Neighbours from hell...

therock

When was staying in HDB, got 1 mofo kept smoking at the balcony.. finish smoking just flick his butt out. Some end up in my balcony and burning my decking..

Move over to australia, yet another mofo chain smoking, end up can't open window to enjoy fresh air...

2 hours ago, Beanoyip said:

When was staying in HDB, got 1 mofo kept smoking at the balcony.. finish smoking just flick his butt out. Some end up in my balcony and burning my decking..

Move over to australia, yet another mofo chain smoking, end up can't open window to enjoy fresh air...

This is a common problem, esp people smoking at the window and the smoke fly inside your house! Many times when i sleep halfway inside my bedroom, woken up by the cigarette smell!

13 minutes ago, 13177 said:

This is a common problem, esp people smoking at the window and the smoke fly inside your house! Many times when i sleep halfway inside my bedroom, woken up by the cigarette smell!

The worse thing is we can't do sh|t about such problem..

These smokers have no social etiquette or some common sense to at least try to prevent the smoke drift.. 

2 hours ago, Beanoyip said:

I would probably pick up the butts and deposit back into the AH's letterbox... Return to Sender! 

Didn't really encounter too much of 'horror' neighbours thankfully, but of course there were some neighbour incidents which were somewhat annoying: 

In my first flat, one day the neighbour from the unit below us went up to our unit one morning and told our helper to stop vacuuming because she couldn't sleep. My helper complied and told us about this, so we told her to perhaps vacuum slightly later, maybe around 11am or so. When the helper did so, neighbour came up again to tell her to stop vacuuming as it was disrupting her sleep. My wife happened to be at home that day so she heard the neighbour out and she explained because she owns some nightspot so she sleeps in the day and the vacuum noise was unbearable. So we thought OK, to mitigate this we'd go and buy another vacuum cleaner that was quiet, and literally tested many models before buying the most silent one. 

So after the purchase, my helper resumes vacuuming at the designated timing of 10-11am, and we thought everything was OK. But a couple of weeks later, the neighbour comes up and complains again that the noise was unbearable and disrupting her sleep. We went to explain to her that we even changed our vacuum cleaner to an expensive, silent one but of course she remained unhappy. A couple of days later, we get a call from a HDB Office that they've received a complaint from a neighbour about vacuum noise disturbing sleep. The officer said he would need to pop by to check on the complaint so we let him inspect according to protocol.

We managed to meet him and shared with him what we had already done on our part to mitigate the noise, and we told him that perhaps he should go to the unit while we switch on the vacuum cleaner to determine if the noise was really that bad. The HDB Officer later returns and shared with us that he wasn't even able to hear anything. And we told him frankly, we already did our part to help. Furthermore, considering that our neighbour is asleep when most people are awake, she is the exception rather than the norm. Perhaps she's also exceptional by possessing bionic ears that can pick up the vacuum sound even with closed windows and air conditioning. 

After that, we didn't hear anything until we moved out.

Edited by Ronkovic

Maybe because the vibrations by the vacuum motor gets transferred more easily?

anyway loud noises aren’t permitted after 10 pm if I recall correctly.. so 11 am is perfectly legit 

You could even be drilling at that hour and it’s fine. 

39 minutes ago, Beanoyip said:

These smokers have no social etiquette or some common sense to at least try to prevent the smoke drift.. 

Actually all the disturbance created by neighbours, nothing much we can do about it. Even complain to the authorities also not much use.

30 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

I would probably pick up the butts and deposit back into the AH's letterbox... Return to Sender! 

Nowadays letterbox can be locked, so people cannot deposit anything inside the letterbox unless you are the postman who have the master key to open up the entire letterbox. Last time my upstairs neighbour everyday threw out one big lump of hair and landed on my aircon unit, i was so angry and pick up the hair and wanted to deposit back into the letterbox and could not cause the letterbox is locked.

1 hour ago, 13177 said:

On aircon to sleep

On 3/3/2020 at 6:57 AM, Beanoyip said:

Hahha.. Issit a sign to ask you join smoking? hahahhahaha.

23 hours ago, Beanoyip said:

blow into a plastic bag and throw into the bin. But the greenpeace movement will add another sin to the green earth.

On 3/3/2020 at 9:13 AM, 13177 said:

I also kena.  Unit below smokes everywhere.  In toilet, kitchen and balcony.  We have to close our windows quickly whenever he smokes.  Damn smelly leh, breathing in 2nd hand smoke.

• Angry 1

23 hours ago, Beanoyip said:

can't do anything short of banning cigs totally lah...

the smokers consciously go to balcony to smoke, cos they don't wanna contaminate their own house (furniture, deco, gadgets, etc.), and maybe dowan to let their family, esp children, breathe in the 2nd hand smoke...

and guess what, they don't give a damn to transferring this problem (though maybe not 100%) to their neighbours...

20 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

can't do anything short of banning cigs totally lah...

the smokers consciously go to balcony to smoke, cos they don't wanna contaminate their own house (furniture, deco, gadgets, etc.), and maybe dowan to let their family, esp children, breathe in the 2nd hand smoke...

and guess what, they don't give a damn to transferring this problem (though maybe not 100%) to their neighbours...

I encountered before those smokers who come out of their house and stand at the corridor to smoke, and they stand at other unit outside their window to smoke!

32 minutes ago, 13177 said:

I encountered before those smokers who come out of their house and stand at the corridor to smoke, and they stand at other unit outside their window to smoke!

This type is declaring war.

Some buay song ones, will bring this out in retaliation to put outside the fellas' door/window, and that's how things go south...

Screen Shot 2020-03-04 at 10.16.24 AM.png

4 hours ago, Atrecord said:

This type is declaring war.

Some buay song ones, will bring this out in retaliation to put outside the fellas' door/window, and that's how things go south...

Spoiler

Screen Shot 2020-03-04 at 10.16.24 AM.png

Bro, I hope this is not your front door?

:scared:

13 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

Bro, I hope this is not your front door?

:scared:

Heng is not mine. Found in google lah. Do this now, can activate SCDF come and pray together :XD: