Tommisan 4th Gear May 12, 2022 Share May 12, 2022 @jasonboh what is the point of the having a higher overtrade? It is just increasing your loan quantum, it is not a discount at all. If you are looking for a high overtrade for your current car when considering buying a new car, it means downpayment is a struggle or you are overstretching. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jasonboh 1st Gear May 12, 2022 Share May 12, 2022 @Tommisan I am just looking for a good discount when they are making profits of $80k and was wondering if it's the negotiating skills that are needed to get the best bargain because honestly I do not have good negotiation skills Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator May 12, 2022 Share May 12, 2022 On 5/8/2022 at 12:48 PM, jasonboh said: @Carbon82 I tested EQC, Audi E-tron and iX3, the handling and overall quality for iX3 simply was better in my opinion. Though the design is a little behind compared to the other 2, practicality wise, iX3 is good enough and it is also the cheaper option compared to the other 2. Thanks for your help in analyzing, I guess it is only better to buy from them when they do not have fully booked orders. I agree that iX3 offer the most (balance spec and features) among the 3 you have mentioned. I didn't tested the E-tron and EQC, so can't comment on the handling. With more buyers considering EV and the ongoing chip shortage, I doubt the supply will exceed demand in near terms. Will have to wait till the introduction of next gen X3 and iX3 (expected in 2024). 8 hours ago, t0y0ta said: EQC is a gen0.5 EV. Basically similar to iX3 they add the battery and motor to existing chassis designed for petrol. What is different is that it gets much worse energy efficiency and range compared to iX3, which was released around much later than EQC, so gets more efficient motors and better battery. Yes, many reviews have shown and prove that iX3 did well in energy efficiency (offering longer mileage on a battery smaller than many of its competitors). Rear wheel drive setup (instead of 4WD in most other model) might be another contributing factor to the better efficiency (less resistance and lighter gross weight). 6 hours ago, Dannnn said: @jasonboh can bro, u take out CC is to show you are keen, as long as they meet what you want , or a real nego , then why not? if everything doesnt fit your budget, if cos you wont sign. no harm one. but of cos dont be that ridiculous can liao if not your name might be spread in the whole auto world lol. Yes, the key is not to low ball PML. IMO, a profit margin of $30K +/- should be something not too unreasonable, provided they have ex-stock. 4 hours ago, Lethalstrike said: Sliding sunroof (i assume its a full length panoramic one) is a $5k option. Need to indent and wait. C&C really sibeh ngiao, $350k car liao still want to cut specs here and there. Panoramic roof is a not a must have for many buyers, so I have no qualm about it not being a standard in the car. BUT can you imagine a >$200K 7 seater SUV without rear aircon?! Yes, that photo above is showing how bare is our local GLB200... 2 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tommisan 4th Gear May 13, 2022 Share May 13, 2022 @jasonboh 13 hours ago, jasonboh said: @Tommisan I am just looking for a good discount when they are making profits of $80k and was wondering if it's the negotiating skills that are needed to get the best bargain because honestly I do not have good negotiation skills Overtrade is not a discount. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jasonboh 1st Gear May 13, 2022 Share May 13, 2022 @Tommisan oh okay. I stand corrected hahah. In that case how much discount does PML usually give or we should aim for? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator May 13, 2022 Share May 13, 2022 36 minutes ago, Tommisan said: @jasonboh Overtrade is not a discount. Depending on how you look at it and how buyer make use of the overtrade given. If one is paying full cash or taking the same amount of loan (with or without overtrade), then it can be seen as a discount. However, if the buyer used the overtrade to offset the down-payment, resulting in taking more loan for his/her purchase, than OT is a tool to get buyer to pay more for his/her purchase. OT is the by-product of tightened car loan criteria some 10 years ago and it will be here to stay, since some dealers are also using it to conceal the actual discount amount given to individual buyer. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic May 13, 2022 Share May 13, 2022 1 hour ago, Carbon82 said: Depending on how you look at it and how buyer make use of the overtrade given. If one is paying full cash or taking the same amount of loan (with or without overtrade), then it can be seen as a discount. However, if the buyer used the overtrade to offset the down-payment, resulting in taking more loan for his/her purchase, than OT is a tool to get buyer to pay more for his/her purchase. OT is the by-product of tightened car loan criteria some 10 years ago and it will be here to stay, since some dealers are also using it to conceal the actual discount amount given to individual buyer. And MAS is turning a blind eye.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged May 13, 2022 Share May 13, 2022 12 hours ago, Carbon82 said: Panoramic roof is a not a must have for many buyers, so I have no qualm about it not being a standard in the car. BUT can you imagine a >$200K 7 seater SUV without rear aircon?! Yes, that photo above is showing how bare is our local GLB200... To me, for any premium brand with models positioned comfortably above $300k retail, it should have pano roof as standard especially its an SUV. Even Skodas and VWs have pano roof on their top end variants liao leh. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tommisan 4th Gear May 13, 2022 Share May 13, 2022 1 hour ago, Carbon82 said: Depending in how you look at it and how buyer make use of the overtrade amount. If one is paying full cash or taking the same amount of loan (with or without overtrade), then it can be seen as a discount. However,if the buyer used the overtrade to offset the down-payment, resulting in taking more loan for his/her purchase, than OT is a tool to get buyer to pay more for his/her purchase. OT is the by-product when MAS tighten the car loan some 10 years ago and it will be here to stay, since some dealers are also using it to conceal the actual discount amount given to individual buyer. Overtrade usually comes with a minimum loan. If one pays full cash, I would not think they would call it overtrade because it is in fact a discount. The term overtrade is a way for dealers to allow car buyers to take a higher loan amount and to reduce the downpayment amount upfront. It is a marketing tactic. A discount is a discount. An overtrade in principle is not a discount. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anderss 1st Gear May 14, 2022 Share May 14, 2022 (edited) On 5/13/2022 at 9:46 AM, Tommisan said: Overtrade usually comes with a minimum loan. If one pays full cash, I would not think they would call it overtrade because it is in fact a discount. The term overtrade is a way for dealers to allow car buyers to take a higher loan amount and to reduce the downpayment amount upfront. It is a marketing tactic. A discount is a discount. An overtrade in principle is not a discount. most people don't understand this or they do but stretching it. Edited May 14, 2022 by Anderss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfverine Twincharged May 14, 2022 Share May 14, 2022 The various dealers can call it whatever they want - overtrade, discount, etc. To me, the key information is the "net amount" I have to pay when purchasing the new car based on this simple formula of: (new car price) - (trade-in car price) = net amount. Of course also to factor in all the "freebies". Whether the discount/overtrade/etc is adjusted against the new car price or trade-in car is irrelevant for my case. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Etnt Turbocharged May 15, 2022 Share May 15, 2022 Not saying it is right but this is how some dealer sell their cars here, not limited to the one in this thread. Not happy go find other brand; or wait for the 2nd dealer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
oleoleole 2nd Gear May 15, 2022 Share May 15, 2022 8 hours ago, Wolfverine said: The various dealers can call it whatever they want - overtrade, discount, etc. To me, the key information is the "net amount" I have to pay when purchasing the new car based on this simple formula of: (new car price) - (trade-in car price) = net amount. Of course also to factor in all the "freebies". Whether the discount/overtrade/etc is adjusted against the new car price or trade-in car is irrelevant for my case. Yes, you are spot-on. Some pple curiously just cannot accept OT as discount. But for case of PML, their overtrade IS a discount. at least tat was the case when I bought from them last year. Doesn't matter they put the discount at new car price or trade in price, it rly is irrelevant. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anderss 1st Gear May 15, 2022 Share May 15, 2022 4 hours ago, oleoleole said: Yes, you are spot-on. Some pple curiously just cannot accept OT as discount. But for case of PML, their overtrade IS a discount. at least tat was the case when I bought from them last year. Doesn't matter they put the discount at new car price or trade in price, it rly is irrelevant. Lol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
oleoleole 2nd Gear May 15, 2022 Share May 15, 2022 2 hours ago, Anderss said: Lol 🙂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akeem Neutral Newbie May 25, 2022 Share May 25, 2022 Never a good idea to buy from future income. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 25, 2022 Share May 25, 2022 On 5/15/2022 at 9:00 AM, oleoleole said: Yes, you are spot-on. Some pple curiously just cannot accept OT as discount. But for case of PML, their overtrade IS a discount. at least tat was the case when I bought from them last year. Doesn't matter they put the discount at new car price or trade in price, it rly is irrelevant. If sticker price is 300k and invoice price is 270k if dun take the 30k overtrade, yes it's a outright discount If sticker price is 300k and invoice price is oso 300k after adding in a 30k overtrade to the used car, it's not a discount. It's taking a high loan w low dp 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged October 13, 2022 Share October 13, 2022 Now sticker price is 303k. I would be tempted if the discounted price to 253k. Heck. Maybe 260k also tempting for me. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...