Enye Hypersonic February 18, 2016 Share February 18, 2016 Enye, my friend was the one who committed suicide after failing to break bond with the SAF. He really didn't need the scholarship for the army, but signing on at the age of 19 is not a good idea. Since regular MO is almost 100% staff jobs. Sigh... sad for his parents and loved ones 为什么想不开? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear February 18, 2016 Author Share February 18, 2016 nah. I said during the interview, I'm just here to try try niah (get a morning break from BMT schedule and go canteen break ) maj(dr)? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 18, 2016 Share February 18, 2016 sad for his parents and loved ones 为什么想不开? sometimes life too smooth sailing for you, also doesn't allow u to build up emotional resilience. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 18, 2016 Share February 18, 2016 sometimes life too smooth sailing for you, also doesn't allow u to build up emotional resilience. exactly bro. When i give lectures on the path i went through i always end with: 'wht does not kill you, makes you stronger' and i hoped those i educate will pick at least that part on resilience 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic February 18, 2016 Share February 18, 2016 Myself have not gone thru too many interviews. Only into my third job since graduating from poly. First one was with SAF. Damn the interviewer. It was a group interview!!! Ten of us inside the interviewer's office at CMPB. All that are present are hired. But damn weird to introduce yourself in front of 9 other interviewees. The best part was the interviewer ask us if we got VCD to lend him. He say sure return one when we enlist. Next was after I left SAF. Was called for interview at a big company with nice view of marina bay. First round was with HR and hiring manager. They happy with me but said depends on the Technical Director. So I need to be interviewed by him. He was a busy man. I was asked by him to seat in front of his desk. He never spoke a word to me. He made me seat at his desk for one hour!!! All the time there were others coming up to him asking about this and that. There was something happen to one of their vessels and they were busy arranging this and that. After one hour, he asked me if I know what was going on and what had happened to the vessel. What needs to be rectified. I was glad I was observant and able to give him a complete answer. Then he just said good. You are hired. Like that also can!!! HR then asked me to go back. The next day, HR called and said the MD wants to have a chat with me. MD is flying off and only available that very afternoon, ask me go to their office. Lucky I was clearing two months leave so got time. Met the MD and he showed me around the office. I told him I just left RSN and zero experience with commercial vessel. He was assuring to tell me its ok, I can work my way up. I was applying for a junior position only and I got the MD to bring me around the office!!! He was happy with me and told HR to arrange the appointment letter. In the end, I did not take up the job offer. Cos there was another job offer came up which really helped me gain lots of technical experience. The HR was surprised too that I chose to work in a shipyard then joining them in the aircon office with a nice view of Marina Bay. Yes, I preferred to be a blue collar worker to really work the ground and know what it is like. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 18, 2016 Share February 18, 2016 young must gain experience in the field. Suffer one or two years also nothing much lah Myself have not gone thru too many interviews. Only into my third job since graduating from poly. First one was with SAF. Damn the interviewer. It was a group interview!!! Ten of us inside the interviewer's office at CMPB. All that are present are hired. But damn weird to introduce yourself in front of 9 other interviewees. The best part was the interviewer ask us if we got VCD to lend him. He say sure return one when we enlist. Next was after I left SAF. Was called for interview at a big company with nice view of marina bay. First round was with HR and hiring manager. They happy with me but said depends on the Technical Director. So I need to be interviewed by him. He was a busy man. I was asked by him to seat in front of his desk. He never spoke a word to me. He made me seat at his desk for one hour!!! All the time there were others coming up to him asking about this and that. There was something happen to one of their vessels and they were busy arranging this and that. After one hour, he asked me if I know what was going on and what had happened to the vessel. What needs to be rectified. I was glad I was observant and able to give him a complete answer. Then he just said good. You are hired. Like that also can!!! HR then asked me to go back. The next day, HR called and said the MD wants to have a chat with me. MD is flying off and only available that very afternoon, ask me go to their office. Lucky I was clearing two months leave so got time. Met the MD and he showed me around the office. I told him I just left RSN and zero experience with commercial vessel. He was assuring to tell me its ok, I can work my way up. I was applying for a junior position only and I got the MD to bring me around the office!!! He was happy with me and told HR to arrange the appointment letter. In the end, I did not take up the job offer. Cos there was another job offer came up which really helped me gain lots of technical experience. The HR was surprised too that I chose to work in a shipyard then joining them in the aircon office with a nice view of Marina Bay. Yes, I preferred to be a blue collar worker to really work the ground and know what it is like. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic February 18, 2016 Share February 18, 2016 Woah...keke...very international Err...then ur gf pool also united nations de he bruff u lar. he look like bangla. even bangla say he more bangla den them. case close. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic February 18, 2016 Share February 18, 2016 he bruff u lar. he look like bangla. even bangla say he more bangla den them. case close. [laugh] [laugh] 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 18, 2016 Share February 18, 2016 Myself have not gone thru too many interviews. Only into my third job since graduating from poly. First one was with SAF. Damn the interviewer. It was a group interview!!! Ten of us inside the interviewer's office at CMPB. All that are present are hired. But damn weird to introduce yourself in front of 9 other interviewees. The best part was the interviewer ask us if we got VCD to lend him. He say sure return one when we enlist. Next was after I left SAF. Was called for interview at a big company with nice view of marina bay. First round was with HR and hiring manager. They happy with me but said depends on the Technical Director. So I need to be interviewed by him. He was a busy man. I was asked by him to seat in front of his desk. He never spoke a word to me. He made me seat at his desk for one hour!!! All the time there were others coming up to him asking about this and that. There was something happen to one of their vessels and they were busy arranging this and that. After one hour, he asked me if I know what was going on and what had happened to the vessel. What needs to be rectified. I was glad I was observant and able to give him a complete answer. Then he just said good. You are hired. Like that also can!!! HR then asked me to go back. The next day, HR called and said the MD wants to have a chat with me. MD is flying off and only available that very afternoon, ask me go to their office. Lucky I was clearing two months leave so got time. Met the MD and he showed me around the office. I told him I just left RSN and zero experience with commercial vessel. He was assuring to tell me its ok, I can work my way up. I was applying for a junior position only and I got the MD to bring me around the office!!! He was happy with me and told HR to arrange the appointment letter. In the end, I did not take up the job offer. Cos there was another job offer came up which really helped me gain lots of technical experience. The HR was surprised too that I chose to work in a shipyard then joining them in the aircon office with a nice view of Marina Bay. Yes, I preferred to be a blue collar worker to really work the ground and know what it is like. they seriously should reduce the number of repeat praises to 5 10 is bit too much we don't have that many people around so, 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 18, 2016 Share February 18, 2016 he bruff u lar. he look like bangla. even bangla say he more bangla den them. case close. muahahhaha...sri lankan too....pakistan...all also can lah.... you wait @porker sure post his fav poto of me...muahahahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 18, 2016 Share February 18, 2016 they seriously should reduce the number of repeat praises to 5 10 is bit too much we don't have that many people around so, agreed. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
danbytes Clutched February 18, 2016 Share February 18, 2016 a really awkward interview that is held in a cafe. were people looking you while you answer the interviewers questions. i'm not comfortable speaking when i know someone is watching me from the other side. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic February 18, 2016 Share February 18, 2016 sometimes life too smooth sailing for you, also doesn't allow u to build up emotional resilience.More of mental resilience than emotional I think Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 18, 2016 Share February 18, 2016 my best interview was a fully paid air ticket and hotel stay in HK, where the COO brought me around the island in taxi. i didn't get the job but i dun mind 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic February 18, 2016 Share February 18, 2016 a really awkward interview that is held in a cafe. were people looking you while you answer the interviewers questions. i'm not comfortable speaking when i know someone is watching me from the other side. lol no ah, y awkward? other ppl want to look at you meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 18, 2016 Share February 18, 2016 More of mental resilience than emotional I think ha not the same thing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged February 18, 2016 Share February 18, 2016 muahahhaha...sri lankan too....pakistan...all also can lah.... you wait porker sure post his fav poto of me...muahahahah Ask and you shall receive 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 18, 2016 Share February 18, 2016 my worst interview was 'interrogated' by 3 personnel more than 3 hours, i was only offer a drink by the 3rd personnel after talking for 2 hours ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...