Fitvip Supersonic July 9, 2021 Share July 9, 2021 (edited) On 7/8/2021 at 10:18 AM, Spidey10 said: for ceca, what is the trade deal ? - India can gain access to SG and send over workers and SG to gain access to India and do some trade? So have our trade expanded with India? or any of our Citizen send over to India to work? The question to ask should be: How much of our investments have gone down the drain? Edited July 9, 2021 by Fitvip ↡ Advertisement 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged July 9, 2021 Share July 9, 2021 13 hours ago, Didu said: GCT is saying Govt is in full control of the number of PR & foreign workers. 80k too much? Then just bring it down to 30k. What OYK & TSL convey in parliament is quite different. "...because of fintech, and digital industry needs, most of the qualified foreign applicants are from India...No special privilege given at our border control...What we're seeing is a result of market force.." I think they're not telling the whole truth. In fact, the Govt controls EVERYTHING. KNN I think most of us have this idea of foreign labour [migrant workers] n foreign talent club together and that makes it a very ultra messy conversation.. we do not put an Australian and American as one n the same . Only similarity in most cases is they are Caucasian. so the resourcing is a very important factor. Be it nurses , doctors or IT engineers.. I don’t see a problem in that equation to bring in people to help build homes and tend to the sick snd helpless for the Agong population. but I think we can rethink the whole equation of hiring landscape for some of the white collar workers especially if it means only hiring from a particular group from a single source destination. that effectively rule out the ability for the next generation to have a job or a high paying job because it’s a matter of knowing who in order to get the job vs hiring on meritocracy which have serve us well. if things have evolved and we still get hung up on meritocracy, then it’s. Form of disruption that we should be aware of snd adapt. but we should not be made into a cotton sheep situation where we are been shoehorn our place in life as a blue collar worker. And it’s not because we are just not “talented “ enough but more of been made into a blue collar poverty cycle for the next generation because we are not in the inner circle in life. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMmadman 6th Gear July 9, 2021 Share July 9, 2021 15 hours ago, Ash2017 said: I don't have any opinion of individuals who take offence to any particular nationality. But bear in mind the following: 1. Stop being an ostrich, keeping thinking Singapore is the centre of universe and neighbors near and far owe us a living. 2. Some brag about giving business to Malaysia by buying their basic groceries / cheap petrol / meals including properties. But ask yourself why do you need to go to Malaysia, you Mother Teresa doing charity? 3. Some can't wait to punish China with trade blocks or even send our army their to show them we meant business. Please do to your supermarket, how many products come from China. 4. Why punish the South Asian here? You don't open your house door when people knock, they can go in and cook their chapati meh. 5. Those working here (majority) are also just working for a living and hoping to create a better life for their families back home. They are not just sitting around in air-cond collecting 100,000s of dollars each year. Find solutions by identifying the root of the problem. Well said. Its a hard truth. V hv to accept in order to 'play' wif new world. Even spore b chinapore, china wun protect us, ccb jus screwd us wif terrex issue n others. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic101 6th Gear July 9, 2021 Share July 9, 2021 (edited) Not sure whether this is true. S’porean working in the finance sector for 15 years says he quit because in a department with ‘23 staff, 22 were from India and 1 was a Chinese based in HK’ https://theindependent.sg/sporean-working-in-the-finance-sector-for-15-years-says-he-quit-because-in-a-department-with-23-staff-22-were-from-india-and-1-was-a-chinese-based-in-hk/ Edited July 9, 2021 by Civic101 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged July 9, 2021 Share July 9, 2021 On 7/8/2021 at 1:15 PM, Weez911 said: I think this Tan See Leng is cunningly trying to frame it in such a way that ceca is a FTA, and all FTA are good, hence viva la ceca! But hor, people here have already highlighted all the other issues that Singaporeans care about. I doubt most Singaporeans hate FTA, but when people come in with dubious credentials, bring in their own culture and people in thousands, have a I'm mightier than you attitude and when they see their own friends and relatives doing grab and delivery, they tend to make their own judgments. I don't recall us having a lot of major issues with other nationalities prior to 2005 but this one is like a thorn in the flesh and constantly in people's conversations since then. Pap is doing damage control now. They still cannot reverse the provisions of the ceca agreement and they are risking their entire political future in it. They can't think of any other ways to increase GDP already. And the choice is very clear to voters. If you like ceca, vote pap. If you don't, vote for WP. If WP happens to win this election (a long shot), then they know they have to steer clear from ceca. It's almost like a common sense thing for them, and good for us in a democracy. They can be doing whatever damage control whatsoever and try to fudge the statistics. To me, the only thing they will understand is another loss at the polls, full stop. A series of huge setback at the polls will be their only wake up call. 5 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged July 9, 2021 Share July 9, 2021 On 7/8/2021 at 9:34 PM, Windwaver said: You're being very humble my friend but we're not playing catch up, we're wayyyyyyyyyy behind. I'm pretty sure many of us in this forum has worked abroad one way or the other. I've seen countries move forward so much faster than us and like some said, majority of our economy is SME and look at how 'fast' they have move and it seems that ivory tower wasn't in a rush either. Thing is, don't shift the blame to the people, we ain't paid millions of dollars a year Got la, we got move ahead la. Tray return ambassadors lor, which other country has such a role? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic July 9, 2021 Share July 9, 2021 1 hour ago, Lethalstrike said: They can be doing whatever damage control whatsoever and try to fudge the statistics. To me, the only thing they will understand is another loss at the polls, full stop. A series of huge setback at the polls will be their only wake up call. They should've just come out and admit they made policy mistakes and are trying to remedy... But nnOoOOoooo... they must make a show of it to maintain the facade of infallibility... exert dominance..🙄 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 3 hours ago, Lethalstrike said: They can be doing whatever damage control whatsoever and try to fudge the statistics. To me, the only thing they will understand is another loss at the polls, full stop. A series of huge setback at the polls will be their only wake up call. Dont think loss at the polls will be their wake up call lo. You see they still do whatever they think is correct even losing polls liao. 🙄 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brass 6th Gear July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 9 minutes ago, 13177 said: Dont think loss at the polls will be their wake up call lo. You see they still do whatever they think is correct even losing polls liao. 🙄 The strongest attribute of the pap is to push harsh but right policies down people's throats, like NS for women and etc due to their strong electoral showing and people's faith in them, but somehow they don't dare to challenge the situation. This can also be seen in the candidates fielded in opposition wards being of less calibre than other teams. If they want to show their sincerity, they ought to fill retiring ministers there such that if they lose, they retire, and if they win, they contribute to pap significantly. TLDR: pap is stuck in a mold of their own and they are too afraid to take risks to win the hearts of the populace despite being perfectly able to do so. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 (edited) 21 hours ago, yishunite said: https://www.ft.com/content/8a35725f-2133-4c54-9a21-80b4c749057d Why this sob sob story I read as not so sob sob Everytime a foreigner leaves, we will lose a panda food delivery guy, a security guard, a grab driver and a cleaner. Pap say 1 FT creates 4 local jobs... Edited July 10, 2021 by Weez911 1 2 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 On 7/8/2021 at 11:34 AM, Lotr said: I know DBS and singtel invested there How did they do? Profitable? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 3 minutes ago, Weez911 said: Everytime a foreigner leaves, we will lose a panda food delivery guy, a security, a grab driver and a cleaner. Pap say 1 FT creates 4 local jobs... Oh no!!!!!! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 2 hours ago, Brass said: The strongest attribute of the pap is to push harsh but right policies down people's throats, like NS for women and etc due to their strong electoral showing and people's faith in them, but somehow they don't dare to challenge the situation. FTA is good for a small trade independent economy like Singapore and they tell us the FT numbers are carefully regulated and managed. All is good then. We should continue to vote for PAP becoz the unhappiness from the ground are just not real. So many gig jobs around, where got problem? 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 2 hours ago, Brass said: The strongest attribute of the pap is to push harsh but right policies down people's throats, like NS for women and etc due to their strong electoral showing and people's faith in them, but somehow they don't dare to challenge the situation. This can also be seen in the candidates fielded in opposition wards being of less calibre than other teams. If they want to show their sincerity, they ought to fill retiring ministers there such that if they lose, they retire, and if they win, they contribute to pap significantly. TLDR: pap is stuck in a mold of their own and they are too afraid to take risks to win the hearts of the populace despite being perfectly able to do so. ya what happen to the ivan guy? the one that is keppel manager and kenna taken out? (ivan is his name right?) 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 6 minutes ago, Voodooman said: So many gig jobs around, where got problem? Gig jobs require more in-depth studies. No one look into why they are doing Gig. Sometime it is not because they lost their previous job. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Influencer_marketing Influencer marketing Influencer marketing is a form of social media marketing involving endorsements and product placement from influencers, people and organizations who have a purported expert level of knowledge or social influence in their field. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 (edited) [Local] Looking at Congress from the data The 14th Congress officially opened on August 24 last year. So far, 32 Congresses have been held, 30 bills have been passed, and as many as 2,080 Congress’s questions have been raised. There are 93 seats in the current Congress. There are 10 opposition MPs from the Workers’ Party. This is the largest number of opposition MPs since independence. Judging from the number of questions asked by members, the highest number of questions so far is Yishun GRC member Huang Guoguang (112 times), followed by Aljunied GRC member Bellian (105 times) and Aljunied GRC member Yan Yansong (80 times) ). Among the top 15 people, the number of questions ranged from 42 to 112, and nearly half (7) came from the Workers’ Party. In addition, among the 16 government departments, the Ministry of Health (357 times) gave the most answers, followed by the Ministry of National Development (282 times), the Ministry of Manpower (230 times), the Ministry of Transportation (171 times), and the Ministry of Education (167 times). ). (Report/Picture: The Straits Times) Edited July 10, 2021 by Jellandross Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 59 minutes ago, yishunite said: Career progression: Junior rider (bicycle) Senior rider (e-bike) Junior moto rider (2a license) Senior moto rider (2b license) Grab rental car driver Self-owned car Grab driver Career endpoint: $2.5k/mth plus own car shiok anot??? take how long to reach the endpoint? ↡ Advertisement 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...