I hate my job. Should i quit now?

Sunlight

4 hours ago, Ganwb79 said:

I sort of did the same.. Walked into a showroom 2 weeks before my last birthday looking to burn some time and chill. 1 day before my birthday collect keys to new car 😑

Sadly I do not have the means to keep up this kind of retail therapy. At most 5-10 yrs once. 

Stinger zoom zoom can help to destress a bit. Just watch out for TP. 😂

20 hours ago, RadX said:

you know how i cope?

i buy a new car....i kid you not

the last time, i was so depressed that i went into a car showroom and bought a car....regretted and changed again after 4 months ..🤣

Bro, I can only buy remote control car 

giphy.gif

9 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

Interesting thread.

Not a good time to quit but if you don't have much commitment, why not?

After my company ceased operations, I also worked at a fried chicken place for 6 months. Can eat all the freshly fried chicken and side dishes....haha. Unhealthy for our age though. Free flow of soft drinks. 

Pay is low so only do it if you want a job that doesn't need much brain cells. 

Agree, I've worked in fast food chains during school days and it's quite interesting to be hands on. For me, work gets done by doing it, not talking about it (forgive me but I have no respect for people who just talk and don't do).

Health is also another factor. If the job is creating health issues, I'll advise TS to think again because that'll be very costly in time to come; may not be a bad idea to take a break.

3 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

Bro, I can only buy remote control car 

giphy.gif

I better. I just bought the new sigma 85mm f1.4 DG DN lens... even though I don't shoot anymore because no vacations. 

Not many people can buy cars to destress... for me, it is usually a new tech toy. I see most people here are not that bad lah... worst is those who is tight in money... I can't imagine being trapped in a shit job with debts or children to feed...

I am trying out a mindfulness book, something like meditation. Vs retail therapy it is much cheaper... not sure if it works though. Still starting. 

I think this is something most ppl will encounter at some stage of their career. Dealing with difficult ppl around you.

Toxic ppl will offload crap as much as they want on you but you might want to focus on what is priority and prioritise. For me I learned how to focus on the important things and stay out of trouble. And most importantly learn how to defend your position and not let toxic ppl get to you. You cant ignore everyone and hide forever. Since you are promoted learn how to arrow tasks to other ppl who zhoboh, dont do everything yourself. If you take the easy way out you wont go far.

Good luck.

1 hour ago, Windwaver said:

. For me, work gets done by doing it, not talking about it (forgive me but I have no respect for people who just talk and don't do).

i assume you don't work with a certain group of people from a certain country then.😁

also the higher you go, the more lonely you get.

Try to mix around with your other colleagues who don't report to you. you will probably find that they have the same issues.

also the higher you go, the more lonely you get.

Try to mix around with your other colleagues who don't report to you. you will probably find that they have the same issues.

TS, a few questions you have to ask yourself.

1) Are you dragging your feet to work each day?

2) Are you losing sleep at night thinking about your work and how to face the next day?

If both answers are yes, perhaps it is time to do something about it. If the answer is no, I feel you have not reached the breaking point yet, maybe unhappy but still can tahan type.

Although debt free, do you have other commitment such family, schooling kids, ageing parents etc? If you are married, the best person to talk to is your spouse. Whether he/she is supportive of your action.

• Sad 1

30 minutes ago, Roh96 said:

TS, a few questions you have to ask yourself.

1) Are you dragging your feet to work each day?

2) Are you losing sleep at night thinking about your work and how to face the next day?

1) everyday party till late night so next morning too tire need to drag feet to work.

2) duno what to do at work, must think of something to entertain.

[laugh]  [laugh]

5 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

1) everyday party till late night so next morning too tire need to drag feet to work.

2) duno what to do at work, must think of something to entertain.

[laugh]  [laugh]

You win liao lor. 🤣

6 hours ago, Mkl22 said:

i assume you don't work with a certain group of people from a certain country then.😁

Of course yes, especially when I used to go CBP for meeting.

Even MBFC also a lot.

19 hours ago, Ganwb79 said:

I sort of did the same.. Walked into a showroom 2 weeks before my last birthday looking to burn some time and chill. 1 day before my birthday collect keys to new car 😑

Sadly I do not have the means to keep up this kind of retail therapy. At most 5-10 yrs once. 

so by now, you would walked into the rim showroom and detailing showroom already?

😅🤣

20 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

Of course yes, especially when I used to go CBP for meeting.

Even MBFC also a lot.

It’s not called Chennai Business Park and MumBai Financial Centre for nothing. 😆

Edited by Fcw75

Lucky I prefer to go massage parlour instead of car showroom to de-stress.

So much cheaper.

:grin:

image.png.24bd1f70979ada7199c893f7b1810a6e.png

Edited by Jamesc

Hahaha. seem like lots of guys hit mid life crisis around 50. when we are more stable, start to think if our life is happy