Simple home DIY repairs

Lala81

On 12/20/2025 at 10:54 AM, Mkl22 said:

Well you get 50cents for all your hard work. Only way to get rid of it will be to put it into a vending machine and let them deal with it. 
For some vending, you get a new coin when you slot your coin in, and push the coin return lever. Don’t really have to buy anything. 😆

Sekali vending machine also kena jam...must find one without cctv...or try with a full face helmet... 😅

Intertesting video for holiday viewing 😂

I'm surprised the neighbours allowed them to drill and dig... in Singapore,  tan gu gu ah.

Separately,  i once visited a new landed unit in Serangoon garden. Owner was doing renovation. 

In the basement,  water was bubbling up between the tiles like a spring. I asked him why not ask builder come back do? He said he bought it cheap in "as is" condition. So lan lan... likely seller knew got problem. Dunno how it ended😅

O

On 12/25/2025 at 5:02 AM, Playtime said:

Intertesting video for holiday viewing 😂

I'm surprised the neighbours allowed them to drill and dig... in Singapore,  tan gu gu ah.

Separately,  i once visited a new landed unit in Serangoon garden. Owner was doing renovation. 

In the basement,  water was bubbling up between the tiles like a spring. I asked him why not ask builder come back do? He said he bought it cheap in "as is" condition. So lan lan... likely seller knew got problem. Dunno how it ended😅

O

Yeah biggest risk of building basements is water seepage. 

How did the Sg guy solve the issue? 

On 12/25/2025 at 4:13 PM, Volvobrick said:

Change tyre...😁

On 12/25/2025 at 4:13 PM, Volvobrick said:

I dunno how... he was pretty resigned to the screw up.

Like he told me, he bought it in "as is" condition quick sale, black and white in purchase agreement. He probably tot he got a bargain. 🤦

owner probably cleaned up during sale visit,  but liao later problem worsen. Lan lan lor...

Thing is basement is accessed by small staircase, how to redo the flooring🤨🤷‍♂️

On 1/13/2026 at 5:53 PM, Volvobrick said:

New HDB's using dry walls like office now? 

I remember I read somewhere, next generation of BTO can option out non structural wall. Even now the BTO partition wall are also some form of dry wall.

On 1/13/2026 at 5:53 PM, Volvobrick said:

New HDB's using dry walls like office now? 

even new condos all have dry walls as non structural walls. Part of BCA requirement I believe.

Today repaired the micro switch in my built-in combo steam oven. Oven was not sensing that the door was closed. 

Bought the switch assembly (and one spare) from the TB oven seller, brought back yesterday. Pulled out (man it was tight) and opened up the oven, and found out seller sent me a wrong assembly! 

The micro switch is a standard one which I have some lying around. So cut the cables, used some flat female connectors to slot into the new microswitch. Tested before closing up (do surgeons do it also?). Alas - still control panel showed door open all the time! 

Not giving up, opened and closed the door a few times. And discovered that there was no clicking sound. Turned out the white rod that was pushing against the micro switch was not going deep enough to trigger the switch (don't we always need it to be just a little longer?). 

Simple problem, and simple solution is to bend the spring trigger of the switch outwards a little more to get around the length problem. Now door closed with a proper click. Turned on the power, and everything worked as it should. Off power again, closed up the oven and pushed it back into the tight hole.

Going to return the useless parts to TB seller. All in probably 20 cent for the micro switch and a bit of my time. Luckily I have my electric screw driver (which ran out of charge halfway) and my trusty Milwaukee drill/driver and torx bits to deal with the 20 - 30 screws. Saved $1000 and the planet.

20260125_193810213.thumb.JPG.03ca52af87283879e51545e8211d0c3f.JPG

Edited by Volvobrick

My Irwin pliers rusty. Crap…

feel like throwing. Only 2yrs but used for plumbing and hence gets wet. 

Knipex will be rust free? 

IMG_7022.jpeg

On 2/1/2026 at 10:23 PM, Mkl22 said:

My Irwin pliers rusty. Crap…

feel like throwing. Only 2yrs but used for plumbing and hence gets wet. 

Knipex will be rust free? 

IMG_7022.jpeg

you ownself see

these are all knipex with different finishes

non plated - non plated - non plated/black oxide - chrome plated

all very old, 20 years old I think

20260201_223605.thumb.jpg.86df487c043e6ea03de35cd8346d837f.jpg

Now it decided to take off pants. 🤣

time for it to go I guess. 
Not sure what I can do to glue it back in place? I think anything I use will see it loosen over time. 

IMG_7024.jpeg

On 2/2/2026 at 6:56 AM, Mkl22 said:

Not sure what I can do to glue it back in place? I think anything I use will see it loosen over time. 

IMG_7024.jpeg

Rust won't affect performance.... Using old tools looks more pro! 

If really bothered, attach a sanding wbeel/brush to a drill and sand away the rust.

On 2/1/2026 at 10:40 PM, Gnahp said:

you ownself see

these are all knipex with different finishes

non plated - non plated - non plated/black oxide - chrome plated

all very old, 20 years old I think

20260201_223605.thumb.jpg.86df487c043e6ea03de35cd8346d837f.jpg

We all can now see what chew getting for valentines day...some extramarital new loves...😁

On 2/2/2026 at 6:56 AM, Mkl22 said:

IMG_7024.jpeg

Can try glue with some toothpick inserts insai...🤞😁

On 2/2/2026 at 8:16 AM, Volvobrick said:

Rust won't affect performance.... Using old tools looks more pro! 

If really bothered, attach a sanding wbeel/brush to a drill and sand away the rust.

yeah, those are just surface rust

there is a very effective way to remove it

soak them in evaporust

easy, effective but expensive

wait I tio-ed toto, I will buy a few 20L buckets of evaporust to soak my rusty tools 😁