Watch Part V

Carbon82

41 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

My collection is almost all sport/casual with only 1 dress at the moment.

Thanks! I'm always waiting for the next watch.

I don't use any watch as a daily/tool. I realise that I will get sick and tired of a watch if I stare at it everyday 24/7. I need to rotate with a time gap in between each watch to minimise that 好吃抵不过新鲜 scenario from happening. 

Re Patek collecting, it is not easy if you are going for just Nautilus and Aquanaut. It is almost impossible from AD now unless you have a good spending history. However, now is a brilliant time to collect dress watch. 👍

I see. For me, I have 9-10 pieces currently but there will always be that 2 which I consider as daily beater which I will wear more often in a week, probably they are on my wrist for about 50% of the time. The other 7-8 pieces takes the remaining 50% of wrist time. 

On Patek purchase, the dilemma I faced is that:

Right now my max budget for a watch is an amount which can allow me to spend on a PP annual calendar at most. Soooo:
I’m not so keen on the previous Calatrava and the latest Calatrava Clous De Paris appeals to me but it is new and I know it will be pretty hard to get at the AD...An annual calendar would be great but at 60-70k, I think I will like to fulfil my dream of owning a Rolex Daytona Full Gold bracelet first before I go for the PP, and it takes a awful amount of time for me to laid my hands on that... My AD have promised to get the SS Aquanaut for me if I get the Twenty Four but I ain’t going to get the Twenty Four as I have no GF or wife whom I can give this watch to. Nautilus is basically out of the question according to my AD unless I have already started owning at least a few pieces of PP watches. The weekly Calendar Calatrava is great too but AD told me that now prior purchase history is also necessary to get an approval to purchase that. 
So that’s why I haven’t started the PP journey yet. 😟 but having said that, I pretty content to continue Rolex collection at this stage...oh well, let’s see 😊

On 4/22/2021 at 11:35 AM, Weez911 said:

But it is very satisfying when your AD calls you "Mr xx, I have good news for you! Your Nautilus 5711 is in. When are you available to come and collect please?"

And then see the SE opening the paper box, use a pen knife to slice open the plastic covering, put the watch on your hand for sizing, to finally wear the watch snuggly on your wrist.

Thereafter exchange pleasantries, pay MSRP, walk out of the store knowing that 40k watch has become 130k after walking through the door. That feeling is the most song feeling.. 

I have been dreaming a long time lah, but they want me to spend on 5524 if I were to given a 7118/1200R-001 for my Wife. After I actually agree to look at 5524R, they ask me if I want to take the 5524G and I just tell them off I prefer 5524R to ensure they will give you what you want instead of play tricks to make you get what you don't want. 

So I have been dreaming for a long time liao, Hopefully it will not be too long.

10 minutes ago, Arogab said:

I have been dreaming a long time lah, but they want me to spend on 5524 if I were to given a 7118/1200R-001 for my Wife. After I actually agree to look at 5524R, they ask me if I want to take the 5524G and I just tell them off I prefer 5524R to ensure they will give you what you want instead of play tricks to make you get what you don't want. 

So I have been dreaming for a long time liao, Hopefully it will not be too long.

You will need at least 7 inch wrist to wear the 5524 well. It is a large watch. Otherwise, I recommend the 5205. Hope your wife get the 7118 soon!

Just now, Arogab said:

One Rolex Sport but many PPPPPs......🙄

I only have 5 PP now. My wife has 3 and I gave both my father and in law 1 each for their birthday. 

6 hours ago, Throttle2 said:

Lelong lelong 

full set full gold Sports rolex

Selling cheap!!!! 

lai ah, mai tu liao

you got this S series 1993 ?

5 hours ago, Weez911 said:

I only have 5 PP now. My wife has 3 and I gave both my father and in law 1 each for their birthday. 

talking about PP, this is my favourite. 

always wanted one but never got around to buying it.

5970j (picture from internet).

prefer the 5970 to 5270.

pp5970r.jpg

Edited by sake