What does it take to have a cafe business

Jusnel

3 hours ago, Count-Bracula said:

Ang mo kopi not nice lah, like drinking coffee flavoured water.

Anyway, location may not be crucial if food is good.

Foodies sure hunt you down no matter where you are.

The kopi in US is the worst ... 

4 hours ago, BanCoe said:

I cannot even swallow those $5/$6 coffee /teas ..... maybe those in CBD can take them in fashionable areas , sipping away slowly whilst I gulp it down ..... I still like the coffee shop $1.20-$1.50 type 

I can only with 60c kopi .... u atas

3 hours ago, Tianmo said:

close friend of mine, invested $280K in a cafe for his daughter to run.

The cafe lasted 15 months, first 4-5 months was alright, the last 10 months see red every month, until decided to cut loss before the 2 years lease was up. 

Total lost in the end...[:/]

Nowadays genY think everything is smooth smooth like siao  ... everything cum easy . 

Even those in the 20s ... they still mental like a teenage . 

Your friend shld have get his daug to work in a cafe before opening one. 

3 hours ago, Othello said:

dun need luck lah, just enough money [laugh]

It's not really about money cos many people have lost 6-7 digits in f&b. 

It's really luck whether u survive or not. Sometimes even successful f&b entrepreneurs cannot replicate their initial success. Even with their experience. 

27 minutes ago, Angcheek said:

Nowadays genY think everything is smooth smooth like siao  ... everything cum easy . 

Even those in the 20s ... they still mental like a teenage . 

Your friend shld have get his daug to work in a cafe before opening one. 

I think the dg probably did work hard lah. But how many f&b outlet owners didn't work hard. 

Just like how many lazy hawkers are there? Probably not many. 

friend started an ice cream cafe about 14years back, a pretty well known shop now.

Learnt the trade by working for others for close to 1.5years. her boss knew what her plans were as she was upfront about it and he didnt mind as long as she didnt open shop in the same area. She was also humble and willing to learn.

Glad that it paid off for her. But would suggest that one learn the ropes from the bottom up as one way to learn. throwing money without understanding the trade well is,  IMHO suicide as many have failed.

22 minutes ago, RogerNg_185295 said:

Is it better to start with a franchise biz like 7 11?

Even worse than starting a cafe...

Mai dun tua people lei..

Franchise business are normally for those with deep deep pockets..forget abt those cheapo franchise .. basically throwing money into the drain... 

Since I’m free now, lemme TCSS wif u....

Got a frd started with a fried chicken Franchise.. nett profit margin 15%..

Take home pay after all the plus plus plus : $3k / mth for at least 12 hrs per day..

After 2 yrs of struggle, surrender..

FFS , dun anyhow suggest this and that without any research nor real life experience... Nbzzz

Edited by Freeder

30 minutes ago, RogerNg_185295 said:

Is it better to start with a franchise biz like 7 11?

Franchise fee, rental and inventories alone is about $200,000 to $250,000. 

Must open 24x7, 365 days a year, owner must be hands on and not just employ some one to run the shop (Written in the contract).

First 6 months prepare to sleep in the store. You go figure out better or not. But so far I understand can make money.[laugh][laugh][laugh]

15 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Looks like longkang water, tastes like longkang water. 

That's why Starbucks thrives! 

If I go US and open a Kopitiam ......... maybe I will earn alot of money too 😁

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

I think the dg probably did work hard lah. But how many f&b outlet owners didn't work hard. 

Just like how many lazy hawkers are there? Probably not many. 

Work hard does not mean "Sure Win" lel .......... it is How they Think that count (e.g. dont worry, leave it to G or leave it to Lady Luck etc etc )  Many  only think of the Positive side , sure earn money one ....... but didnt think of What if Fail ........  Even  worst case close shop , still got a roof by daddy.

Open Cafe itself meaning selling a premium service & product . If they dont think deep deep ,  sure close shop. One shop front around Town Centra , i would guest monthly rental about 12K-16K ,  if you include labour , COGS etc , other admin , taxes , depreciation  etc .... no earn 30K , cannot cover cost. 

1 hour ago, Freeder said:

Even worse than starting a cafe...

Mai dun tua people lei..

Franchise business are normally for those with deep deep pockets..forget abt those cheapo franchise .. basically throwing money into the drain... 

Since I’m free now, lemme TCSS wif u....

Got a frd started with a fried chicken Franchise.. nett profit margin 15%..

Take home pay after all the plus plus plus : $3k / mth for at least 12 hrs per day..

After 2 yrs of struggle, surrender..

FFS , dun anyhow suggest this and that without any research nor real life experience... Nbzzz

Bosch you guru #1 , pls bank your $$ with BankCoe   

1 hour ago, Volvobrick said:

Looks like longkang water, tastes like longkang water. 

That's why Starbucks thrives! 

Smelly smelly need to sell min 200 cup of coffee to cover cost. ....everyday for 365 day

😂

1 hour ago, Angcheek said:

Smelly smelly need to sell min 200 cup of coffee to cover cost. ....everyday for 365 day

😂

Ya. Own boss is like that. Struggle like hell. 1st to come and last to leave.