Studied too much, stuck in an unstable dead-end job...how?

Zyklon

Thread Starter has 2-3 cars, one of them is a BMW.  Been able to spend $2K to $4K.  High spender.   Seems rich.  Perhaps he can retire already, and teach in the university part-time to pass time, and take up a hobby or do volunteer work. 

Why bother with a dead-end job?

LOL.... you very bad de ley, dig out all his post. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

TS clean up his seniors mess also want to complain.

My staff do it everyday and also never complain.

I give then $10 each time to keep them quiet.

Each of them must have got a few hundred by now.

:)

Bro, you have fail as a Mgmt already lah, you shouldnt give  them extra monies for clearing the mess. You should let them know that you are giving them opportunities to learn, gain experience, enhance their knowledge. Its part of the effort you put in term to groom them up mah.

Without all these "opportunities", how to know whether they can make it or not? Tell them, Promotion and reward is not given to someone that can handle their job well!  Its for those who can handle crisis, take challenge, solve problem (in short, clean up your mess lah)

In the end of the day, when they get out of your office, they should feel grateful of having the opportunities to clean up the mess for you and buy you lunch. Not the other way round! :XD::relief::secret-laugh::psychotic:

Edited by Tigershark1976
  • Praise 11

Thanks for all the relevant comments.

To be honest, the one that sounded the most useful to me was Jamesc, simply reminding me about not having true values to companies.

I also agree with TS. You all come here to bash and mock the TS and only

I came here to give useful advice. Just because I post in a funny and entertaining

way doesn't mean my post is without substance. 

Anyway to discuss dead end jobs and career advancement TS has to understand the

concept of specialisation and generalisation. Specialisation make it harder for a person

rise up the corporate ladder and when TS did his Phd he just entranced himself more in

a dead end job. Take for example a person that can operate a million dollar machine and

is the only one. The MD is not going to swap jobs with him just because he has such a 

special skill. Chances are he will be stuck there until either he or the million dollar machine

is not needed anymore. If a person is the foremost researcher in cell membrane, chances

are he will be stuck in research and the more he researches the more he will be acknowledged

as the expert and the less he will be climbing the corporate ladder because he will be just too

valuable as a researcher and cannot be moved anywhere else.

To climb the corporate ladder you have to be a generalist and not a specialist. The fact is the

less a person knows the higher he will go. That's why the people at the top know absolutely

nothing and that's why a lot of them are idiots.

An MD may know about finance but financial matter will be handled by the finance director.

An MD may know logistics but all the logistic matters will be dealt with by the logistics director.

Take shipping schedules for example, the expert in this will be the specialist and not even the logistics director and the MD will know nothing of the shipping schedules especially if he is the MD 

of a shipping company.

If a person is acknowledged as the expert in problem solving and clearing up messes they

will never be promoted to higher management. This is because they will be too busy clearing

up the mess and have no time to be in top management who are busy creating the mess

in the first place.

I myself am trying very hard to loose the tag as a problem solver so I can be promoted to higher

management to be a problem creator. And the faster way to be promoted is to know nothing.

That is why everyday I am shouting at the top of my voice for everyone to hear -

"I know nothing, I know nothing" and I can honestly tell you I say this with absolutely no sense of any false modesty.

• Praise 17

Well said Jamesc. I totally agreed with you. If you are too specialized you will end up doing what you specialise in. A generalist who know everything but master of none is always more welcome in corporate world. All these have to learn thru experience. It is hard to explain until you become the "idiot" who earn higher pay than the rest. But dun give up yet. I am looking for engineer. I will groom you to become idiot like myself

I came here to give useful advice. Just because I post in a funny and entertaining

concept of specialisation and generalisation. Specialisation make it harder for a person

rise up the corporate ladder and when TS did his Phd he just entranced himself more in

a dead end job. Take for example a person that can operate a million dollar machine and

is the only one. The MD is not going to swap jobs with him just because he has such a

special skill. Chances are he will be stuck there until either he or the million dollar machine

is not needed anymore. If a person is the foremost researcher in cell membrane, chances

are he will be stuck in research and the more he researches the more he will be acknowledged

as the expert and the less he will be climbing the corporate ladder because he will be just too

To climb the corporate ladder you have to be a generalist and not a specialist. The fact is the

less a person knows the higher he will go. That's why the people at the top know absolutely

An MD may know about finance but financial matter will be handled by the finance director.

An MD may know logistics but all the logistic matters will be dealt with by the logistics director.

Take shipping schedules for example, the expert in this will be the specialist and not even the logistics director and the MD will know nothing of the shipping schedules especially if he is the MD

of a shipping company.

If a person is acknowledged as the expert in problem solving and clearing up messes they

will never be promoted to higher management. This is because they will be too busy clearing

up the mess and have no time to be in top management who are busy creating the mess

in the first place.

I myself am trying very hard to loose the tag as a problem solver so I can be promoted to higher

management to be a problem creator. And the faster way to be promoted is to know nothing.

That is why everyday I am shouting at the top of my voice for everyone to hear -

"I know nothing, I know nothing" and I can honestly tell you I say this with absolutely no sense of any false modesty.

of a shipping company.

in the first place.

I vote this as "Post of the Year".

I started off as bachelor

Then I have 2 MBAs (married by accident+married but available)

Now PhD (permenant head demage)....Heng not Probably Heading for Divorce

You mentioned this "married but available" here very dangerous hor... dont say never warn you 1st... :ninja:

Hearsay @Porker can look like Shu Qi from a certain angle, right @Turboflat4?

Shu Qi i only know like airport runaway... :gangs:

I started off as bachelor

Then I have 2 MBAs (married by accident+married but available)

Now PhD (permenant head demage)....Heng not Probably Heading for Divorce

Marries by misfired hahaha

Angcheek, on 26 May 2016 - 12:35 AM, said:

Marries by misfired hahaha

lol

guys...joking wan hor..

pls don't take too word for word/serious on what I post hor  [angel]

You mentioned this "married but available" here very dangerous hor... dont say never warn you 1st... :ninja:

Shu Qi i only know like airport runaway... :gangs:

Then @Porker is an upgrade cos he's no runway...

@staff69 MTL!!!

Then @Porker is an upgrade cos he's no runway...

@staff69 MTL!!!

he too hunk of a man for me plus tb4 has a permanent parking lot up his as

lol

guys...joking wan hor..

pls don't take too word for word/serious on what I post hor [angel]

Hahah lucky ur wife not reading kekek

Dont worry i wont tell her

I agree; the more you know, the more you do, and thus the more mistakes you will make.  So just arrow or taiji to the people who know.

for those who are currently searching for a job, feel free to contact me.

The company is still hiring but only Singapore citizens only.

for those who are currently searching for a job, feel free to contact me.

The company is still hiring but only Singapore citizens only.

Can I apply? :D

Maybe post more details about the job vacancies?

Can I apply?  :D

Maybe post more details about the job vacancies salary package? JD can wait :grin:

Can I apply? :D

Maybe post more details about the job vacancies?