Now ADs cannot void your warranty!

Othello

wow. this CCS is much more powerful than CASE.

"

CCS is Singapore’s competition authority.

Established on 1 January 2005, it is a statutory board under the Ministry of Trade and Industry and is tasked to administer and enforce the Competition Act (Chapter 50B).

"

Stat board, don't play play

"

CCS is Singapore’s competition authority.

Established on 1 January 2005, it is a statutory board under the Ministry of Trade and Industry and is tasked to administer and enforce the Competition Act (Chapter 50B).

"

Stat board, don't play play

yeah it prevented MOH from setting fee guidelines 10 years ago, saying it's anti-competitive. Then now MOH is thinking of reintroducing some fee guideline again  [hur]  [hur]  [hur]

Whether to allow warranty claims or not, it is up to AD & factory.

CCS can say change warranty clause.

CCS can't stop AD & Factory from voiding warranty claims.

It is a LPPL situation

Huat ah! Lucky never commit to new servicing package, now can ask AD fly kite...

Ya better, with this, AD will need to price their servicing package competitively, if not it will be a lose money as AD will end up only service cars those that under free servicing, the rest all Zhao to outside workshop which is a lot cheaper and perhaps standard is the same.

Edited by Yewheng

"CCS added that with the changes, car dealers are allowed to void warranties or reject claims only if the damage to be claimed under the warranty was in fact caused by the independent workshops."

How to prove that damage is caused by independent workshops? Even if change oil only can blame oil not clean or procedure not followed etc. Very subjective.

good and bad.

if outside ws use OEM parts, due to lower price and higher profit margin, without telling customer.

if car got problem, send back to agent. The agent will claim u did not use original part. so cannot claim warranty. owner also llst

Edited by Mcf777

CCS understands from information provided by Volkswagen Group Singapore Pte. Ltd. (Volkswagen) and Premium Automobiles Pte. Ltd. (Audi) that there are no such restrictions in the warranties. The car brands that these car dealers distribute made up more than 90% of cars in Singapore in 2016.

This is damned BS. PA from day 1 get car reiterated simi sai oso will void if dun service by them... Lol

free servicing very very very misleading.

esp new driver,

must check wat the free servicing include.

sometime it consists of the oil only,

then they charge u labour, filter.

that bloodys pcs of paper can cost 80 buks hor..

Mine is parts and labor, except wear and tear items like tyre, battery and brake pads. ^_^[laugh][laugh]

I think what end users benefit is competitive pricing.

Of course with less restriction there will be more scrutiny. AD can refuse to repair your car if they feel that they are at an disadvantage. You can choose, so can they.

Car owners can use independent workshops without voiding warranties soon

By Dec 31 this year, the dealers will revise existing warranties in force, as well as new warranties, so owners can freely choose the workshop to visit, the CCS added.

The dealers that have agreed to do so are Alpine Motors (Chevrolet), Borneo Motors (Toyota, Lexus and Suzuki), Cycle & Carriage Industries (Citroen, KIA, Mercedes Benz and Mitsubishi), Eurokars Group of Companies (Porsche, Mazda and MINI), Kah Motor Co (Honda), Komoco Motors (Hyundai), Motor Image Enterprises (Subaru), Performance Motors (BMW), and Tan Chong Motor Sales (Nissan).

Volkswagen Group and Premium Automobiles, which deals with Audi cars, was the only major dealer here that placed no such restriction in their warranties.

Information provided by the major car dealers showed that the proportion of customers that send their cars for maintenance and servicing at authorised workshops hovers around 90 per cent during the period of warranty. But only 40 per cent, at most, continue to do so once the warranty ends.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/car-owners-can-use-independent-workshops-without-voiding-warranties-soon

what if the AD moves warranty claim approval back to the overseas manufacturer?

... sorry Mr Tan, Germany rejected your claim...

Edited by Phang

Car owners can use independent workshops without voiding warranties soon

By Dec 31 this year, the dealers will revise existing warranties in force, as well as new warranties, so owners can freely choose the workshop to visit, the CCS added.

The dealers that have agreed to do so are Alpine Motors (Chevrolet), Borneo Motors (Toyota, Lexus and Suzuki), Cycle & Carriage Industries (Citroen, KIA, Mercedes Benz and Mitsubishi), Eurokars Group of Companies (Porsche, Mazda and MINI), Kah Motor Co (Honda), Komoco Motors (Hyundai), Motor Image Enterprises (Subaru), Performance Motors (BMW), and Tan Chong Motor Sales (Nissan).

Volkswagen Group and Premium Automobiles, which deals with Audi cars, was the only major dealer here that placed no such restriction in their warranties.

Information provided by the major car dealers showed that the proportion of customers that send their cars for maintenance and servicing at authorised workshops hovers around 90 per cent during the period of warranty. But only 40 per cent, at most, continue to do so once the warranty ends.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/car-owners-can-use-independent-workshops-without-voiding-warranties-soon

Then why current VW and Audi owner still going back to AD.

This is damned BS. PA from day 1 get car reiterated simi sai oso will void if dun service by them... Lol

ya.. PA told me cut wire void warranty. Then i discovered my brand new car got wire cut. You know what they tell me? Oh.. we can cut, others cannot cause we know what we cut.

Listen already blood boil.

The next CCS should be looking into is dealing with recall especially replacement of parts that factory deem important.

Since, AD has easier access to the principal, any recall replacement parts from PI cars should be easily claimed from principal by AD.

Edited by Ash2017

Then why current VW and Audi owner still going back to AD.

In my friend's case, he is still going back to VCS for his 4.5yo VW because his gearbox has 5 year warranty.

Guess some people are creatures of habit and will just stick to AD so long as they perceive that the charges and workmanship are acceptable.

The next CCS should be looking into is dealing with recall especially replacement of parts that factory deem important.

Since, AD has easier access to the principal, any recall replacement parts from PI cars should be easily claimed from principal by AD.

CCS is anti-competition org. Dun think recall falls under them. They only step in when there's price fixing or monopoly of certain practices dan they step in.

LTA is still the one who can do something about it. It's just a matter of whether they want to or not.

ya.. PA told me cut wire void warranty. Then i discovered my brand new car got wire cut. You know what they tell me? Oh.. we can cut, others cannot cause we know what we cut.

Listen already blood boil.

PA being PA... Still can tell the whole world they do not have such void warranty clause... Damned BS.