Worst interview moment?

Runforyourlife

Wah lau. You just described me (in terms of looks)..... I was recently looking to move into commodities trading but failed to secure any interviews so had to settle for something else. Thankfully you didn't interview me otherwise my story could be here now  [dead]

But I think my personality is quite aggressive lol.

You mean the former or latter? [:)]  No offence, I am just generalizing looks for easy visualisation.. lol  

Give you a tip.. aim to be a paratrooper when trying to secure commos interview, you gotta network around and try to wriggle your way in bro .. and btw, I am doing stocks now, used to do commos but its a dead market now boy [bigcry]

MCF mostly are garfields? cannot be right, surely there are andy laus like me? :D :D :D

Wa lau, don't underestimate our community leh.. There's so many yandao kias here.. You also have your fair share of jocks, geeks, tek kos and ba zhangs, and of cos, the hybrids

hybrids..........

wonder interview form put simi gender.

When I mention hybrids, I mean

Yandao Jock

Yandao Geek

Geeky tek ko

Geeky Bazhang

Yandao Bazhang (Yes, they do exist)

etc, etc and all the other possible combinations

I am not so zek ark to imply that there are ah kuas here leh

You mean the former or latter? [:)]  No offence, I am just generalizing looks for easy visualisation.. lol  

Give you a tip.. aim to be a paratrooper when trying to secure commos interview, you gotta network around and try to wriggle your way in bro .. and btw, I am doing stocks now, used to do commos but its a dead market now boy [bigcry]

Wa lau, don't underestimate our community leh.. There's so many yandao kias here.. You also have your fair share of jocks, geeks, tek kos and ba zhangs, and of cos, the hybrids

The former  [bigcry]  [bigcry]  [bigcry]

Need to lose a fair amount of weight but it is damn tough!

Thanks for the advice but I don't think I will be able to break into it based on my background experience - that's why I gave up.

Edited by Kusje

Runforyourlife, on 17 Feb 2016 - 5:25 PM, said:

hybrids..........

wonder interview form put simi gender.

like the joke

Name :  Ah Meng

Sex :  3 x a week

The former  [bigcry]  [bigcry]  [bigcry]

Need to lose a fair amount of weight but it is damn tough!

Thanks for the advice but I don't think I will be able to break into it based on my background experience - that's why I gave up.

Try to squirrel some time off to workout during lunch breaks if you happen to work around a gym, or go on a no sugar and low carb diet.. its not hard to keep up once you see results and I assure you, it will be quick  

Looong time ago, when I was in my mid 20's, I went for an interview... Waited for more than 2 hours and was a bit pissed off... When the interviewer came in, he looks very rush and ask my " dont waste my time, give me a reason why should i give you this job" and my answer to him.... " if this is just a job, dont waste my time, Im looking for a career" he hear the words and just walk off even without a handshake... However, few days later, I was offer the job  :blink:  :blink:  :blink:

They need someone to fill the position badly.

At this age, paper qual also no use. Only those with good networking and the right experience will be head hunted or got chance to get interview via recommendations or referrals.

Agree.

Go to NUS or NTU, there are too many foreign PhD students.

Education has been inflated and not as valuable as before. 

About 17 years ago, i went for an interview for big 4 audit firm. The interviewer was nasty enough to pick on my grades for certain subjects (scoring c grade) and labeled me technically weak. Towards the end of the interview he asked if i willing to invest more time to brush up my technical skills. During then the rash and impetuous youngster in me purposely turn it down as i feel i am not technically weak. I was not offered the job as well. But today, with the benefit of hindsight, i regret my candidness which perhaps limited my career moves. I should have eaten the humble pie even though i disagree with what he said.

The other point about whether to state one's salary expectation, i feel if one tend to ask the higher end of salary, it is better to put it down in the resume and vice versa. Simple reason being it helps the high salary askers to auto filter out the low paying company. Similarly, if the job hunter is asking for the lower range of salary, it is better to reveal your asking until you are offered the job. By then you may be able to ask for more.

No prospective interviewer will like what you did, indicating that you want only regular working hours in the application form. This kind of thing should be discussed only during the interview or at a later stage when they offer you the position.

By doing this, you are shutting down the door on yourself.

i am just being honest and no point going for an interview and wasting my time if its not what i am looking for right ? if i am still required to work irregular hours still, might as well stay put at my current job. I actually interviewed my staff and during the interview they will tell me they are workhorse ... but after a while all pom-chet ... and end up leaving coz they cannot fulfil what they "promised".

like what some say about pay ... just put it down ... don't spend so much time interview and in the end, offer you half of what you are thinking about ... waste parking coupon also.

lastly, i just dun understand why there is a law for hiring ... eg cannot put age, sex, nationality ... TAFEP is all up to the employers ... you write in then the filter will take effect ... if walk-in, end up wasting time if the employer already had his requirements in mind.

For senior role, the payscale or budget can be highly flexible. So, if you have put down your asking price too early without first understanding in depth at the interview, you risk shortchanging yourself.

I dont quite agree that there are many jobs where pay scale are still flexible and yet they filter you out for asking higher than your competitors for the job. The fact they filter you out means they not willing to pay and betting on their change of heart when they have few candidates to choose from is overly hopeful. Saving yourself time and effort over low success rate interview is hardly shortchanging yourself.

Give you a tip.. aim to be a paratrooper when trying to secure commos interview

It's usually the case when you want to switch industry. But paratrooping into a position means getting into s h i t and knife fights even if you try and avoid. It's inevitable because people will "red eye"

They need someone to fill the position badly.

No, not really, 1st few months were really honeymoon. I ask my boss why am I recruited when I get to know him better. He said I sound confident and the answer is short and sharp... LOL... Inside my heart, I was thinking, knn, my face really so plastic meh? can even cover my unhappiness so well!

waaa you know some KR cosmetic surgeons well ???