Worst interview moment?

Runforyourlife

It's usually the case when you want to switch industry. But paratrooping into a position means getting into s h i t and knife fights even if you try and avoid. It's inevitable because people will "red eye"

About 17 years ago, i went for an interview for big 4 audit firm. The interviewer was nasty enough to pick on my grades for certain subjects (scoring c grade) and labeled me technically weak. Towards the end of the interview he asked if i willing to invest more time to brush up my technical skills. During then the rash and impetuous youngster in me purposely turn it down as i feel i am not technically weak. I was not offered the job as well. But today, with the benefit of hindsight, i regret my candidness which perhaps limited my career moves. I should have eaten the humble pie even though i disagree with what he said.

The other point about whether to state one's salary expectation, i feel if one tend to ask the higher end of salary, it is better to put it down in the resume and vice versa. Simple reason being it helps the high salary askers to auto filter out the low paying company. Similarly, if the job hunter is asking for the lower range of salary, it is better to reveal your asking until you are offered the job. By then you may be able to ask for more.

One shld have his/her own principal ... if you were not weak , no need to force it . of course just be polite . the big 4 also  kana lots of court cases before ma hehehe  something its all abt the right timing 

When I mention hybrids, I mean

Yandao Jock

Yandao Geek

Geeky tek ko

Geeky Bazhang

Yandao Bazhang (Yes, they do exist)

etc, etc and all the other possible combinations

I am not so zek ark to imply that there are ah kuas here leh

well lots of gay here u know ..........  im not saying who ......  kekeke 

Uh ah ah ah ah ah!~~~

:a-m1524: :a-m1524: :a-panic::a-handbags:

Add further

position applied: Doggy/Missionary

Address: Either party also can

Salary Expected: Yes

:grin:

It's usually the case when you want to switch industry. But paratrooping into a position means getting into s h i t and knife fights even if you try and avoid. It's inevitable because people will "red eye"

Ran out of praises. This is brilliant hahahaha

oh i forgot

Race: Human

Birthday: Tuesday

Shd be ethnicity.... :XD:

As i look a confused color tone, ppl always ask me Race, and i reply, human.

oh i forgot

Confirm dio the job. If they ask you why u put your details this way, just ask them "which part do you not understand?" Ha!

No, not really, 1st few months were really honeymoon. I ask my boss why am I recruited when I get to know him better. He said I sound confident and the answer is short and sharp... LOL... Inside my heart, I was thinking, knn, my face really so plastic meh? can even cover my unhappiness so well!

like this? :grin:

poll-bmt-face.jpg

oh i forgot

U got mixed ethnicity huh?

Wah lau. You just described me (in terms of looks)..... I was recently looking to move into commodities trading but failed to secure any interviews so had to settle for something else. Thankfully you didn't interview me otherwise my story could be here now  [dead]

But I think my personality is quite aggressive lol.

It's not so easy to move into commod trading unless: 

1) you are ivy league and have superior interviewing techniques

2) you have a retired father who used to be commod trader and still has the contacts if you are not (1)

3) you are the IT personnel supporting the trading desk, and the Head of Desk happens to like you if not (1) and (2)

4) Some freaky lucky moments

It's good not to job hop and become a specialist at what you are doing for a long time.

You should be earning quite substantially now with your loyalty and becoming a subject expert in your role.

I hope I am not putting a wet blanket over some of you. Loyalty don't pay in today's world. Since we started with the jargon called 'restructuring'. You will be phased out if you have no contributing value to an organisation regardless of your length of service.

There are still some employees who think 'as long as I don't make mistakes and continue doing my works, I will not be removed and get my yearly increment', This is not only not true, even if you perform, you can be removed.

It is all about what kind of values you brings to the company. Do they need you more than you need them or you are just one of them.

The best performance worker may get 10% increment annually but he/she cannot be the best for every year. To attract a new 'high performance' new staff, you need to pay between 20-30% more than he/she last drawn salary. So, staying put isn't going to help much if you are not engaged in activities that improve your CV.

Of course you don't just job hop because of what I said. It is about opportunity and be focus of what is best for you. In any company, we do need staff of various calibres and characters. You cannot get someone with a high ambition to perform routine job. Then who will be doing that routine tasks?