COVID-19 IV: SG Circuit Breaker EXTENDED TILL 1ST JUNE: 451 New Cases, 1 SG/PR (19 May)

Raubern

Message added by kobayashiGT

22 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

news reported tradehub mc drive thru Q for 45mins

walao eh ... got nothing better to eat? 🤦

Must b for the kids 

25 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

actually a lot of people really is got nothing better to do now, so cut them some slack lah

42 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

Everyone stay home stare at ceiling for so many weeks liao, so lining up 45 mins for macs maciam going on safari adventure sia

1 hour ago, Fitvip said:

They will have to lie down prone for quite some time!

Then how to take knife like that? 😂 😂 

2 hours ago, Wind30 said:

From the numbers, S-pass and Employment pass not included under work permit holders.

FDW is included in work permit holders. So I assume it is for those foreign workers whose pay is lower than the s-pass requirement of 2.4k.

The 664k wp holders not living in dorm include 262k of FDW (maids). I think it also includes a lot of small firm workers like my reno contractor who hire FW but house them in private housing.

https://www.mom.gov.sg/documents-and-publications/foreign-workforce-numbers

The 664k figure is huge, it probably includes large majority of those malaysians that commute daily, not staying in dorms.

1 hour ago, Soya said:

Everyone stay home stare at ceiling for so many weeks liao, so lining up 45 mins for macs maciam going on safari adventure sia

yup. long time never Q already. Suddenly can Q, sibei fun. All join the fun.

Europe is really opening up these few days, no SafeEntry or whatever app tracing also.

They are following different standards, I notice.

For them, it's number of deaths being used as a standard - and this number has gone down over the past few days.

And I am thinking does this really mean the problem is over? Or simply means that the number is going down because the virus has already wiped out the weakest members of their societies, leaving only the stronger ones that survived now.

Edited by Sosaria

40 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

They are following different standards, I notice.

That's the case around the world. And I would say Singapore tends to go for fairly rigid standards .(in both good & bad sense)

42 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

For them, it's number of deaths being used as a standard - and this number has gone down over the past few days.

Europe is less rigid in certain aspects. However, whether & how these result in any material differences is the question:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/commentary/commentary-what-if-a-covid-19-vaccine-doesn-t-emerge-12667326

Are some of the things we are doing now ineffective? Probably. The problem is we don’t know which ones. We need to know this urgently so we’re not wasting time, effort, and resources on things that don’t work.

Certain things I already feel yields diminishing returns, like outdoor mask use when there's noone around. I also read an article which implied that washing your hands generally stops more infections than wearing a mask. And I'm sure there's articles that argues the opposite. 

Currently we do it all relentlessly out of sheer well-placed caution.

Another one is digital tracking apps. I used to think it'd be an excellent tool and we should quickly adopt them universally. However, the more I read about this technology, the less of a panacea I think they're going to be in practice. Even in South Korea, who used this technology very widely, they're still showing clear limits, like the recent night club cluster in Seoul.

Singapore generally relies heavily on digital mass surveillance and automation as these are manpower efficient, so our mindset is geared for these types of solutions, but digital solutions alone can't control or avoid an escalation of cases, as the dorms clearly showed.

1 hour ago, minion said:

yup. long time never Q already. Suddenly can Q, sibei fun. All join the fun.

Actually if you go to hawker centre on weekend, still can see long Q at food stalls during the CB period lo.

Masks! At NTUC Extra Changi UE Business Hub.

20200511_200305.thumb.jpg.1bd321077ac20e1bc58ebd72775ec50f.jpg

20200511_200310.thumb.jpg.4c1f3180ea00f8086f4204e1bcf2926d.jpg

20200511_200325.thumb.jpg.1a336c236d81f8fa159ad131e997f31e.jpg

20200511_200321.thumb.jpg.ea36b4ef39b7bbd4b2c12758743517ff.jpg

Me not related to this business or anything here.

Keep safe all.

27 minutes ago, CremornePt said:

That's the case around the world. And I would say Singapore tends to go for fairly rigid standards .(in both good & bad sense)

Europe is less rigid in certain aspects. However, whether & how these result in any material differences is the question:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/commentary/commentary-what-if-a-covid-19-vaccine-doesn-t-emerge-12667326

Are some of the things we are doing now ineffective? Probably. The problem is we don’t know which ones. We need to know this urgently so we’re not wasting time, effort, and resources on things that don’t work.

Certain things I already feel yields diminishing returns, like outdoor mask use when there's noone around. I also read an article which implied that washing your hands generally stops more infections than wearing a mask. And I'm sure there's articles that argues the opposite. 

Currently we do it all relentlessly out of sheer well-placed caution.

Another one is digital tracking apps. I used to think it'd be an excellent tool and we should quickly adopt them universally. However, the more I read about this technology, the less of a panacea I think they're going to be in practice. Even in South Korea, who used this technology very widely, they're still showing clear limits, like the recent night club cluster in Seoul.

Singapore generally relies heavily on digital mass surveillance and automation as these are manpower efficient, so our mindset is geared for these types of solutions, but digital solutions alone can't control or avoid an escalation of cases, as the dorms clearly showed.

Talking about qr code to scan to enter to shopping malls, supermarket and etc.. There are some which only have qr code.. So those elderly who is totally clueless on qr code thing or have struggle using smartphone other then make basic phone call would have trouble. This thing would be like alian to them. It seems like the shift would be too great for them that these elderly people will be the one that will be left out by the society just because of the mindset of.. Follow the in thing or latest trend on what youngsters are having or doing.. But hey don't forget about the elderly please.. So to those shopping malls or etc that only have qr code to scan and then go into the website to login singpass to access.. Why not also have a 2nd option that can scan Ic too.. This is to ensure that these elderly are not left out... 

Hope when authorities go inspect these shopping malls, supermarket and etc and see that they only have 1 option of going in which is to scan qr code only.. To instruct these malls or supermarket or etc to also have 2nd option to allow scan ic to gain entry too.. 

Edited by Yewheng