Environmental friendly or over done?

Jman888

The last time I did that..my ex-gf told me is damn bo-seh and makes her feel lao kui...she says get a proper stirrer lah...dun do stupid things.. [mad]

aiya, I am not bothered by what ppl say or think.

i seldom eat buffet these days but when I do, I actually use the same plate 3 rounds. 

i think it is just marketing gimmick. Straw is hardly the biggest plastic contributor. Plastic packaging is. Just typical sensationalized article without data to back up. This sort of article just meant to create controversy and encourage discussion and debate and end up KFC brand starts to appear everywhere.

Agree. In EU, the fast foos restaurants still offer plastic straws but they have switched to paper bags over plastic bags for takeaways.I thought EU is the place where environment activism first started so the fast food retailers must be doing something right in EU else they will have been hammered by the authorities isn't it?

I suppose it is cheaper for the local franchisee to stop buying straws rather than to spend more to get paper bags instead of plastic bags.

Edited by Happily1986

When come to environmental friendliness, there is no such thing as overdone, it is matter of how much inconvenience and cost we are prepared to accept. We human being live in this world yet we are the one who started all sorts of products that resulting in damage to the environment, so every single bit of efforts to help the environment is not excessive. Our lifespan of about 100 years in this world is very short compare to the existence of the universe, if we could, just do our bit to help save the world while we are just part of the transients.

Edited by Ct3833

It's not a case of not doing enough for the environment.

It's a case of companies increasing their profits by pretending to go green.

Because they can charge you for the bottled water and yet have excuse not to provide FOC tap water ( they also need to wash the cups/glasses that they serve the tap water in)

Either drink water or drink beer, drink wine, drink whisky .. never needed to use straw. [laugh]

Though, nowadays more and more places insist on selling you bottle water when our local tap water is perfectly fine. Then bo pian got to take a plastic bottle.

Either drink water or drink beer, drink wine, drink whisky .. never needed to use straw. [laugh]

Though, nowadays more and more places insist on selling you bottle water when our local tap water is perfectly fine. Then bo pian got to take a plastic bottle.

Use this

post-16870-0-65803500-1529899134.jpg

easy to dispose mah. Then no need to wash cups etc ha.

At least i feel that bottled water is easily available here in fast food joints.

If you live in Punggol, West Coast or CCK, your HDB block may have solar panels soon.

5,500 blocks will have it by 2020. The power generated good for 50k plus flats and reduce carbon emissions.

post-114176-0-57160900-1529963622_thumb.jpg

How about I bring my own water bottle leh ? [laugh]  Anyway, I'm fine with paying for service as long as indeed there is reasonable service

I think you have a CASE for this .. [laugh]  

Edited by Sdf4786k

Same as in european cities ( Denmark of Norway?)

The buyers pays an extra cost for the bottle at the point of buying. For redemption. have to pop the empty bottle into a redemption machine.

This has spawned a side income to some groups. They can be seen walking up and down the streets looking into bins to pick up the bottles. They will even enter food joints to get the bottles left over by the customers.

plastic bottles.

actually this is already going on in our local coffee shops ... but they only collect the alum cans aggressively.

they - being the coffee shop drinks staffs.

i rem once when jiajia liangteh had lucky draw, the server would even pull the ring tab off before serving the can drink !! -and keep the tab for herself !!

If you live in Punggol, West Coast or CCK, your HDB block may have solar panels soon.

5,500 blocks will have it by 2020. The power generated good for 50k plus flats and reduce carbon emissions.

wow..so power bill going to be reduce for those residents?

So many times after rara already become non event.. n I am not referring to lady gaga.

We talk about tehgal town district.. going to be the next big thing..

I don’t even see the rubbish chute for incinerator going all the way to Tuas as a plan. And it’s within proximity. Suppose to be carlite city but I don’t see it like what a megacity would look like in the urban planning.,

And we pride ourselves as a great urban planning resource that does great things for India..

Not only plastic bags. In Seoul, I bought a takeaway coffee and ended could not find a litter bin in the streets to dispose of the cup. Main street and side street also don't have. This was Myeongdong. Finally, had to go into a fast food restaurant to throw. How about SG withdraw litter bins too.

Bins everywhere, but sgreans a lot still just throw on floor. You remove the bins, even more will end up on the floor

Ya, littering is a problem ...... even visitors have noticed our cleanliness don't have the shine - this letter to the press by an American in 2015 expresses his disappointment.

[h=1]What happened to clean Singapore?[/h]

I am an American tourist who has visited Singapore several times.

In the United States, Singapore has the reputation of being fabulously clean.

Yet, when I visited Changi Beach last Saturday, I was shocked to see rubbish everywhere.

I began to wonder if a garbage barge sank in the strait, causing paper, snack wrappers, plastic bags, toys, styrofoam, cigarette packages, aluminium cans, plastic food containers, fishing gear and hygiene products to wash up on the beach.

Some of these are dangerous to swimmers, children, pedestrians and wildlife.

It was the same situation at Changi Village and the boardwalk from Changi Point. The garbage was deliberately tossed away, even though rubbish receptacles are in plain view.

I do not understand what has happened in this country, which has long prided itself as the cleanest in Asia.

Surely, Singaporeans desire a clean and beautiful country.

Maybe visitors and Singaporeans could join together for a clean-up day. I would gladly don rubber gloves and spend some time collecting the unsightly rubbish and putting it in its place.

L. R. Erickson

California, USA

Ya, littering is a problem ...... even visitors have noticed our cleanliness don't have the shine - this letter to the press by an American in 2015 expresses his disappointment.

[h=1]What happened to clean Singapore?[/h]

I am an American tourist who has visited Singapore several times.

In the United States, Singapore has the reputation of being fabulously clean.

Yet, when I visited Changi Beach last Saturday, I was shocked to see rubbish everywhere.

I began to wonder if a garbage barge sank in the strait, causing paper, snack wrappers, plastic bags, toys, styrofoam, cigarette packages, aluminium cans, plastic food containers, fishing gear and hygiene products to wash up on the beach.

Some of these are dangerous to swimmers, children, pedestrians and wildlife.

It was the same situation at Changi Village and the boardwalk from Changi Point. The garbage was deliberately tossed away, even though rubbish receptacles are in plain view.

I do not understand what has happened in this country, which has long prided itself as the cleanest in Asia.

Surely, Singaporeans desire a clean and beautiful country.

Maybe visitors and Singaporeans could join together for a clean-up day. I would gladly don rubber gloves and spend some time collecting the unsightly rubbish and putting it in its place.

L. R. Erickson

California, USA

Garbage pollution in the seas and oceans.

Maybe washed up from there?