Singapore Property Scene Discussion

therock

On 10/21/2025 at 2:13 PM, Sturtles said:

Privacy is rare as footprint of houses gets bigger

In the past, the driveways are as long as the house, and there is decent setback from the fencing and back yard.

These days, its just about 2m, and the porch is about as much privacy you get from the access road, then your neighbours

Of course, it may be negated by having good a green thumb or gardener.

Mozzies are beyond one's control as the neighbours play a crucial component not within the owner's jurisdiction.

Main road facing units are horrendous, in my humble opinion. Cars and traffic are not so much the problem, but constant roaring of buses, lorries make peaceful living hell, no matter how much the setback.

That is also faced by HDB and condo units, so that is not a fair comparison.

Regardless, landed living is exclusive( ie supply restricted), so even Macpherson road owners are making a good profit compared to 10 years ago.

Importantly, the built-up PSF is so much cheaper than condos, so these are real 3 generation homes that can be obtained by pooling funds

Yes it is not easy to find the right house.   There are many things to consider, the less discerning buyers relying on agents will easily miss out the most important aspects.

just so glad i found my perfect one so early and have been enjoying living in it since.  

On 10/21/2025 at 11:56 PM, Throttle2 said:

Of course, but the discussion isnt about price. or whether it will sell or not.  Even the dumbest ugliest f**k shit Rolex will sell if the seller lowers the price enough.

But, utter a number we have not once, if you look back at our posts.    Therefore no need to bring in the question of money becos, this we all know, that houses right at the main road, cannot ask for a premium rather more of a discount.    

With conviction, under my circumstances and capabilities, I would say, I wont buy a landed house at the main road to live in.  nope, not in a million years.  

The main point I was trying to make, is having conventional taste and preference is actually a disadvantage... Landed is all different and are priced quite differently. The pricing really is not based on your own personal preferences but what the market on a whole prefer... 

So if you are a conventional person who don't like main road, then be prepared to pay more. It is also to be objective and not overpay for something which appeals to you a lot. For people who like main roads, they should be insanely happy that everyone disagree with them, because they can get it cheap.

On 10/22/2025 at 12:16 AM, Throttle2 said:

Yes it is not easy to find the right house.   There are many things to consider, the less discerning buyers relying on agents will easily miss out the most important aspects.

just so glad i found my perfect one so early and have been enjoying living in it since.  

Unless one lives in landed before, he won't know many of the factors to consider. 

There's a YT channel touring and criticising many mansions. Many good points to learn though the properties are bigger than GCBs. 

On 10/22/2025 at 9:17 AM, Wind30 said:

The main point I was trying to make, is having conventional taste and preference is actually a disadvantage... Landed is all different and are priced quite differently. The pricing really is not based on your own personal preferences but what the market on a whole prefer... 

So if you are a conventional person who don't like main road, then be prepared to pay more. It is also to be objective and not overpay for something which appeals to you a lot. For people who like main roads, they should be insanely happy that everyone disagree with them, because they can get it cheap.

If only conventional people don't like big, quite houses with fresh air...... 

On 10/21/2025 at 11:56 PM, Throttle2 said:

Of course, but the discussion isnt about price. or whether it will sell or not.  Even the dumbest ugliest f**k shit Rolex will sell if the seller lowers the price enough.

But, utter a number we have not once, if you look back at our posts.    Therefore no need to bring in the question of money becos, this we all know, that houses right at the main road, cannot ask for a premium rather more of a discount.    

With conviction, under my circumstances and capabilities, I would say, I wont buy a landed house at the main road to live in.  nope, not in a million years.  

I not here to argue for the sake of arguing, as really mellowed over the years i think haha.

Your last sentence really speaks volume. If everyone is as capable, who do not want to drive Ferrari but want to drive a Toyota, who do not want to buy a Rolex but got a Casio  instead. If you are very capable, of course just get a GCB without blinking but alas not everyone as capable. Money does play a part as else everyone will just get the best of everything in life isn't it?

Coming back, those landed along main roads are not to be scoffed at as they serve a purpose. One is to allow those less capable a chance at bigger houses which they otherwise would not have a chance to get. Take my case. Before this I have a 2000sqft house along a quiet place, but i traded it to current close to 4000sqft house along the main road when the opportunity came along. I referring to land size which almost doubled. I did some homework to make sure it is not a busy main road and the traffic noises cannot infiltrate into the house to affect the quality of living. And as it is so near to the East Coast beach, I could cycle there to exercise every week. Also it is just next to the ECP and very near to PIE. So having a house along the main road is not really that negative lah, just do not get one that is along a busy main road. Important is to get something that is affordable for you and give others less capable a chance lah haha.

On 10/22/2025 at 9:27 AM, Volvobrick said:

Unless one lives in landed before, he won't know many of the factors to consider. 

There's a YT channel touring and criticising many mansions. Many good points to learn though the properties are bigger than GCBs. 

share the link leh. i kaypoh. hahahah 

On 10/22/2025 at 9:46 AM, Heartlander said:

I not here to argue for the sake of arguing, as really mellowed over the years i think haha.

Your last sentence really speaks volume. If everyone is as capable, who do not want to drive Ferrari but want to drive a Toyota, who do not want to buy a Rolex but got a Casio  instead. If you are very capable, of course just get a GCB without blinking but alas not everyone as capable. Money does play a part as else everyone will just get the best of everything in life isn't it?

Coming back, those landed along main roads are not to be scoffed at as they serve a purpose. One is to allow those less capable a chance at bigger houses which they otherwise would not have a chance to get. Take my case. Before this I have a 2000sqft house along a quiet place, but i traded it to current close to 4000sqft house along the main road when the opportunity came along. I referring to land size which almost doubled. I did some homework to make sure it is not a busy main road and the traffic noises cannot infiltrate into the house to affect the quality of living. And as it is so near to the East Coast beach, I could cycle there to exercise every week. Also it is just next to the ECP and very near to PIE. So having a house along the main road is not really that negative lah, just do not get one that is along a busy main road. Important is to get something that is affordable for you and give others less capable a chance lah haha.

As i said, we are not talking about the price of the property to value how good it is, yet you bring it up.  We are not talking about who can afford what and you bring it up.   You were not arguing for the sake of it earlier, but in this post you are starting to, already.

So the fact that a 2,000sft house can be traded for one that is 4,000sft along the main road tells a lot doesnt it?

and i am not saying that you dont enjoy your place or your place is not suitable for you. Or that your place is lousy.  Great that it works out for you.  Great that you found the right one.

i am simply disputing your earlier statement and I quote
 “IF YOU WANT PEACEFUL LIVING WITH LANDED, THE BEST OPTION WOULD BE THOSE ALONG THE MAIN ROADS….”🤦🏻‍♂️

Then in this post, you say “having a house along the main road is not really that negative lah, just do not get one that is along a BUSY MAIN ROAD.”🙄

Yes OK, i rest my case 😁🙏

Over and out.  

Edited by Throttle2

Yup just like how some unconventional people who demand to be addressed as They/Them has an “advantage”  

yup Advantage indeed.  

🤪😁😄😂

On 10/22/2025 at 11:19 AM, Throttle2 said:

As i said, we are not talking about the price of the property to value how good it is, yet you bring it up.  We are not talking about who can afford what and you bring it up.   You were not arguing for the sake of it earlier, but in this post you are starting to, already.

So the fact that a 2,000sft house can be traded for one that is 4,000sft along the main road tells a lot doesnt it?

and i am not saying that you dont enjoy your place or your place is not suitable for you. Or that your place is lousy.  Great that it works out for you.  Great that you found the right one.

i am simply disputing your earlier statement and I quote
 “IF YOU WANT PEACEFUL LIVING WITH LANDED, THE BEST OPTION WOULD BE THOSE ALONG THE MAIN ROADS….”

Then in this post, you say “having a house along the main road is not really that negative lah, just do not get one that is along a BUSY MAIN ROAD.”🙄

Yes OK, i rest my case 😁🙏

Over and out.  

Whenever i see those landed house along a busy road, i am curious to know how they manage to drive in and out of their house? Lol.

On 10/22/2025 at 11:27 AM, 13177 said:

Whenever i see those landed house along a busy road, i am curious to know how they manage to drive in and out of their house? Lol.

stop.gif.c8693b1c7feba4c63d910782c86317d1.gif

i can share my landed journey last year. I started off with a few non-negotiable no-gos, even if its at a distressed price. 

1. near those chinese taoist temples. esp home-based type. I saw a few in macpherson. No offence to anyone but the smoke, parking and human traffic will drive you nuts 
  2.  near mosques or hindu temples. see above, more on human traffic in this case
  3. near coffeeshops. The amount of pests esp rats will make your living a misery. be ready to set rat traps everywhere. we are not talking about those brand new coffee shops in new estates but those typical run down kopitiams at landed enclaves. 
  4. right in front of major key roads - example - upper paya lebar, serangoon road. it is extremely difficult to drive out esp at peak hours 
  5. right in front of bus stops. 
  6. type 2 inter terrace - mickey mouse landed. u probaly cant even park a car in with the gates closed.

Edited by Estrangable

followed by criteria that will 

i dont think anyone in the right mind wants to stay on the main road. It's probably because there are some redeeming factors that makes the place palatable, example land size, good condition, decent pricing, etc.  

On 10/22/2025 at 1:00 PM, Estrangable said:

followed by criteria that will 

i dont think anyone in the right mind wants to stay on the main road. It's probably because there are some redeeming factors that makes the place palatable, example land size, good condition, decent pricing, etc.  

Whenever i pass by those landed along Holland Rd, near the sixth ave junction and cold storage jelita. Wonder how those owners drive in and out of their car from their house? Lol.

On 10/22/2025 at 1:09 PM, Estrangable said:

i actually viewed this landed last year. it was near to the cemetary area but the condition was decent and layout was very conventional . 

Inside A Modern Eclectic House Filled With Designer Pieces

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qvsSDMmIeRk

Near to cemetary area? Will the area get very crowded during qing ming?

On 10/22/2025 at 12:54 PM, Estrangable said:

i can share my landed journey last year. I started off with a few non-negotiable no-gos, even if its at a distressed price. 

1. near those chinese taoist temples. esp home-based type. I saw a few in macpherson. No offence to anyone but the smoke, parking and human traffic will drive you nuts 
  2.  near mosques or hindu temples. see above, more on human traffic in this case
  3. near coffeeshops. The amount of pests esp rats will make your living a misery. be ready to set rat traps everywhere. we are not talking about those brand new coffee shops in new estates but those typical run down kopitiams at landed enclaves. 
  4. right in front of major key roads - example - upper paya lebar, serangoon road. it is extremely difficult to drive out esp at peak hours 
  5. right in front of bus stops. 
  6. type 2 inter terrace - mickey mouse landed. u probaly cant even park a car in with the gates closed.

You forgot to add on, near to school, esp branded school. Lol.

On 10/22/2025 at 1:42 PM, mcf2025 said:

Those who sold early go on rental and now still waiting for price to crash can only sit there regret 😭 

sold and wait to buy back is timing the market ..macam kena 4D TWICE in a row

sell at the top, but at the low ... so choon meh ... 

images.jpg