Simple home DIY repairs

Lala81

11 hours ago, Hamburger said:

I tried superglue and it worked.

But after few times of usage, the heat got onto it and came off.

food related stuff cannot use superglue.. 

Heat does not play well with superglue as well.

29 minutes ago, Somewhat1975 said:

suggest not to try those unknown glue on food related stuff. These glue, welding, and bonding materials might not be food graded.  throw away and buy a new one lah. 

Agree. Safer way is to buy a similar handle that comes with screw thread (and maybe screws included), then punch the holes in the lid and secure with screws.

Thanks for the advice.

I didn't know spot welding looks like that when it breaks apart.
Its an inexpensive item, so just seeing if can be salvaged (not that it's unusable now), but a SS container used to let hot/boiling water cool down to room temp without a handle lid is pretty useless haha

15 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Thanks for the advice.

Its an inexpensive item, so just seeing if can be salvaged (not that it's unusable now), but a SS container used to let hot/boiling water cool down to room temp without a handle lid is pretty useless haha

Use this. 😂

Removable but if kalao on your foot not my prob.

clear_small_car_glass_suckercar_windshield_sunshade_pvc_sucker_1571832201_dd926f530_progressive.thumb.jpg.43ffcc9880cbb80ecbdfeae811977bc5.jpg

1 minute ago, Stratovarius said:

Use this. 😂

Removable but if kalao on your foot not my prob.

clear_small_car_glass_suckercar_windshield_sunshade_pvc_sucker_1571832201_dd926f530_progressive.thumb.jpg.43ffcc9880cbb80ecbdfeae811977bc5.jpg

HAHAHA. That's quite funny. 

Just drill a hole on the lid, put a nylon string, tied 2 knots one on the inner part of it and one just on top of the lid (so it will not fall into the water). Can use many more years.

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

Thanks for the advice.

Huh inexpensive all the more shd just replace mah. Expensive then try to salvage, no?

My recent DIY...got locked from outside of bedroom due to faulty door lock and whacked it. Lucky not locked from inside, else dunno use what to whack open.

Lesson learnt, once see signs of faulty door lock, change immediately.

20200829_121938.jpg

20200923_141646.jpg

7 minutes ago, badlammy said:

Huh inexpensive all the more shd just replace mah. Expensive then try to salvage, no?

Only a small component of it is spoilt mah. Just the lid handle. This one is like 20% broken, so ask lor.
If the main handle break, of course throw away lah.

It's not about the $ issue. There are many things i throw away and discard if I find them unusable.
I honestly didn't even notice it wasn't a screw on handle like my other one, until it broke.

45 minutes ago, badlammy said:

My recent DIY...got locked from outside of bedroom due to faulty door lock and whacked it. Lucky not locked from inside, else dunno use what to whack open.

Lesson learnt, once see signs of faulty door lock, change immediately.

20200829_121938.jpg

20200923_141646.jpg

No need to whacked or damaged the lock. There is a trick to open locked door with this type of lock, can easily open it within 5 minutes with the right stuff. I didn't know this type of lock can be easily open until 2008.

Edited by Leo72
more comment

3 minutes ago, Leo72 said:

No need to whacked or damaged the lock. There is a trick to open locked door with this type of lock, can easily open it within 5 minutes with the right stuff. I didn't know this type of lock can be easily open until 2008.

I ever tried using a credit card to open such lock but failed. So came the locksmith, he use the same card and open the door in 5 secs. 😭 15 bucks gone just like that...

3 minutes ago, Leo72 said:

Share how leh...

I was rushing to go out and my walk-in wardrobe is linked to my bedroom with no separate access. Also tried to slot a mouse pad to push the catch but cannot. So in the end whacked lor.