Mercedes Owners Thread

therock

C43 AMG => Get the result

Porky Gayman => Enjoy the process.

For Gayman, i think option list is different btw non-S & S.  Better stay away from Non-S.

porky is a a Gay man?

Would like to ask the opinion of the more experienced guys here. Given the similar price point, would you guys get the new C43 AMG or the base model Cayman?

Is the price point similar? I thought the C43 was a tad more ex - about 10k+?

Anyway, I have not driven the Cayman. But I have driven the C43.

Wasn't too impressed. The car simply doesn't feel urgent enough. Let me wanting a lot more.

Between those two, I would seriously look at the Porsche - but again, I need to drive the Cayman to be sure. While I have lots of experience with DCTs in general, I have to confess I have limited experience with the PDK. I have tested a RUF 3800S with a DCT, but I'm not sure if it's equivalent to the PDK you get in a Porsche badged car. Still, a DCT transmission of any sort is still preferable to an auto (the C43 has a nine-speed auto).

Honestly, the C43 is considered an AMG-lite, not a fully-fledged AMG as such. The engine itself is not made at Affalterbach. In that sense, it is similar to my BMW M140i (the "M performance" line, informally considered "M-lite"). And now I'm going to make a pitch for my car or the close cousin, the M240i. Even though they're down on raw power compared to the C43, they also weigh less so the power:weight is actually higher on the Bimmers. Try driving one of these - they're quicker than an M2 in a straight line at legal speeds (and a bit above). Even though the transmission is also a torque converter auto, it's the practically bulletproof ZF 8-speed, which I love. Seriously, if you're thinking of the C43, get one of these and save yourself nearly 100k and put a bigger smile on your face.

Thank you guys for your comments. A lot of food for thought. I have yet to try the M2, will definitely add it to the list. 

Suddenly we talking about AMGs, Ms and Porkies?

Dont leh. Give chance leh

What about a basic GLC for family.

Entry level SUV for singapore use purely.

Thank you guys for your comments. A lot of food for thought. I have yet to try the M2, will definitely add it to the list.

You should, but also try the new M140i and M240i. M2 uses the great but older N55 engine, the M(x)40i cars use the new B58 engine. It's very nice. I have had a car (the M135i) with the N55 engine, so I can tell you that this new engine is significantly torquier.

Third party testing consistently shows the M(x)40i cars to be quicker in a straight line to at least 100km/h than the M2.

Thanks Turboflat4. Will go try the different models. Some time ago, I did try the M135 and the A45 AMG back to back. That time, I felt that the A45 was a better car in terms of handling and sheer power. Unfortunately, something cropped up and could not proceed further than just test driving. 

comfortable can liao no need to dress for ppl to see.. 

two new recent incidents. went to jag in worn singlet and short and slipper. they dont even bother to approach me and when i ask for help. the recep told me all sales engaged. i walked out.. maybe they never see my car which is parked nearer to infinity

second incident ..same attire.. the staff standing at the entrance see me. come and ask me. "hello what you wan? take number join the Q there.." cant he be more polite. then i reply.. "sorry i looking for the premium banking entrance and my banker." 

Wah 100degree change.." Sir , this way please... i show you the way.' open door for me show me to the sofa and ask me what drink i want. "  go fly kite.

btw i am not rich i am just upper middle income. but i dont human should be so superficial.

i actually found a place that does the opposite

the nicer you wear, the more they look down

the more low class you wear, the more they look up 

where?

It is not about dressing up to the nines for people to see.

Being neat tidy and dressing correctly is being respectful to yourself and others.

It is also about personal grooming and hygiene.

Neat and tidy is also comfortable.

There is not need to wear branded clothings with the logo plastered everywhere.

Some showoff people dont even know the right way to wear a suit!!?

But worned singlet shorts and slippers is not very nice lah.

By the way, Premier banking require how much minimum ah?

I totally agree with you. When he dress so ugly, its already a big turnoff and yet he said that the sales staff not interested to serve?

If a person who does not even make effort to put on decent pieces of clothing respect others, he should not expect much at all

乞丐帮 (Beggar's Clan)?

Wudang, Shaolin, etc

I must confess. I wore bermudas, t shirt and nsm sports shoes to test drive... and makan free food.. ok leh..nobody look up noboby look down.. but must say Merc and BMW SE  not chio....

same lo...haha who cares much anw..i m happy can liao right? 

ya most SE from the 2 contis not chio...only 1 or 2 in MB and maybe 2 in BM chio lo....tats abt it!!!

got 1 i saw lao chio...cougar type..keke

same lo...haha who cares much anw..i m happy can liao right?

ya most SE from the 2 contis not chio...only 1 or 2 in MB and maybe 2 in BM chio lo....tats abt it!!!

got 1 i saw lao chio...cougar type..keke

Not chio better. More discount.

Chio means all blood rush into little head, and you'll be giving her "discount" (extra comm). :D

Not chio better. More discount.

Chio means all blood rush into little head, and you'll be giving her "discount" (extra comm). :D

cfm and agree totally!!! 

I will look for guy SE lo...keke...anw intro by fren la...connected!

some tiko one will look for chio and give her much discounts la...reverse type...special discounts!!!

Quite out of topic for a Mercedes thread

But I have been buying cars for a long time, and the honest truth is the sales execs don't really give two cents how you dress or how you look

they know that dressing is no indicator of whether you have money to buy

More importantly to them, is whether you are a serious buyer or not

Can afford to buy - does not equal serious to buy

what this means is you could have $1 million dollar cash in your bank, but if you are not seriously looking to buy, they can feel it - and will not treat you as a serious buyer

to them there is an opportunity cost to attending to someone who is just looking around vs someone who is ready to buy

the one who is ready buy gives out different signals and asks different questions

for those who don't know, the SE at the showroom goes by queue system. this means they take the walk in customer by turn

so if their turn comes, and you just look look see see and they feel it, they will feel peeved because they wasted their turn. And some days they might only have 1 turn that day

if we understand that this is their livelihood , then we can empathize why they dont serve you whole heartedly if you not buying. Not great for the customer but understandable

so this how you dress issue is in your head 

* titbit: the place you seriously will feel sales staff see you no up is in designer boutiques when there are PRC China buyers - and there is you. It won't be because of your dressing but it is because the SE knows China buyers are going to buy 5 handbags, and you going to check price, haha. So again they will pick the customer who is going to make them more commissions

Edited by Aventador

I think most of us are fully aware of the systems and what the SE is looking for

Its the same when you go to property showroom.

ie. queue system for agents. And there is a $ sign on the customers forehead.

However, a person who doesnt buy today may buy another day. So sales people show never just size people up and think that is it.

In any case and ultimately the point we are making is about simply dressing appropriately and being considerate to the event or occasion.

Not about sizing up ir being sized up

Not just car showroom but all other instances.

Again theres no need to dress specially to the nines, only just neat and tidy.

It is just a bit of self respect and courtesy.

Very simple. Nothing complicated.

Edited by Throttle2

Quite out of topic for a Mercedes thread

But I have been buying cars for a long time, and the honest truth is the sales execs don't really give two cents how you dress or how you look

they know that dressing is no indicator of whether you have money to buy

More importantly to them, is whether you are a serious buyer or not

Can afford to buy - does not equal serious to buy

what this means is you could have $1 million dollar cash in your bank, but if you are not seriously looking to buy, they can feel it - and will not treat you as a serious buyer

to them there is an opportunity cost to attending to someone who is just looking around vs someone who is ready to buy

the one who is ready buy gives out different signals and asks different questions

for those who don't know, the SE at the showroom goes by queue system. this means they take the walk in customer by turn

so if their turn comes, and you just look look see see and they feel it, they will feel peeved because they wasted their turn. And some days they might only have 1 turn that day

if we understand that this is their livelihood , then we can empathize why they dont serve you whole heartedly if you not buying. Not great for the customer but understandable

so this how you dress issue is in your head

* titbit: the place you seriously will feel sales staff see you no up is in designer boutiques when there are PRC China buyers - and there is you. It won't be because of your dressing but it is because the SE knows China buyers are going to buy 5 handbags, and you going to check price, haha. So again they will pick the customer who is going to make them more commissions

If the SE has only 1 turn that day, even if the signals show it's just a look see customer, it's still not right to show that bochap attitude.

Words get around. This attitude will get remembered. In sales or any industry, one's reputation is important.. Especially when one is commission based.

If the SE has only 1 turn that day, even if the signals show it's just a look see customer, it's still not right to show that bochap attitude.

Words get around. This attitude will get remembered. In sales or any industry, one's reputation is important.. Especially when one is commission based.

you are right on SE shouldn't show bochup attitude. But frankly unless you go on a turbo smear campaign of the SE, the "word" won't get around that much either. The SEs know this and it's not going to stop him/her from serving the next customer due to the queue system. The most he/she gets is slightly less referrals. After all, how many friends can you refer to buy a car anyway? =/

I agree with you.

But we are digressing even further. Am not going to go into correct sales attitude in a Mercedes owner thread.

My only point is that it is not the customer dressing that causes this bochap attitude.