Lala81 Hypersonic February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 Filtered by your nick and the term "cold water". I guess that makes sense if the companies in the industry have a big difference in service levels but for fixed deposits? All I want is the interest! Let me renew my fixed deposit online and give me the same good rates as "fresh funds". BTW, this "fresh funds" concept is kinda lame. Most of the time I just transfer out the money via IB to another bank and get it out again as a cashier's order. I try to arrange my FD all around same days of the year. Then cashier order out from Bank A to give to Bank B. Withdraw Bank B's -> cashier order to bank A. 1 morning gaotim. Maybank - Hong Leong. Merry go round. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 @Spring, I think the 1 bank that doesn't seem to mind pre-existing or fresh funds is usually maybank for me. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 It could be because the existing employees have limited contributions to offer after working so long and their minds might already be in a box. Hiring someone new could help to bring up the dead atmosphere (if any) and also to contribute new ideas for a more efficient work procecss. Sometimes staying too long in a company numbs you, and if you had made constructive feedback a few times to improve the company before and it was not taken up, then it would be all too easy to just hold your peace forever and either look for a new job or continue working but only doing what is required. my previous workplace is like this. Hire new people with high pay with fancy work titles, but ignore the old employees. Its a very strange thinking. They seem to think that new people will be better than the oldies. I have to agree with you. But that being said, manure is in every company. Just a matter of whether you can handle the stink or not, and how bad the stink is. Outside all look very nice, inside kena sai. You know only when you are there. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 That's why when I was young, I chose to job hop every few years so my salary can jump more. Another reason is to learn more new things (I was in different industry in every job, but job scope is more or less the same) How else would you be able to get a 10% increment or more from your current salary every few years? MNCs would mostly only consider apple polishers for good increment or if they have huge headcount, the increment would not be satisfactory. And small local companies would try not to give you an increment even if they could. Why? The money could be put to better use on the big boss's new Merc or BMW. it's true. the new joiners usually join at market rate. while the old timer languish at 10 yr ago salary. sometimes sibei unfair. If you loved your job, it would be a hobby already, right? Chin up. I'm sure not many people here really love their jobs. I don't really like my job... but boh bian, still need that $ to put food on table... Everyday just work. ... and just looking forward to getting pay every month... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 Let's get to the ending. Did you get to bonk her? Best Interview (Biofuel Trading Firm)I described this experience of an extremely gorgeous, lovely and enchanting interviewer who offered me cold water (instead of the usual term ice water) in an earlier post. That post was damn detailed, long ago before MCF was revamped and I couldn’t find it now (nabei!!) and am too lazy to retype No prospective interviewer will like what you did, indicating that you want only regular working hours in the application form. This kind of thing should be discussed only during the interview or at a later stage when they offer you the position. By doing this, you are shutting down the door on yourself. i have been working in my present company for about 17 years liow .... now at 45 and no paper qual, its almost impossible to go anywhere else ... and get the same pay. over the years, tried to find other jobs ... and just citing what i desire most in the application forms - regular working hours.... but .... refer to the underlined. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
IDrago 3rd Gear February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 Let's get to the ending. Did you get to bonk her? Unfortunately and regretfully .. NO.. btw, does mind f*** count? We are both very professional ok!!! Filtered by your nick and the term "cold water". Thanks, now I will have lots of fun revisiting all my old post when I have the time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L23 6th Gear February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 Even loving the job doesn't mean loving your boss or company. Sometimes being in a job you love, but a company (or a market) that goes in a different direction than you wish. Reality hurts, but that's how it is. Even own boss got to adjust your own ideals to the market. That's a saying... U can like your job but you can't fall in love with your job. You never know when will your lover dump you for another person. Worse is when you put in all the effort for this lover (neglecting your own family and friends and keep doing ot for the firm) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 (edited) On a serious note and on the topic of loyalty to a company...Been in my current workplace for close to 6 years, even longer if you consider it's a place i rejoined after having left as a junior designer many many years ago. Wanted to try out the agency life, so i did and managed to rise to AD level in a couple of years. Life in agency wasn't so rosy, stress levels shot up and health went down, so i took a hiatus for a year. Believe me, back then, there were a few times i will wake up in the middle of the night thinking i'm late for work... But life has a way of making things work out, as my previous boss (who is an awesome boss btw) reached out to me and after getting me on as a freelancer, hired me full time after my freelance contract ended. I have stayed in the same company ever since, pay is decent and while my peers in the same line can easily make more $$$, i value my time a lot more now. In an industry where long hours and weekend stand-bys are the norm, i get to go home on time everyday and spend time with friends and family instead. And I don't dread going to work. And this i realised "work/life balance" was what i really wanted in life. So if a job why not? A few have questioned me why don't i leave for "greener" pastures and truth be told, at times, i did question myself too. With my experience, why not leave for more $$$ elsewhere. But still i stayed on... and blessed again this year, i was made partner of the firm. Edited February 17, 2016 by Mockngbrd 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 On a serious note and on the topic of loyalty to a company... Been in my current workplace for close to 6 years, even longer if you consider it's a place i rejoined after having left as a junior designer many many years ago. Wanted to try out the agency life, so i did and managed to rise to AD level in a couple of years. Life in agency wasn't so rosy, stress levels shot up and health went down, so i took a hiatus for a year. Believe me, back then, there were a few times i will wake up in the middle of the night thinking i'm late for work... But life has a way of making things work out, as my previous boss (who is an awesome boss btw) reached out to me and after getting me on as a freelancer, hired me full time after my freelance contract ended. I have stayed in the same company ever since, pay is decent and while my peers in the same line can easily make more $$$, i value my time a lot more now. In an industry where long hours and weekend stand-bys are the norm, i get to go home on time everyday and spend time with friends and family instead. And I don't dread going to work. And this i realised "work/life balance" was what i really wanted in life. So if a job why not? A few have questioned me why don't i leave for "greener" pastures and truth be told, at times, i did question myself too. With my experience, why not leave for more $$$ elsewhere. But still i stayed on... and blessed again this year, i was made partner of the firm. another rich tycoon emerging in MCF peasants getting crowded out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 On a serious note and on the topic of loyalty to a company... Been in my current workplace for close to 6 years, even longer if you consider it's a place i rejoined after having left as a junior designer many many years ago. Wanted to try out the agency life, so i did and managed to rise to AD level in a couple of years. Life in agency wasn't so rosy, stress levels shot up and health went down, so i took a hiatus for a year. Believe me, back then, there were a few times i will wake up in the middle of the night thinking i'm late for work... But life has a way of making things work out, as my previous boss (who is an awesome boss btw) reached out to me and after getting me on as a freelancer, hired me full time after my freelance contract ended. I have stayed in the same company ever since, pay is decent and while my peers in the same line can easily make more $$$, i value my time a lot more now. In an industry where long hours and weekend stand-bys are the norm, i get to go home on time everyday and spend time with friends and family instead. And I don't dread going to work. And this i realised "work/life balance" was what i really wanted in life. So if a job why not? A few have questioned me why don't i leave for "greener" pastures and truth be told, at times, i did question myself too. With my experience, why not leave for more $$$ elsewhere. But still i stayed on... and blessed again this year, i was made partner of the firm. You have matured bro...good to see you aging well...hahahha I agree, the $$$ and titles mean nothing if your health is compromised. It is a blessing indeed that you realised that earlier and all fell in place as time went on. Same for me where I decided to cool down and still enjoy what I do and into my 10th year now. Things happen for a reason. Take care another rich tycoon emerging in MCF peasants getting crowded out shaddap lah you $700k elite face....@porker say wan 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 (edited) So far i only went for a 2 interviews in my life... before the roles switch and i become the interviewer... mostly to students wanting to work part-time.. After interviewing/talking to quite abit of those born in the mid to late 90s. I cringe for our next generation. They're really like what i call Tofu Generation. Abit hardship (like standing for 4-5 hours straight) also cannot take it. Edited February 17, 2016 by Shull Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 shaddap lah you $700k elite face....@porker say wan why elite MCFers so unfriendly toward peasants wan? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 Loving the job counts for nothing if you have a lousy boss. Your longevity in any company is mostly dependent on your immediate boss. If he is good and supportive, you would naturally love your job more and put in more effort for the company. If the immediate boss is an a**hole, you would be dragging your feet to work and hoping times passes by quickly. Even loving the job doesn't mean loving your boss or company. Sometimes being in a job you love, but a company (or a market) that goes in a different direction than you wish. Reality hurts, but that's how it is. Even own boss got to adjust your own ideals to the market. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 Loving the job counts for nothing if you have a lousy boss. Your longevity in any company is mostly dependent on your immediate boss. If he is good and supportive, you would naturally love your job more and put in more effort for the company. If the immediate boss is an a**hole, you would be dragging your feet to work and hoping times passes by quickly. i mentioned here many times ' you join a company because of it's repute, you LEAVE because of the BOSS' 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 You also copy and paste from somewhere right? lol i mentioned here many times ' you join a company because of it's repute, you LEAVE because of the BOSS' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 You also copy and paste from somewhere right? lol no lah...my looooong ago boss teach me wan.... the days before the internet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 Loving the job counts for nothing if you have a lousy boss. Your longevity in any company is mostly dependent on your immediate boss. If he is good and supportive, you would naturally love your job more and put in more effort for the company. If the immediate boss is an a**hole, you would be dragging your feet to work and hoping times passes by quickly. So true 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 On a serious note and on the topic of loyalty to a company... Been in my current workplace for close to 6 years, even longer if you consider it's a place i rejoined after having left as a junior designer many many years ago. Wanted to try out the agency life, so i did and managed to rise to AD level in a couple of years. Life in agency wasn't so rosy, stress levels shot up and health went down, so i took a hiatus for a year. Believe me, back then, there were a few times i will wake up in the middle of the night thinking i'm late for work... But life has a way of making things work out, as my previous boss (who is an awesome boss btw) reached out to me and after getting me on as a freelancer, hired me full time after my freelance contract ended. I have stayed in the same company ever since, pay is decent and while my peers in the same line can easily make more $$$, i value my time a lot more now. In an industry where long hours and weekend stand-bys are the norm, i get to go home on time everyday and spend time with friends and family instead. And I don't dread going to work. And this i realised "work/life balance" was what i really wanted in life. So if a job why not? A few have questioned me why don't i leave for "greener" pastures and truth be told, at times, i did question myself too. With my experience, why not leave for more $$$ elsewhere. But still i stayed on... and blessed again this year, i was made partner of the firm. can I vote this as your most serious and longest post in mcf over the years? other than those f** pap ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...