras catching cars waiting alongside double yellow line.

Hope this little tip will help those newbies out there. Been doing this since the start of the thread. I have to say the carpooling game has improved tremendously.

Hi guys ..

Nice to be in this forum ...

i have got 20 hitch ride so far .

So far all the trips have been good till today got 1 trip that really make my day.

I was at Clementi mall and was on the way back to CCK .

Got to hitch a young lady nearby just few blocks away , thinking it was near i told her will be at her block 10mins late.

Unfortunately losing my turn into her block i got to make a big U turn .During this period i was trying to communicate with the lady telling i am trying my best to be there fast.

While communicating i saw my confirmed trip was being cancelled. I was just another 3-5mins late.

I apologized and even offered her a free ride but was being criticized for wasting her time .

But the funny thing was that she requested to hitch a ride again half an hour later ?

I admit is my fault for being late but i don't think it is right for passengers to trip us like a professional or full time driver.

I rest my case but definitely a very lousy experience.

Edited by Hitch9191

Hi guys ..

So far all the trips have been good till today got 1 trip that really make my day.

Got to hitch a young lady nearby just few blocks away , thinking it was near i told her will be at her block 10mins late.

Unfortunately losing my turn into her block i got to make a big U turn .During this period i was trying to communicate with the lady telling i am trying my best to be there fast.

While communicating i saw my confirmed trip was being cancelled. I was just another 3-5mins late.

I apologized and even offered her a free ride but was being criticized for wasting her time .

But the funny thing was that she requested to hitch a ride again half an hour later ?

I admit is my fault for being late but i don't think it is right for passengers to trip us like a professional or full time driver.

ððð

Girl chio or not?

Hi guys ..

Non-commercial use refers to usage of your car that is not for use in your daily business conduct or for commercial use such as car-sharing or hire-for-reward arrangements. If your job requires you to drive or if you get paid for driving, you are not covered under our car insurance.

From their FAQ, seems grey.

Not sure if your are uber pool or grab hitch or another company but just to be frank when I use their services I can see the car on GPS so I do get frustrated if I see car make a wrong turn while coming to me. Esp if you are on the phone. Cos I will think with GPS how can you get lost?

Will I kpkb? No. Cos usually I am not in a rush and anyway we are all trying to earn a living so why make things difficult. It's not like I kpkb you will speed up though years ago I did tell the taxi driver up to him to speed but I need to pang sai urgently. Hehe.

Oh and I will never accept free rides in such situations cos it makes me look cheapskate. I am cheapskate but this will rub it in. Vouchers from company maybe I will take but not a free ride.

Anyway I believe I am the first to give you five points. Happy driving.

Hi philip...thks for the 5 points ~

My car is a private grab hitch.

Of course with GPS we can still make a wrong turn because it's not fool proof .

Our job as driver is to drive safe and be as early as possible to pick up passengers .Unfortunately traffic is unforseen at times especially in busy areas.

Anyway car hitch is on the way by the way ..if passengers need to be early help us hitch drivers to book slightly earlier too.

* my point here is not trying to say i am right but if the passenger can mutilple hitch again in 15 mins to 30 mins, i just find that she is making things difficult for the drivers .

Even airplane will have delays at times .

cheers

Edited by Hitch9191

For those newbies, pls be informed you're not suppose to drive into taxi-stand to pick up or drop off passengers. It's liable to fines. Some places have both pick-up and taxi-stand side by side (e.g. AMK Hub, Parkway Parade, Ion Orchard, etc), which is fine as long as don't drive taxi lane. Even for bus stops, you have to see your peak timing and those with CCTV best to avoid at all times.

Pls SMS or call in advance before heading to pick up. Many places in town cannot wait for riders (e.g. Ion, Wisma, Taka, Cineleisure, 313, etc). There are cameras catching cars waiting alongside double yellow line.

Hope this little tip will help those newbies out there. Been doing this since the start of the thread. I have to say the carpooling game has improved tremendously.

Do you mean that only private hire cars are not allowed to pick up and drop off passengers at taxi stand? How about private cars? Can pick up and drop off friends at taxi stand?

As I live in the west and work at Changi, I have been hitching people on route to the airport. There are some very weird people whom due to the negative news, have insisted to sit at the back even though there is no one in front. It's up to their choice if on where they want to sit.

​When I take uber, taxi or grab, I always like to seat infront.. but for some drivers, they will either have newspaper, bags,etc at driver seat or stop at rear door that is align with me. Then I want to open the front passenger door, some show not happy face. 

​So I believe that people have been too fixated to something that is what most of the people are doing. Like.. take taxi, grab, uber.. MUST seat at the back, maybe because they have the thinking that they do not know the driver or this is how it should be.. The drivers themselves also have this mindset..

Weird right? ...

Edited by Yewheng

Hi guys ..

Got to hitch a young lady nearby just few blocks away , thinking it was near i told her will be at her block 10mins later.

But the funny thing was that she requested to hitch 2 more rides again inside half an hour .

I admit it's my fault for being late but if she can hitch again ..can't she be more forgiving and wait for another few mins.

And pls do not stop at double zigzag yellow lines, even if the rider tells you to.

In city and orchard Rd,, plenty of red bus lane, you must avoid completely.

If you dunno the timing, it's 7.30am to 11pm everyday from Mon-Sat, except Sun.

Do not take risk or you'll end up poorer.

Hi guys ..

Got to hitch a young lady nearby just few blocks away , thinking it was near i told her will be at her block 10mins later.

But the funny thing was that she requested to hitch 2 more rides again inside half an hour .

I admit it's my fault for being late but if she can hitch again ..can't she be more forgiving and wait for another few mins.

ððð

She's just a bitch la.

Must be chio so you felt disappointed? Haha

Do you mean that only private hire cars are not allowed to pick up and drop off passengers at taxi stand? How about private cars? Can pick up and drop off friends at taxi stand?

Private cars dropping or picking up wife, kids, grandma also cannot. Only taxis are allowed to be inside taxi stand. Some taxi stand is 1-lane strictly taxi only (e.g Bugis Junction, Northpoint). So take note don't go inside. Most are kenna bao toh by taxi drivers behind, cos they got axe to grind and enable them to sleep well.

She's just a bitch la.

Must be chio so you felt disappointed? Haha

Check her face book .she is just an young girl who show no respect to others by the way she message .

I told her i just hitch to pass time she do not believe.

She even humiliated me .

No problem..i will hitch her next round using my wife's account and car.

Such young girl need to be taught a lesson to respect others!

Non-commercial use refers to usage of your car that is not for use in your daily business conduct or for commercial use such as car-sharing or hire-for-reward arrangements. If your job requires you to drive or if you get paid for driving, you are not covered under our car insurance.

From their FAQ, seems grey.

My smelly picgkarp got commercial insurance

They don't let me in :(

Check her face book .she is just an young girl who show no respect to others by the way she message .

She even humiliated me .

ð ð ð 

Next time don't take her Lor

Why bother with funny people

Funny people is every where

Best trick to live life happy is to let funny people deal with funny people

Then stay at the side to watch show

Confirm good night sleep :XD:

She even humiliated me .

ð ð ð 

you bother with this type of people just to teach them a lesson?