Worst interview moment?

Runforyourlife

FD also like that, banks prefer to give new clients better rate than give the better rates to their existing clients when FD is due for rollover. They want fresh funds. Till today I never understand this logic.......

you need to go to bank to renew the FD to enjoy the promotion rate. 

so far i have no issues with 2 local banks 

Edited by lausai88

To add, on existing staff, customers getting a lousier deal.....

FD also like that, banks prefer to give new clients better rate than give the better rates to their existing clients when FD is due for rollover. They want fresh funds. Till today I never understand this logic.......

Ya lor, notice the banks offer better rates for fresh funds, very strange policy leh

Alot of people will go back to somewhere familiar, so even if they know new customers getting better rates, they might still stick with the same bank cuz of familiarity. So I guess they just keep acquiring new clients knowing that majority will continue to stick with them after that.

I was not a job hopper too.  Had been in the same job for slight more than 10 yrs.

Last year, there was a opening for a bigger role.  I jumped at it.

Don't feel that you are stuck.  Always look out.

i have been working in my present company for about 17 years liow .... now at 45 and no paper qual, its almost impossible to go anywhere else ... and get the same pay.

over the years, tried to find other jobs ... and just citing what i desire most in the application forms - regular working hours.... but .... refer to the underlined.

i have been working in my present company for about 17 years liow .... now at 45 and no paper qual, its almost impossible to go anywhere else ... and get the same pay.

over the years, tried to find other jobs ... and just citing what i desire most in the application forms - regular working hours.... but .... refer to the underlined.

I think that is the problem that alot of the middle-aged people are facing now. My mum also worked her way up with no qualifications. Hard to get a job anywhere with the same pay cuz now everyone looks at qualifications first.

I don't really like my job... but boh bian, still need that $ to put food on table...

Everyday just work. ... and just looking forward to getting pay every month...

Should let the money work for you not you work for the money.

You have greater endurance than me...I'd quit past jobs swiftly even when the perks were great at those times.

One must like what the job entails to last...even though the co-workers sometimes can be a (fill your choice of body organ here). Just be professional n enjoy the one-third of your precious day as best as you could.

I recall when I first entered the workforce, I told the interviewer it's my passion to work in this industry. He said 'passion can 当饭吃?'

I ended the interview with some nasty words for the director.

No prizes if I got the job or not :D

Looong time ago, when I was in my mid 20's, I went for an interview... Waited for more than 2 hours and was a bit pissed off... When the interviewer came in, he looks very rush and ask my " dont waste my time, give me a reason why should i give you this job" and my answer to him.... " if this is just a job, dont waste my time, Im looking for a career" he hear the words and just walk off even without a handshake... However, few days later, I was offer the job  :blink:  :blink:  :blink: 

• Praise 12

I think that is the problem that alot of the middle-aged people are facing now. My mum also worked her way up with no qualifications. Hard to get a job anywhere with the same pay cuz now everyone looks at qualifications first.

At this age, paper qual also no use. Only those with good networking and the right experience will be head hunted or got chance to get interview via recommendations or referrals.

Gotten some experience myself too.

Went for some interview and was told no experience and expected pay too high.

The moment i hear this, my whole attitude toward the interview session will become a chit chat session with a stranger liao..

Wasting everyone time just to get told no experience and asking pay too high.

Can't even bother to read the CV submitted then why bother to arrange the interview? :a-bang:  :a-bang:

L23 sounds like the name for some exotic pleco...

at least u chit chat with the stranger, i ji tao want to leave liao... wasted my precious annual leave and make me happy for nothing.

the firm i went to was a local consultancy firm near telok ayer. last time no downtown line so must walk down from raffles place mrt. far and hot and kns waste my time!

At this age, paper qual also no use. Only those with good networking and the right experience will be head hunted or got chance to get interview via recommendations or referrals.

Another problem is now everyone looking for people with working experience. When I was looking for a job, I hardly saw any adverts that say no working experience is ok. All asked for at least 2-3 years experience. How to get working experience as a fresh grad? Lol. I ended up saying I got 2 years experience. During the interview, I revealed to the interviewer that my working experience is NS.  [laugh]

How did you..!! I am speechless !! Or maybe I am just an idiot at navigating the revamped interface lol .. Geez thanks!!

Wow.. its certainly a treat to read my own post and savour those memories [thumbsup]  

wasted , no pic .......... 

Give you a clue, she was one of the contestant for Miss Singapore Universe 200X .. Yes, I was pretty mesmerised back then and had a chat with my best friend google

L23 sounds like the name for some exotic pleco...

at least u chit chat with the stranger, i ji tao want to leave liao... wasted my precious annual leave and make me happy for nothing.

the firm i went to was a local consultancy firm near telok ayer. last time no downtown line so must walk down from raffles place mrt. far and hot and kns waste my time!

What to do... 

Already there liao.. 

Just fully utilize the time there lo..

Who know thru the conversation i able to fish out some impt information which might be useful to me... 

play on human nature of being comfortable and resistant to change

majority will not want to change and will stay whether u pay them lower or higher

so why pay higher?

those who want to leave will leave anyway 

flawed but tat's reality

very flawed.  they shld be thinking on broader perspective.  if they reward the old, the old will bring in the best to work for them or be a customer to the company.  And this creates an ecosystem where everyone support each other and the company

I have attended many sales talks before and they always ask us to acquire new customers. Reason is majority of the people will buy again if they are already your client. I guess people like familiarity, so they will pay even if they don't get the same deal as new customers.

How did you..!! I am speechless !! Or maybe I am just an idiot at navigating the revamped interface lol .. Geez thanks!!

Wow.. its certainly a treat to read my own post and savour those memories [thumbsup]  

Filtered by your nick and the term "cold water".

I have attended many sales talks before and they always ask us to acquire new customers. Reason is majority of the people will buy again if they are already your client. I guess people like familiarity, so they will pay even if they don't get the same deal as new customers.

I guess that makes sense if the companies in the industry have a big difference in service levels but for fixed deposits?

All I want is the interest! Let me renew my fixed deposit online and give me the same good rates as "fresh funds". BTW, this "fresh funds" concept is kinda lame. Most of the time I just transfer out the money via IB to another bank and get it out again as a cashier's order.