2017 Apple iPhone 8 & iPhone X

I wanted to get iphone x but its very expensive and not practical to buy. what do you think?

So what answer so you expect for this kind of question?

You practically answered yourself already.

I wanted to get iphone x but its very expensive and not practical to buy. what do you think?

Do you take care of your phones well?

Or you are those kind who always drops the phone, misuse it, gets tired of old phones easily, etc?

If you can take care of it well and make it last for many years, then maybe worth it.

But if you only use it for 2 years because of misuse, tired of old techs easily, then spending more than SGD1,000 for usage only 2 years is not worth it at all.

Don't worry, you are not alone.

I am still asking this question myself before committing to buy.  ^_^

You mentioned that you thought the original Watch was a flop. And I pointed out that within a year... Apple claimed to be No. 2 in revenue after Rolex in the overall watch category...

This

Do you take care of your phones well?

Or you are those kind who always drops the phone, misuse it, gets tired of old phones easily, etc?

If you can take care of it well and make it last for many years, then maybe worth it.

But if you only use it for 2 years because of misuse, tired of old techs easily, then spending more than SGD1,000 for usage only 2 years is not worth it at all.

Don't worry, you are not alone.

I am still asking this question myself before committing to buy. ^_^

In terms of revenue.

It could be the price of each watch they sell, rather than the number of units they sell.

I dun buy fruit phones. They are overpriced. There are better phones out there at a fraction of the cost..

Apple has long been known for its large profit margins, which help the company generate billions of dollars in cash each quarter. That doesn’t appear to be changing with the iPhone X, regardless of its higher-priced components like a bigger display and glass design.

I not carrot. No fruit phone.

My 1st iPhone is 6, because my company requires all push mails on iPhone, so they issued me one.

But to me the keypad is still fxxkup compare to Android.

So I am still using Android for my personal phone. iPhone for work.

Changing to iPhone 8X this week. It's a hassle to transfer all stuff from old to new iPhone, was advice by my admin manager to visit Apple Store, pay a,small amount for the transfer.

But I still cannot understand why Pple willing to pay thousands of $$$ for iphone.....

I can easily transfer stuff from old to new Android phone.

My 1st iPhone is 6, because my company requires all push mails on iPhone, so they issued me one.

Changing to iPhone 8X this week. It's a hassle to transfer all stuff from old to new iPhone, was advice by my admin manager to visit Apple Store, pay a,small amount for the transfer.

But I still cannot understand why Pple willing to pay thousands of $$$ for iphone.....

Cos to the fruit lovers, they love to be carrots. They think apple is a religion. To me, it's just plain...... I was never a fruit fan and never will be...

Like simi $1800 for a mediocre macbook air, I spent $900, I can get a 1.4kg 14 inch laptop with the latest processor i8-8250 with 8gb, 1tb HDD and dedicated graphics card...

Apple lifestyle? Neh... I won't be conned.

I don’t know if you’re just dense or a troll. Either way no point in engaging this further.

Nothing to say call people names... not good lah

Don’t u think whether a product is a success is decided by others not Apple themselves? I thought this is perfectly logical....

My ceo always say all our products are successes..... I really think the analysts should be the judge of product success... unless you think I am a better judge. Definitely not the company themselves.

The Mac Donald’s analogy is actually pretty relevant. Apple is a victim of its own success. They have already millions of user base so every launch is benchmarked on a high bar. This is perfectly reasonable. If a new company sell even one percent of what Apple sell, they will be considered a huge success, but not Apple.

Btw, I do think the series2 is ok after they added gps and waterproof.

Cos to the fruit lovers, they love to be carrots. They think apple is a religion. To me, it's just plain...... I was never a fruit fan and never will be...

Like simi $1800 for a mediocre macbook air, I spent $900, I can get a 1.4kg 14 inch laptop with the latest processor i8-8250 with 8gb, 1tb HDD and dedicated graphics card...

I can't comment on MacBook as I don't use one. However I do know the Windows OS hanging problem.

So these users prefer the mac os & interface.

Who says it is an hassle?

I have been changing iphone every 2 years.  Everything stays the same in the new phone.

Sorry hor.

I have been using the same MacBook for 7 years.  That's including editing raw photo.

My MacBook had been updated to the latest OS.  It does not slow down.

Unlike W I N D O W S

Personal experience having used Andriod and iOS

I have been switching iphones to iphones and andriod to andriod, and even andriod to iphone, iphone to andriod multiple times over the last half decade

personally, the easiest of the lot is switching from iphone to iphone. everything goes over (except apple pay credit cards and thumbprint for security reasons), most seamless transfer, everything is there as it was. With andriod, it can hit or miss some times, especially the location of the apps on the screen. 

secondly, there is stark difference in the quality of the third party apps between Play store and App store. Andriod has been designed to cater to many different manufacturers, many different screen sizes/ratio/resolution, therefore apps in the Play store will never be as beautiful or well designed as compared to those in the App store. It is more of a 1 size fits all in Play store. The same third party app/game in Andriod just feel so much more inferior, when compared to iOS. 

Thirdly, wearables. having used smart/sport/gps watches on Andriod and iOS, and non Apple Watch on iOS, the best experience was Apple Watch on iOS. Nothing beats it. It works in real life and it works really well. Second best was Garmin on Andriod. The most inferior was Garmin on iOS, because iOS kills off the garmin app in the background, once that happens, you do not get any more notifications. This does not happen with Apple Watch of course, Apple just gave its own watch a super huge advantage over the rest. 

It is all the small details and fine nuances that makes a lot of difference. now i just stick to iOS only. 

just personal experience, please do not flame 

Edited by TangoElite

Apple computer quite lasting, and the OS gets updated for free. Every time so tempting when a new iMac launch but my 2007 one still refused to die.

Edited by Jman888

Sorry hor.

I have been using the same MacBook for 7 years.  That's including editing raw photo.

My MacBook had been updated to the latest OS.  It does not slow down.

Unlike W I N D O W S

My experience opposite. Lol. My Macbook Pro bought in 2012 died already. Screen got alot of lines and getting super laggy. Think the hard disk dying also. My fujitsu from 2007 still alive and still using it regularly for simple video and photo editing. But changed batteries 2 times. Macbook battery also died but too troublesome to get it changed.

Nothing to say? Sheesh