Lala81 Hypersonic May 27 Author Share May 27 I'm kinda confused by this Shopee ad. Why they write 12mm hole? If not 14mm hole. Then how can u hammer the 14mm base in? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic May 27 Share May 27 On 5/27/2026 at 8:44 PM, Lala81 said: I'm kinda confused by this Shopee ad. Why they write 12mm hole? If not 14mm hole. Then how can u hammer the 14mm base in? With a big hammer! Tighter better! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 27 Author Share May 27 On 5/27/2026 at 8:49 PM, Volvobrick said: With a big hammer! Tighter better! Haha this is steel leh. Not plastic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 27 Share May 27 On 5/27/2026 at 1:27 PM, Lala81 said: Fug man. Damn sian. Installed this and cleaned up cos lots of concrete dust from the drilling. Spent like few hours. Then went to try and it came loose. Drilled two diagonal holes each side then installed the expansion bolts. The hex bolt drill driver I bought is too small so hand tightened. I think I didn't think it through properly. Probably drilled too deep a hole. If I may, the anchor needs to be behind the white metal plate you are mounting. step1. Back out the nut till the til of the bolt. Insert the bolt into the wall without the bar. Tighten the bolt till you feel resistance. step2: back out the bolt and then mount the bar. Add washers over the bolt and then put back the nut and then tighten tight. Then done. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 27 Share May 27 (edited) On 5/27/2026 at 9:18 PM, Mkl22 said: If I may, the anchor needs to be behind the white metal plate you are mounting. step1. Back out the nut till the til of the bolt. Insert the bolt into the wall without the bar. Tighten the bolt till you feel resistance. step2: back out the bolt and then mount the bar. Add washers over the bolt and then put back the nut and then tighten tight. Then done. Correction back out the nut. the white plate will help to hold the sleeve in place. As you crank down the nut. Edited May 27 by Mkl22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged May 27 Share May 27 On 5/27/2026 at 7:43 PM, mersaylee said: Can try apply some loctite or cement glue before insertion... From the pics seem the hole slightly big.. no need lubrication.. ops i meant loctite or cement glue may not work.. need a bigger screw bolts set.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic May 27 Share May 27 On 5/27/2026 at 8:35 PM, Lala81 said: I used the correct bit size. drilled the correct size which is a 14mm sleeve diameter. The screw thread is M10. One problem with this supplier provided expansion bolt is that it's 85mm long but the sleeve length itself is 65mm already. Which only allows 2cm for the nut to tighten against. Ultimately I need enough of the exposed screw for the plate of the pull-up bar to hang off. Whereas the example here from Shopee gives 25mm or 30mm. Probably the sleeve inside is not expanding properly. The left supporting plate is bit deformed so the bottom half is not touching the wall. Tap the head lightly inwards. See if you can hand-wiggle by holding onto the thread, the whole bolt out and check the sleeve. If the sleeve had not expanded, it should come out. Maybe that bolt is a poor design. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic May 27 Share May 27 On 5/27/2026 at 8:44 PM, Lala81 said: I'm kinda confused by this Shopee ad. Why they write 12mm hole? If not 14mm hole. Then how can u hammer the 14mm base in? I have expansion bolts marked M8. When I measure, the base is 8mm, the sleeve is slightly smaller 7.6mm. So the correct size hole is 8mm. The thread head length is 3cm. However this is not stainless steel. I can't recall why I buy non-SS, perhaps it was cheaper or that SS sleeve is harder to flare open, so it may not engage properly. Maybe you try one that is non SS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 28 Author Share May 28 (edited) On 5/27/2026 at 9:18 PM, Mkl22 said: If I may, the anchor needs to be behind the white metal plate you are mounting. step1. Back out the nut till the til of the bolt. Insert the bolt into the wall without the bar. Tighten the bolt till you feel resistance. step2: back out the bolt and then mount the bar. Add washers over the bolt and then put back the nut and then tighten tight. Then done. On 5/27/2026 at 10:41 PM, Mkl22 said: Correction back out the nut. the white plate will help to hold the sleeve in place. As you crank down the nut. Hmm If i get you correctly, 1. Insert the bolt until the sleeve is inside the hole 2. Then already tighten the nut up until the expansion sleeve partly expands and more of the screw thread is exposed. Then it should at least be snug with resistance 3. Then reverse the nut out, mount the pullup bar plate and finally totally tighten the nut up? I was damn stupid the last time, never checked how big the nut was, then bought the adaptors which only reached size 13mm. But the external dimensions of the nut is 16mm. Ordered the 16mm hexagon nut adaptor for my small makita impact driver. Lol never even used it before cos it came as a set with my drill. Edited May 28 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 28 Share May 28 On 5/28/2026 at 8:39 AM, Lala81 said: Hmm If i get you correctly, 1. Insert the bolt until the sleeve is inside the hole 2. Then already tighten the nut up until the expansion sleeve partly expands and more of the screw thread is exposed. Then it should at least be snug with resistance 3. Then reverse the nut out, mount the pullup bar plate and finally totally tighten the nut up? I was damn stupid the last time, never checked how big the nut was, then bought the adaptors which only reached size 13mm. But the external dimensions of the nut is 16mm. Ordered the 16mm hexagon nut adaptor for my small makita impact driver. Lol never even used it before cos it came as a set with my drill. Yes correct. Just make sure the whole sleeve is fully inserted, with the nut backed out all the way. The sleeve should be semi snug in the hole when you insert. Else the hole might be too big if it’s very loose inside. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 28 Share May 28 If the hole too long, you need to put in Liquid Nail glue or Construction adhesive glue to fill the hole. Then insert the mounting bolts. Let the glue dry then put pressure on the bolts. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 28 Share May 28 Can also use ring or open spanner to tighten the nuts. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged May 29 Share May 29 Anyone knows where to buy such brackets here? TIA https://us.amazon.com/DISPLAYS101-Gridwall-Brackets-Slatgrid-Display/dp/B0BQ3Z2WRX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 29 Author Share May 29 (edited) On 5/29/2026 at 3:30 PM, Kklim said: Anyone knows where to buy such brackets here? TIA https://us.amazon.com/DISPLAYS101-Gridwall-Brackets-Slatgrid-Display/dp/B0BQ3Z2WRX just take screenshot of the most distinctive image and search in shopee/lazada Edited May 29 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 29 Share May 29 On 5/29/2026 at 3:30 PM, Kklim said: Anyone knows where to buy such brackets here? TIA https://us.amazon.com/DISPLAYS101-Gridwall-Brackets-Slatgrid-Display/dp/B0BQ3Z2WRX Not easy to find. Need customised metal work. Can try Taobao or Aliexpress, see who can make for u. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged May 29 Share May 29 On 5/29/2026 at 3:48 PM, Adrianli said: Not easy to find. Need customised metal work. Can try Taobao or Aliexpress, see who can make for u. On 5/29/2026 at 3:44 PM, Lala81 said: just take screenshot of the most distinctive image and search in shopee/lazada Thanks, guys! Found it on Lazada MY. Bohpian gotta visit MIL liao 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 29 Share May 29 On 5/28/2026 at 8:39 AM, Lala81 said: Hmm If i get you correctly, 1. Insert the bolt until the sleeve is inside the hole 2. Then already tighten the nut up until the expansion sleeve partly expands and more of the screw thread is exposed. Then it should at least be snug with resistance 3. Then reverse the nut out, mount the pullup bar plate and finally totally tighten the nut up? I was damn stupid the last time, never checked how big the nut was, then bought the adaptors which only reached size 13mm. But the external dimensions of the nut is 16mm. Ordered the 16mm hexagon nut adaptor for my small makita impact driver. Lol never even used it before cos it came as a set with my drill. So how? Fixed? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 29 Author Share May 29 On 5/29/2026 at 5:54 PM, Mkl22 said: So how? Fixed? waiting for my 16mm bolt driver adaptor from shopee. Tightening by hand is sibei sian. I so bui bui, i think better drill another 2 top holes/bolt so that using 3 points each side. 😆 And also need to have some mental preparation for the cleanup which is a bitch. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...