Singapore Property Scene Discussion

therock

On 2/15/2024 at 3:18 PM, Hubwee said:

SLA / URA should come out with laws lo .... All private landed houses , cars must be parked inside own house compound , not on the public roads outside their houses lo ...

Land too small , buy smaller car or just have 1 car lo ... why allow public roads to be used by these landed owners to park their private cars .... Free parking somemore and got other cars park their slot , they not happy somemore ....   

But some private landed their front porch really small until even small car also cannot go in le, then also cannot fault the owner lo. 😅 Only those that can park one car inside the car but still park their car outside public road then must penalty them.

Anyway, really don't understand why gahment allow these private landed owners to park their car outside their house which is a public road for free le? Unless the owner also pays for the road infront their house as part of their house price.

On 2/15/2024 at 12:31 PM, Fitmugen said:

Took a look at the Whampoa terrace houses. Actually it seems like a nice place to stay. Plenty of HDB parking, and seems like a quiet neighborhood. Short drive to whampoa market and accessible to CTE.

Compare this to “real” landed enclaves like Luxus Hill where the indiscriminate parking makes it look like a slum.

1.28m for a corner terrace with good land size is not bad a deal. Maybe buyer is a retiree who already has set aside money for his children. This seems like an ideal retirement home.

Luxus Hills… so many cars there. It’s like each house got 2 to 3 and it chokes up the whole road.

but the festive light ups quite nice though

On 2/15/2024 at 3:29 PM, 13177 said:

But some private landed their front porch really small until even small car also cannot go in le, then also cannot fault the owner lo. 😅 Only those that can park one car inside the car but still park their car outside public road then must penalty them.

Anyway, really don't understand why gahment allow these private landed owners to park their car outside their house which is a public road for free le? Unless the owner also pays for the road infront their house as part of their house price.

If front porch too small , then owners have to do something to extend or expand it or dig basement to park their own cars lo ... Or else , go park at legal carparks nearby ... dun be so self entitled pricks lo ...  use rubbish bins / flower pots to reserved space to park own private car on public roads ... 

i ever purposely parked one of my cars at Namly ave there for almost 1 month to piss SD owner there lo .... knn , front porch got space to park , insist space 2 house down is his regular lot ... me park liao , after drinks at my friend house , ask him to send me home while i left my car there for almost 1 month lo ... 

Edited by Hubwee

On 2/15/2024 at 3:39 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

Luxus Hills… so many cars there. It’s like each house got 2 to 3 and it chokes up the whole road.

but the festive light ups quite nice though

Nowadays even in HDB, can also find one household with more than 1 car. So if stay in those landed house, having 2-3 cars in each house is standard lo.

On 2/15/2024 at 3:50 PM, Hubwee said:

If front porch too small , then owners have to do something to extend or expand it or dig basement to park their own cars lo ... Or else , go park at legal carparks nearby ... dun be so self entitled pricks lo ...  use rubbish bins / flower pots to reserved space to park own private car on public roads ... 

i ever purposely parked one of my cars at Namly ave there for almost 1 month to piss SD owner there lo .... knn , front porch got space to park , insist space 2 house down is his regular lot ... me park liao , after drinks at my friend house , ask him to send me home while i left my car there for almost 1 month lo ... 

last time my neighbor more CB. he parked his 2 cars to sandwich some vans/lorries belonging to a chap who lives in a condo nearby. the chap kept parking his fleet of vans and block the road. nothing illegal but just kiam kanna and refuse to pay for parking elsewhere. Police was called and the neighbor explain to the police that we all park very closely and just have to inform each other to move and we can shift our cars out. but for outsiders, too bad. 😁

after a while the guy got the message and no longer parks his commercial vehicles there.

Edited by Mkl22

On 2/15/2024 at 3:50 PM, Hubwee said:

You power siah, parked your car there for 1 month just to piss off that house owner and let your car idle for 1 month. 😅  Your car still in one piece, nothing gone missing ar?!

I think cannot totally fault those landed house owners for parking their car on public roads. The authorities should bear most of the fault for not doing anything on this issue and allowing those owners to park.

On 2/15/2024 at 3:59 PM, Mkl22 said:

last time my neighbor more CB. he parked his 2 cars to sandwich some vans/lorries belonging to a chap who lives in a condo nearby. the chap kept parking his fleet of vans and block the road. nothing illegal but just kiam kanna and refuse to pay for parking elsewhere. Police was called and the neighbor explain to the police that we all park very closely and just have to inform each other to move and we can shift our cars out. but for outsiders, too bad. 😁

Some people really one kind, really don't know what to say lo. 😂

On 2/15/2024 at 3:59 PM, Mkl22 said:

after a while the guy got the message and no longer parks his commercial vehicles there.

Unless the vans / lorries is parked in such a way that blocks the road , then fair enough ... if not , your neighbor is a self entitled kiam kanna lo ... he owns that public road ? he lucky he never kena those crazy owners , just hiong hiong drive out lo .. most to most claim insurance , end up see who have to waste more time lo ...

Its a public road , whether residents or so call visitors or even outsiders have the right to park , and whoever is there earlier , have the right to park at whichever free space that is available as long as you dun block anyone from entering or exiting their house safely , dun park until the garbage trucks cannot pass ...    

On 2/15/2024 at 4:50 PM, Hubwee said:

You didn't live there how did you know the bad behaviour from that owner? 

On 2/15/2024 at 5:08 PM, Volvobrick said:

Must have heard from his friend. So kaypo and park a car there to disturb. Also one Kwai lan… 😃

On 2/15/2024 at 5:08 PM, Volvobrick said:

Cos that self entitled guy shouted for me to move my car away when i was about to reach my friends house which is about 3 houses from where i parked  cos he claimed that is the regular space to his son to park his car ....  

My friend told me that that house only had 1 car but always refused to park at their own front porch which i have no problems with as its a public road and if there is space , anyone has the right to park there as long as you dun block someone else from entering or exiting safely ...  

On 2/15/2024 at 12:31 PM, Fitmugen said:

Took a look at the Whampoa terrace houses. Actually it seems like a nice place to stay. Plenty of HDB parking, and seems like a quiet neighborhood. Short drive to whampoa market and accessible to CTE.

Compare this to “real” landed enclaves like Luxus Hill where the indiscriminate parking makes it look like a slum.

1.28m for a corner terrace with good land size is not bad a deal. Maybe buyer is a retiree who already has set aside money for his children. This seems like an ideal retirement home.

Luxus Hills?  Thats a joke , dude.  When it was launched nobody touched for many years.  
only inexperienced or first time landed buyers buy Luxus Hills.   Heeheee. 

On high price transacted HDBs,  yeah, its mostly purchased by retirees who cashed out on private property and want to retire in a place they are familiar with some cash in hand.   

On 2/15/2024 at 8:47 PM, Throttle2 said:

Luxus Hills?  Thats a joke , dude.  When it was launched nobody touched for many years.  

On high price transacted HDBs,  yeah, its mostly purchased by retirees who cashed out on private property and want to retire in a place they are familiar with some cash in hand.   

Is it terrace houses? New terrace houses frontage are minimised to the legal limits ie 6m just about the length of a parking lot, no way to park along the road without blocking own/neighbours' gate. They also have narrow roads. If both sides of the road have houses, no way everyone can park outside without blocking the whole road. Often can't fully park inside too (gate can't be closed) as the lots are too small to maximise the build-up area.

On 2/15/2024 at 8:03 PM, Volvobrick said:

Is it terrace houses? New terrace houses frontage are minimised to the legal limits ie 6m just about the length of a parking lot, no way to park along the road without blocking own/neighbours' gate. They also have narrow roads. If both sides of the road have houses, no way everyone can park outside without blocking the whole road. Often can't fully park inside too (gate can't be closed) as the lots are too small to maximise the build-up area.

The road at Luxus Hill is wide enough to fit 3 cars la

On 2/15/2024 at 7:47 PM, Throttle2 said:

On high price transacted HDBs,  yeah, it’s mostly purchased by retirees who cashed out on private property and want to retire in a place they are familiar with some cash in hand.   

Went to view Luxus Hills just after CB in 2020. $3.8m for corner terrace subsale. I still thought not bad can consider, at least land area is decent. 
After that I took 5 minutes to get out, have to navigate the many cars parked along the road in both directions. Asked myself, do I want to do this everyday???

On 2/15/2024 at 9:14 PM, Fitmugen said:

Went to view Luxus Hills just after CB in 2020. $3.8m for corner terrace subsale. I still thought not bad can consider, at least land area is decent. 
After that I took 5 minutes to get out, have to navigate the many cars parked along the road in both directions. Asked myself, do I want to do this everyday???

Ya I went there one send CNY goodies. Never went there again. Exactly the same situation you mentioned.