COE bidding - 2nd round of Feb 2017 delayed with change

wdldalian

For potential buyers on the verge of buying, does it make sense to lock in prices now (esp for guaranteed coe bidding) before the announcement ?
Its a gamble but I reckon the chances are the announcement will not be beneficial to buyers. 

Since when coe system beneficial to buyers? Lol.

Don't we love staying and living in sillyapore. Doubt will be good news to all new car buyers.   :a-bang:

i like this word: sillyapore, maybe the impact is big, surely will affect two sides: the sellers and the buyers. It could be:

1. The usage cost of a car will be increase by a big percentage, maybe through petrol/desiel tax, maybe through high road tax, but this is very likely to happen.

2. The loan scheme will be changed to 20% 10 years, this is needed to power up the economy.

3. Car category definition maybe changed as well.

4. CEO categories will be modified by accommodating the requirements from uber/grab/taxi companies etc.

5. Car ARF change? maybe reduced? will be a big question mark.

6. Include car loan affordability check before you get any loan? maybe some figure change.

... to be add on ...

What about those buyers who brought recently like me? Carparks rates already increased, ERP recently went up at certain gantries. What else now?

Since when coe system beneficial to buyers? Lol.

when they made a mistake on growth rate from 2007-2009 and COE was super low for years

so many years you all still don't understand the govt meh?

delay so that people can rush in before the changes start

long queues overnight at showrooms coming again

this scenario very high chance

this is more exciting than the Presidential Erection news  :D

It would have to be quite earth shaking for the Govt not to have pre-warned the major stake holders ( car dealers and banks) prior to announcement. Even need to give them a few days to digest and collaborate cooperate  [sly]

very unusual indeed. 

I suspect it may lead to very different reactions, may take sometime for all to find the mid point in a mixed market. Even then what follows may still need adjustment within the market. Monday will see a bomb drop and troops running ard to find counter attack direction. 

Those placed orders with guaranteed bids have no worries, it is contracted already, worst case wait out until last bid to collect car. Is those under non-guarantee bids and those waiting on the side line waiting for durian to drop, these grps may have to react accordingly.

But we cannot write anything off too early, who knows durian may finally drop, and these are the ones having the last laugh.   [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Lai liao lai liao. Everybody waiting for Monday...

My take -

Probable:

Diesel tax, or at least disincentives.

In addition, incentives for hybrids. Maybe an amendment to CEVS to give more advantages to hybrid/electric cars.

Maybe:

Drop the 130bhp Cat A COE. Clearly that has been a failure so I don't see any point in continuing this.

Maybe realignment of COE categories, perhaps no more based on engine size. This one not sure but could make sense.

Also maybe restructure of road tax?  Could be a lead on from dropping the road tax disc. Perhaps road tax may be a variable component based on age and fuel type, among other factors.

Of course it's all speculation only la. We shall see.

Not forgetting satellite erp implementation date is near. But doesn't look very likely at the moment.

Most likely moving PH bids or regulations for PH car registration and use.

I believe that not all new implements are immediate. Just to let potential buyers to have more time to decide from next tues to thur

For example.

New on Car above 130 bhp to be classifled category B was announced in sept 2013 but effective on Feb 2014.

I also guess govt might change the rebate for OPC. maybe from 17k to 30k or 35k?

[smash]

I believe that not all new implements are immediate. Just to let potential buyers to have more time to decide from next tues to thur

For example.

New on Car above 130 bhp to be classifled category B was announced in sept 2013 but effective on Feb 2014.

I also guess govt might change the rebate for OPC. maybe from 17k to 30k or 35k?

[smash]

Higher OPC to 30K? actually it is a good news for low income families, cars maybe affordable if only use in OPC.

"change the rebate for OPC. maybe from 17k to 30k or 35k"

Good strategy to increase demand and push up COE!!!

For example.

[smash]

If increase rebate for OPC, @radx will dig out all the OPC threads, merge them all, and post one last post " KNNBCCB OPC" and lock it forever.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh] x 10000000000000

actually if increase rebate for OPC not bad leh, can genuinely reduce traffic during peak periods and more people can own a car.

Win win imo.

how can more people own a car? quota remains the same whether rebate up or not

If increase rebate for OPC, @radx will dig out all the OPC threads, merge them all, and post one last post " KNNBCCB OPC" and lock it forever.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh] x 10000000000000

LOL

why he so emo OPC

btw i seldom see OPC nowadays

my take is most likely quota reduce for growth, CEVS to include in more pollupants to discourage sales of diesel, change in opc scheme (maybe shift in timing, increase in discount etc) and the worst case is increase in petrol tax yet again...

could also include not allowing uber/grab to bid for coe.. 

jin exciting man..hahah