Now ADs cannot void your warranty!

Othello

What i scare now is price drop for the 4 year package! Then i really tui.ð

Why you sign 4 year service package? Scared nowhere to service your car?

What I infer is this.

1. At the very least, original parts must be used to retain warranty, be it from AD or from parts stockist. No issue since there are parts stockists for most brands in SG

2. After so many decades, there are bound to be some specialist workshops that focus on only 1 or 2 brands. Like german or korean or jap. The only key problem is whether these specialists have the required special computers or tools and access to the software that ADs use to do software upgrades for various electronic components.

3. Owners should always read their owners' manual which mostly would have some information from the manufacturer itself on warranty guidelines. For example, only genuine parts should be used or what grade of engine oil/coolant/fluids/lubricants to use.

I believe with the guidelines above, it is hard for the AD to void your warranty claim without thorough investigation. Conversely, if I am the AD and I spot non genuine parts on the car related to your warranty claim, I would reject your claim right away. Who knows what damage the non genuine part would have caused and whether it led to your warranty claim?

I have been doing the above since I got my car new in 2012. And I dare to say that the savings from doing servicing/repairs outside of the AD will be significant even if you use all genuine parts purchased from parts stockists.

But now, some parts for my car have doubled in price, like aircon filters and spark plugs, so I have to consider to move to aftermarket parts.

Agree with u .. but when its an accident car. How do u get to see what parts were replaced at tge 3rd party shop.

Thats the tricky part. Place many parts are used or second hand parts. Even worst.

Some are even dictated by a insurance company from what i heard.

I agreed. Ghost fur grow on goat body. Someone bound to pay the cost for servicing outside. Who?

BTW didn't managed to read through the 5 pages. However about PI? I still need to go back world auto for another 1 1/2 year. Sigh.

Those who buy from AD and going back for servicing will be paying the most.

PI get more benefits from this ruling?

Is this apply to new car or 2nd hand car?

Should be depending on warranty period. Edited by Atonchia

Finally. When a simpke oil change outside is $120 while AD charges $200 up.

It is a big business for ADS. Addtional i come.

That is why it may not be the best when AD offers us long warranty period. Most cars except a certain V brand

Edited by Latio2005A

Why you sign 4 year service package? Scared nowhere to service your car?

Because they were having a promotion then. The package comes with two 15k servicing, two 30k servicing, four 7.5k servicing, one free AGM battery and 20% off spare parts outside the servicing package. All for $3k w/o gst.

Which outside workshop can provide such a deal at lower price. Let me know and i will sign with them for the next 4 years.

What I heard from inside sources is that discussions are underway on a 2-tier warranty system â 3 years warranty if you service at outside workshops, and extended 5 years warranty if you service at Authorised Distributor (AD). For 5 years warranty, ADS will tie you in with a servicing package that you pay upfront.

Reference to my last night post on two pricing...what can't I get my 4d right...sigh.

Msg my PI earlier today , they told me tis only applies to authorised dealers n not to PI as there is no mention of any PI involvement. Not sure if its true or they juz trying to feign ignorance. Sian liao . NB . 

chut patter liao lor ... lolx

sure will taichi here and there, only nice in publicity but in the execution, all cui one  

Service costs comes in mainly 5 components namely:

Labor

Original Parts

No need original from manufacturer like engine oil

Overheads

Coffee and tea and lounge

with this move likely some savings can happen from cheaper labor(?), engine oil, no chio bus, no coffee and tea lounge..

As for original parts, while there are stokists I understand stokists either buy the car manufacturer/import agent.. usually the AD..

for eg.. I do know of a jap car AD who controls all imports. Stokists must also buy from them...

somehow I feel this could be ownself shiok ownself.. overall costs could be more..

On the contrary, I buy the higher end one rather than the one offered by AD for that slight edge.

Oil need to comply with the std laid out.

Else owners would just buy the cheapest they can get and still cliam warranty when engine fails

depending on what are you looking for?

servicing at AD for conti will enjoy the benefit of software update and sometime these update are essential.

I guess outside workshop will not have the latest software to update.

servicing at AD for conti will enjoy the benefit of software update and sometime these update are essential.

software updates?

u think cars like phones?

even for phones, you dun HAVE to update.

and exactly what kind of updates are "essential"?

if there's anything that is absolutely necessary, ie. for safety, then it would be a mandatory recall.

• Dislike 1

software updates?

if there's anything that is absolutely necessary, ie. for safety, then it would be a mandatory recall.

For conti car, there are indeed software updates. So far within one year of ownership, i heard of two software updates for my car model. One for gearbox and one for cooling water setting. They called me and it was sent in for software update.

Some received letters, some were scheduled during their servicing and some like mine was called up personally.

Outside workshop do not have the updated software. Also updating the software will re-write the ecu memory esp for those that do there stage one upgrade with third party.

Conti cars are complicated. But the joy of driving is undeniably bestest.

Actually both can co-exist, so there is no need to justify one bro going to AD or one bro going to outside workshops. No one is saying totally siam AD. 

For eg. Some might do alternate visits. Seriously, simple oil change need not cost $300-$500 right ? Then some ADs always like to ask car owners to buy tonic drinks ! Chop even more....... 

Details not out yet, so we shall see. But at least it is a step in the right direction. They can no longer use the reason and blanket void warranty. 

Perhaps another way of putting it would be:

Some ADs have special diagnostics tool to troubleshoot problems that independent workshops do not have. So when it comes to these electronic problems, some have no choice but to return to AD.

software updates?

Dream on.

Even with an update. You need to pay an unlocking fee.

As sn example. If you need to update your gps for 2014 vw. You need to pay about 400 to 600 just for unlocking. After which. You will need to diy on downloading the gps map updates. Takes about 3 days with mutiple retries sometimes.

Perhaps another way of putting it would be:

Some ADs have special diagnostics tool to troubleshoot problems that independent workshops do not have. So when it comes to these electronic problems, some have no choice but to return to AD.

You are right.

Especially for security related codes like door mechanism and keys.

Some insurance cover for key losses. But you definately need the ad to buy from the factory

Actually both can co-exist, so there is no need to justify one bro going to AD or one bro going to outside workshops. No one is saying totally siam AD.

For eg. Some might do alternate visits. Seriously, simple oil change need not cost $300-$500 right ? Then some ADs always like to ask car owners to buy tonic drinks ! Chop even more.......

Details not out yet, so we shall see. But at least it is a step in the right direction. They can no longer use the reason and blanket void warranty.

Mostly void warranty related to owner with an itch to scratch due to modding

Car dealers to remove warranty restrictions to allow independent workshops to compete

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/car-dealers-to-remove-warranty-restrictions-to-allow-independent-9488024

[bounce2]

SINGAPORE: Major car dealers have agreed to remove restrictions on warranties and related documents, announced the Competition Commission of Singapore (CCS) on Monday (Dec 11). 

The commission said this in a press release after concluding its inquiry into the supply of car parts in Singapore. The inquiry was carried out to better understand how the operations of the car parts market and the effects of market features of competition, CCS said. 

In its findings, CCS said it was concerned about dealers requiring customers to service or repair their vehicles exclusively at the respective dealers' authorised workshops, to ensure that the warranty remains valid. 

The restrictions allowed dealers to void warranties if the car had been service or repaired previously at an independent workshop. 

CCS said such restrictions deterred car owners from using independent workshops and thus the ability to compete effectively with authorised workshops. 

"To address this, CCS has raised its concerns with the major car dealers and have worked with them to remove the warranty restrictions from their car warranties and related documents," the commission said in the press release. 

Advertisement

All major car dealers have agreed to make the relevant changes to the warranty terms by CCS, it said. 

All agreed changes to the warranty terms for exsiting warranties and new warranties will be implemented by Dec 31. 

Another finding by CCS was that importation and wholesale distribution of car parts are generally competitive. Car parts can be obtained from a large number of suppliers located in Singapore and overseas, the commission said.  

While there is limited supply for parts which are replaced infrequently or that belong to niche models, CCS said this is due to the small number of buyers and sellers in the market.

CCS also found that technical information, equipment and diagnostic tools are generally available. This is despite car manufacturers and their authorised car dealers not supplying such inputs to independent workshops. 

"This is because independent workshops are generally able to gain access to viable alternatives such as those supplied by third-party equipment suppliers," said CCS. 

great news, but too bad Alfa Romeo is not in the list  :TT_TT:

CCS approached and obtained the cooperation of the following car dealers that are authorised distributors for the respective car brands shown in parentheses: Alpine Motors Pte. Ltd. (Chevrolet), Borneo Motors (Singapore) Pte. Ltd. (Toyota and Lexus), Cycle & Carriage Industries Pte. Ltd. (Citroen, KIA, Mercedes Benz and Mitsubishi), Eurokars Group of Companies (Porsche, Mazda and MINI), Kah Motor Co. Sdn. Bhd. (Honda), Komoco Motors Pte. Ltd. (Hyundai), Motor Image Enterprises Pte. Ltd. (Subaru), Performance Motors Ltd. (BMW), and Tan Chong Motor Sales Pte. Ltd. (Nissan). CCS also obtained the cooperation with respect to the warranty restrictions for Suzuki cars through Borneo Motors (Singapore) Pte. Ltd., which is under the Inchcape Group of UK. CCS understands from information provided by Volkswagen Group Singapore Pte. Ltd. (Volkswagen) and Premium Automobiles Pte. Ltd. (Audi) that there are no such restrictions in the warranties. The car brands that these car dealers distribute made up more than 90% of cars in Singapore in 2016.

Want to do business in Singapore.. better LL listen and support the ah gong..