NS related deaths

Tom_kkh

Actually the COI itself, the people are usually other civil servants or other people.

I'm guessing it's easy for civil servants or other public sector people to get called to do civic duty for the govt. Not sure if really have truly independent people involved.

But they don't really have any truly vested interest in what the SAF wants IMO. Other than the broad fact that they are mostly all public servants.

But of course, who the COI submit to and does with it's deliberations and summary of the event, i don't know.

I kana grilled jialat jialat before by the first one i took part in.

We did have some COI chaired by a retired judge. Think it was the little India riot one.

I think the retired status helps give extra weight somewhat.

Well.... If police take over , its still better than letting a bunch of high ranking staff destroy or hide any evidence

Singapore police....

Don't think they will hide or destroy evidence deliberately but could certainly happen through their bungling.

37.2 will be considered mild......37.5........attend c liao...ððð.

You dont remind me hor......the section always designated me as the smoke grenade thrower since i missed the frag grenade live firing.....ð¢ð¢ð¢.

Once I had a 39deg fever when I went to the report sick, the medic told me ,"You don't looked like you have high fever."

So I asked him how does high fever looked like? He showed me the delirious look.

I told him I felt weak and hot. But that doesn't make me incapacitated.

When I was in BMT the enlistees were JC and the commanders were poly. We got tekan good, because we were from different background and they wanted to knock us down a peg or two, our commanders readily admitted this. Only after a particularly intense tekan session that ended with the OC getting reassigned did they tone it down. It wasn't pleasant but a good lesson that life is never fair, give absolute power over people to a small group, it will be abused.

No social media in those days for us to kpkb

I still remember a day before my enlistment, someone knockd on my door, passed me a namecard and told me," I am xxx from SIB, this is my contact number. If you feel there is any abusive behaviour or excessive punishment during your BMT, just give me a call. There will be a few like you, but don't go around asking. Just call me if you think the training is too tough.

I never called him.

We had field camp and punishment with FBO up to 50+ push-ups bcos couldn't meet the unattainable timing.

I thought it was great workout so I didn't call.

We had stupid changed parade followed with punishments, but I thought we weren't able to work as a team. So also didn't called.

We were at Tekong and it was 250+ psi during our 24km road march, still press on.... also never called.

I was nicknamed Superman in my company Bcos I did 27 chin ups.

On hindsight, though I wasn't saboing anyone, I was too Siao On on the training. But I only care about my own training not the type who willingly put my hands up for volunteer duties.

Once I had a 39deg fever when I went to the report sick, the medic told me ,"You don't looked like you have high fever."

So I asked him how does high fever looked like? He showed me the delirious look.

I told him I felt weak and hot. But that doesn't make me incapacitated.

39º quite high liao. If not checked by then your fever may go higher. Last i kana 39º the headache was very bad.

I am a medic in my NS days and came across all sorts of nonsense during the daily sick parade. One first day recruit report sick say he cannot stand under the sun for long, his skin will have rashes.

MO sees him and act very concerned about him..chat with him then slowly ask him what are his hobbies..he let his guard down and say " I am socer team captain in his sec sch." MO asks, your sec school socer is indoor ?

MO gave him first and last warning. LOL

I still remember a day before my enlistment, someone knockd on my door, passed me a namecard and told me," I am xxx from SIB, this is my contact number. If you feel there is any abusive behaviour or excessive punishment during your BMT, just give me a call. There will be a few like you, but don't go around asking. Just call me if you think the training is too tough.

I never called him.

We had field camp and punishment with FBO up to 50+ push-ups bcos couldn't meet the unattainable timing.

We had stupid changed parade followed with punishments, but I thought we weren't able to work as a team. So also didn't called.

We were at Tekong and it was 250+ psi during our 24km road march, still press on.... also never called.

On hindsight, though I wasn't saboing anyone, I was too Siao On on the training. But I only care about my own training not the type who willingly put my hands up for volunteer duties.

Wah.....27! I can do oni 11 and sometime 12.......maybe because beyond 12 no more extra incentives.....

I never called him.

End up this become haolian thread Liao.

Actually out NS very relax. Should see Taiwan. Training still very ancient and more demanding. But they are still at war. So....

I am a medic in my NS days and came across all sorts of nonsense during the daily sick parade. One first day recruit report sick say he cannot stand under the sun for long, his skin will have rashes.

MO sees him and act very concerned about him..chat with him then slowly ask him what are his hobbies..he let his guard down and say " I am socer team captain in his sec sch." MO asks, your sec school socer is indoor ?

these chao keng give ns commanders, MO the worst headache.

their acting so good they can go mediacrop,

and they are the reason why genuine sick case got throw out of the door by MO.

cos if u sick or in pain,

u dun act like it MO dun believe u .

During my time, when i was posted to Medical Center, we had a very good MO. 

Any suspect " geng " case will be checked in sick bay.

Diarrhea --> poke / check backside, plus IV treatment usually done by less experience medic

Fake fever case --> Poke backside with rectal thermometer and also IV. 

Usually by after lunch, these people will be "fully recovered "; fever no more, stomach no more pain. 

For the very few that is really sick case; we will make sure that they have proper rest with regular monitoring and also updating our MO. 

We always see our sick bay full during 1st 2 weeks of new intake, and than after that not many such cases as they will go back and share their experience with their mate on what happen to them. 

Just for the record, i was in the documentation side, so all those poke backside thing not done by me.  [laugh]

5th Gear

Diarrhea --> poke / check backside, plus IV treatment usually done by less experience medic

Usually by after lunch, these people will be "fully recovered "; fever no more, stomach no more pain. 

For the very few that is really sick case; we will make sure that they have proper rest with regular monitoring and also updating our MO. 

We always see our sick bay full during 1st 2 weeks of new intake, and than after that not many such cases as they will go back and share their experience with their mate on what happen to them. 

Just for the record, i was in the documentation side, so all those poke backside thing not done by me.  [laugh]

what about those WH who report sick? do they still need to be poked and IV?

I never called him.

How come you so good, got special privilege from sib? Others don't have leh.

This recruit dump. To get excuse from skin allergy the best is to go see specialist. Arm with specialist referral letter Army MO no likely to say "No".

Just for the record, i was in the documentation side, so all those poke backside thing not done by me. [laugh]

poke back side? rectum thermoter? Only use on unconscious casualty/patient.

your medical centre really chek ark! my medical centre no such nonsense.

Edited by Kopites

You document the backside procedure ? [laugh]

Some good MO, also got some CB MO without even first talking to and assessing the patient straightaway threaten to IV.

Encountered one such MO during my reserbit, when I was supporting a NSF unit. He didn't know I was standing outside his tent when he dismiss his NSF medic to "just give him IV lah". I questioned his professionalism when I told him my medical history, then he suddenly jump and wonder why this soldier dare to question a captain. His arrogant chicken brain suddenly realise its an NSman then he "oh NSman ah, then just rest lah". After that he even feedback to my unit say NSman complain to MO. WTF.

Not that I want to be angry about it but this kind of stupid presumptuous mindset toward fellow serviceman is quite unnecessary. It is the "not my problem" mentality, from occifers to men, people grumbling about their "extra contribution" and then at the same time tekan their own fellow serviceman. This is another form of "keng". "Keng" is not just acting sick but often it is refusing to do a proper job.

right..

everyone that came to the MC seeking hlep would be treated professionally regardless that soldier keng or genuine. we are not trained to judge. My first msg from senoir medic sergeant Eric Lee 41sar medical centre. Respect to him.

Edited by Kopites

Some good MO, also got some CB MO without even first talking to and assessing the patient straightaway threaten to IV.

Encountered one such MO during my reserbit, when I was supporting a NSF unit. He didn't know I was standing outside his tent when he dismiss his NSF medic to "just give him IV lah". I questioned his professionalism when I told him my medical history, then he suddenly jump and wonder why this soldier dare to question a captain. His arrogant chicken brain suddenly realise its an NSman then he "oh NSman ah, then just rest lah". After that he even feedback to my unit say NSman complain to MO. WTF.

Not that I want to be angry about it but this kind of stupid presumptuous mindset toward fellow serviceman is quite unnecessary. It is the "not my problem" mentality, from occifers to men, people grumbling about their "extra contribution" and then at the same time tekan their own fellow serviceman. This is another form of "keng". "Keng" is not just acting sick but often it is refusing to do a proper job.

“Keng" is not just acting sick but often it is refusing to do a proper job.

I is very like!!!!!! [thumbsup]

This is the most common form of "keng" in the SAF. When you refuse to do a proper job, you just arrow to someone else.

They should sell this idea in saf

what about those WH who report sick? do they still need to be poked and IV?

Priority is Urgent / critical case --> officer --> NCOs / Spec --> men 

WH or not is not part of the consideration for the poke backside treatment  [laugh]  

Encountered one such MO during my reserbit, when I was supporting a NSF unit.  He didn't know I was standing outside his tent when he dismiss his NSF medic to "just give him IV lah".  I questioned his professionalism when I told him my medical history, then he suddenly jump and wonder why this soldier dare to question a captain. His arrogant chicken brain suddenly realise its an NSman then he "oh NSman ah, then just rest lah". After that he even feedback to my unit say NSman complain to MO. WTF.

MO are the ones who wrote on the docket, not medics. 

There will be bad eggs everywhere. 

This recruit dump. To get excuse from skin allergy the best is to go see specialist. Arm with specialist referral letter Army MO no likely to say "No".

poke back side? rectum thermoter? Only use on unconscious casualty/patient.

your medical centre really chek ark! my medical centre no such nonsense.

When it is an obvious case of keng,  after initial screening by MO.

and as i said, usually happen only during new intake. 

Edited by RH1667

Got one time, MO is fed up with all the fake report sick, then told me to prepare protoscope. I am stunned coz hardly any MO uses it, I ask him what happen.

He says whoever report sick for diahorrea, I will use this protoscope to see if he is telling lies then all report sick for cough will be admit to sick bay for drip.

Because of this, I had mastered the skill for engaging an IV drip up to 99% accuracy. LOL