Jaguar XE

Damienic

What niche market.

The XE is Jaguar's last attempt to break into the domain of 3 series, C Class and A4. Their people say want.

If it ends up as niche market instead of the volume seller it should be, they will bleed Tata badly.

Agree, the XE is intended to be a volume seller; although the marque 'Jaguar' is quite niche in it's own way and appeal; if you compare to the likes of BMW, Merc, Audi.

As some here have made comparisons between the XE and various, i'll have to say that currently, it is fair to compare it with other 2.0 engine competitors, apart from price point; perhaps also power output.

Have read that the modular Ingenium engine (full turbocharged range of engine, petrol or diesel) will make it easy for JLR to scale these engine capacities up and down (these modules come in 500cc blocks); so maybe, one day we'll see a 1.5 litre XE to do battle with the 1.6 litre 3 series and C class and even the 1.4 litre A4.

Unfortunately for now, we just have to gripe with this 200hp turbo 4 cylinder mill, which if am not wrong, has been serving duty in different state of tune in the outgoing XF and XJ; the XF itself is due to be replaced with an all new model soon and the XJ facelift should also be around the corner (i believe one day in the near future, these models will also be blessed with Ingenium power).

So if you must have the XE now, for the love of the car, it's really a fine car still. :)

Edited by ahboy86

Agree, the XE is intended to be a volume seller; although the marque 'Jaguar' is quite niche in it's own way and appeal; if you compare to the likes of BMW, Merc, Audi.

As some here have made comparisons between the XE and various, i'll have to say that currently, it is fair to compare it with other 2.0 engine competitors, apart from price point; perhaps also power output.

Have read that the modular Ingenium engine (full turbocharged range of engine, petrol or diesel) will make it easy for JLR to scale these engine capacities up and down (these modules come in 500cc blocks); so maybe, one day we'll see a 1.5 litre XE to do battle with the 1.6 litre 3 series and C class and even the 1.4 litre A4.

Unfortunately for now, we just have to gripe with this 200hp turbo 4 cylinder mill, which if am not wrong, has been serving duty in different state of tune in the outgoing XF and XJ; the XF itself is due to be replaced with an all new model soon and the XJ facelift should also be around the corner (i believe one day in the near future, these models will also be blessed with Ingenium power).

So if you must have the XE now, for the love of the car, it's really a fine car still. :)

I know Ford sourced engines are reliable. Is it better to wait for the proper Ingenium engines?

4matic so power? Lol

5 matic Is half the story, the laggy gear change may swing u back to the jag for driving enjoyment

Jag is comparable to 3 series 328 with 240 BHP.

only thing is the 0-100 is 6.8sec while the 329 is 5.1 sec.

FC for jag is not as good.

Power wise is 350NM for JAG vs BMW 350NM

Serious, I saw some reviews which seem quite positive though but I did the gearbox wasn't fantastic. I wonder if Cycle and carriage allows test driving for that car hehe.

Got to give it to Merc engineers though being able to squeeze so much power from a 2.0 L, if only Bmw followed suit.

Bro even the CLA 45 is so so in the reviews

Sedan vs long base ? can compare meh ?

If local distro C&C is not greedy on the pricing, it will be good buy.

CLA is a front wheel drive vs XE is a rear wheel drive, unless you get CLA 4matic, it will be all all wheel drive.

XE is using new Ingenium engine.

What long base? CLA Shooting Brake only 4.65m...

Mecury bro wearnes se jio me go test drive xe.. Want to go anot haha

But i doubt my next car will be a sedan.. :(

I was only qouted 120k for trade in for less than 1yr old car.. Hahaha wtffffff

Serious, I saw some reviews which seem quite positive though but I did the gearbox wasn't fantastic. I wonder if Cycle and carriage allows test driving for that car hehe.

Got to give it to Merc engineers though being able to squeeze so much power from a 2.0 L, if only Bmw followed suit.

edit: i tot u meant c&c for jag. i re-read and realised u were toking abt ther merc... [smash]

Edited by Wildfaye29

Wah Ray u jio mah ah, honored.

I don't mind swinging by Wearnes to check out the Jag, but test drive no sure leh, I got this thing about no test driving unless I serious to pull the trigger, however if you buying then I will jump on the bandwagon to test drive haha :D

My Sept damn packed though, you planning to go down any of these weekends?

Car sometimes own self sell better, if your serious I think you should be able to fetch about 140 - 150K and your model is quite popular should not be an issue in that beautiful red [thumbsup]

Mecury bro wearnes se jio me go test drive xe.. Want to go anot haha

But i doubt my next car will be a sedan.. :(

I was only qouted 120k for trade in for less than 1yr old car.. Hahaha wtffffff

Wah Ray u jio mah ah, honored.

I don't mind swinging by Wearnes to check out the Jag, but test drive no sure leh, I got this thing about no test driving unless I serious to pull the trigger, however if you buying then I will jump on the bandwagon to test drive haha :D

My Sept damn packed though, you planning to go down any of these weekends?

Car sometimes own self sell better, if your serious I think you should be able to fetch about 140 - 150K and your model is quite popular should not be an issue in that beautiful red [thumbsup]

Ya lo obviously they trying to lowball me.. Puiii

Haha just go seelook seelook only la. Later balls itchy until go head itchy then jialat liao

Jaguar is built in UK. They have a good history. Whether it's Indian owned or not doesn't matter as long as they still manufacture according to their standards of quality. Anyway Jaguar is quite niche so doubt they will sell a lot compared to the Germans.

As long as the engineers and design chief is the same, I supposed everything should be good.

But then again, Lotus bought over by Proton, and Proton say Lotus tuned.

I think if lotus tuned the Proton, it should be at least near a Lotus standard. Not Lada samera standard

Jaguar repair cost at AD is high as compared with BMW and Merc. My friend sent his 4 year old XF for repair at AD and the bill was more than $10K. Not sure what was changed though. He then sold it and bought a Merc E-class.

Since Wearnes repair is as high as C&C, why your fren bought Merc E-class?

As long as the engineers and design chief is the same, I supposed everything should be good.

But then again, Lotus bought over by Proton, and Proton say Lotus tuned.

I think if lotus tuned the Proton, it should be at least near a Lotus standard. Not Lada samera standard

Haha... I doubt the quality can cross brands. Lotus owned by Proton but don't expect your Proton to become a sports car!

Saw the XE on test drive along Alexandra road yesterday, stopped near it at the Queensway traffic light.

Somehow not as nice as it looks in the photos, especially from the rear 3/4 view. Looks kinda meh, like it's lacking something.

Haha I reckon Wearnes would low ball, their profits quite slim so doubt too much OT when taking the car in.

U let me know when u going down, my place not far from the showroom, if the kids are Zzzzing maybe can sneak out see car lim kopi

Ya lo obviously they trying to lowball me.. Puiii

Haha just go seelook seelook only la. Later balls itchy until go head itchy then jialat liao

The XE come with 5 year service .. not sure if warranty included.

If it is similar to Munich auto, then year 4 sell would be ideal...

The XE come with 5 year service .. not sure if warranty included.

If it is similar to Munich auto, then year 4 sell would be ideal...

IIRC the warranty is 5yr/80k whichever come first.

Abit strange as most ADs hv mileage as 100k or some Japs even have it unlimited.

Cynical me wondering if Wearnes not expecting the car to last after 80k?

Afterall, the average motorist will likely reach 80k long before 5yr.