Stratovarius Turbocharged February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 18 hours ago, Goldenvodka said: Need some valuable inputs from the experts here. I am currently driving a 12 years old Suzuki Swift Sport ZC31S. I must say the driving experience has been great along these years. My entire family is small sized hence space is not an issue and personally I like to drive small cars. Until the recent years after my first child was born. I start to feel the car has 0 level of comfort. Suspension is horrible, can feel every bump on the road. Wind/road noise seems fine. Suspension is really dam rough I tried doing the following things to "soften the suspension" 1) Swap aftermarket suspension back to stock. A good condition item 2) Tyres downsized to 15" 195/60/15 I am not looking for comfort levels of the standards of luxury cars but looking forward to enhance the comfort of my ride to the likes of maybe a old altis/latio/elantra? If the following can be fulfilled with any aftermarket solution, any opinion is much welcomed! 1) Tone down the acceleration and braking power. Every time when I apply gas/brakes my family members will make noise they "surge forward/backwards" 2) A softer and more comfortable suspension as compared to stock. 3) If I change Tyres to 185/60/15 will it improve on anything? By the way my entire vehicle is stock for these years Sorry if this post is weird in anyway. I am just looking for a more comfortable ride for my family without the need to buying a new car. Urs is a mt or at? U need to know that zc31s is not a very refined car and it is well known for its raw feel. People dun buy it for comfort. Stock springs and shocks are already stiffer than normal swift and that is probably softest u can get. Last time I bought an in house coilovers for ss and it is a tad softer than stock when dialed all the way down. But I wouldn't recommend u to try since it is not worth the money for comfort. Personally I dun feel any difference for 16 and 17 tyres. There will be slight comfort improvement for 15s. But u have to change rims for those to fit. I like 15s on ss the most as can fit those thick donut tyres. As for surge forward and backwards. I think is ur driving style. Lol. If braking to a stop, release the brake gradually as the car slows down and completely off the brakes as the car coming to a stop will reducing the surge forward effect. U do the same for at but u to engage the brakes again for the car to stop.if urs mt the car is going to jerk everytime u engage the clutch. Only way to smooth it is to engage very slowly. All in all I would say it is hard to improve the ride quality. Maybe adding insulation might help as it increases the weight and sound proofing the car better. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 I have a normal swift in my lot and maybe TS can consider swapping with me? I will give him MCF member price. TS kept all the sports parts he changed or not? The people that buy SSS always want to upgrade to make it go faster and if TS kept all the parts easier for me to sell. Save some money for the new customer also, he or she no need to change the parts themselves. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 17 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: In addition, your mini also have short shocks, small wheels and short wheelbase lah. Haha . I test drove a cabrio and nearly bought from an ang moh as my lifestyle car but the guy back out last min. Now your family car is the w212 and lifestyle is the altis? 😁 1 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 (edited) 4 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: Now your family car is the w212 and lifestyle is the altis? 😁 That was supposed to be an additional car, all cheap cheap cars. Now thinking hard to get an MPV bcos of needs, no more life style 😬😬 Edited February 20, 2021 by Ct3833 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 1 hour ago, Ct3833 said: That was supposed to be an additional car, all cheap cheap cars. Now thinking hard to get an MPV bcos of needs, no more life style 😬😬 Get elgrand swee swee lifestyle plus need Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 (edited) 17 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said: Get elgrand swee swee lifestyle plus need Too big . Ody or sharan will b a good fit. It is a waste of money for sure, just to fetch my grandkids around. My heart is debating with my head now, see who will win.😅 Edited February 20, 2021 by Ct3833 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 8 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: Too big . Ody or sharan will b a good fit. It is a waste of money for sure, just to fetch my grandkids around. My heart is debating with my head now, see who will win.😅 Since grandkids then get 7 seater suv, bmw x5 or audi q7 is good hehe its all about ferrying ur grandkids in style 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 18 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said: Change tyre with thicker profile. Check health of suspension. If after change tyre still find it stiff consider get toyota I think Nissan suspension is more soft. Latest Altis I think change to double wishbone suspension should have change the characteristics towards handling. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 16 hours ago, yellowshaun said: From what I understand, TS main issue is the powerful acceleration and braking power (lateral movement). So far most of the advice has been about the vertical movement on suspension and tyres =D Got people tune car for more power right, can tune for less power? =D Your right foot. More power is always good to have. Just control the right foot. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 3 minutes ago, Tohto said: I think Nissan suspension is more soft. Latest Altis I think change to double wishbone suspension should have change the characteristics towards handling. Yes nissan is soft too. Probably now more soft than new toyota Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 52 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: Too big . Ody or sharan will b a good fit. It is a waste of money for sure, just to fetch my grandkids around. My heart is debating with my head now, see who will win.😅 You need sliding doors. Else kids anyhow open and whack neighboring cars. They will like Ah gong’s bus. Remember to add a few screens for their entertainment too. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 My grandpa bought a small Toyota Pickup truck to ferry all his kids around. The same way as SAF 3 tonner. That was 40 years ago. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 4 minutes ago, Albeniz said: My grandpa bought a small Toyota Pickup truck to ferry all his kids around. The same way as SAF 3 tonner. That was 40 years ago. All the kids sit in the cargo bed. Fun 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 24 minutes ago, inlinesix said: All the kids sit in the cargo bed. Fun During my kids day I also love sit behind the cargo bed. Go out is real 兜风 😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 20, 2021 Share February 20, 2021 2 minutes ago, Tohto said: During my kids day I also love sit behind the cargo bed. Go out is real 兜风 😁 It is still the best. Go offroad sitting on the cargo bed. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldenvodka 2nd Gear February 20, 2021 Author Share February 20, 2021 (edited) Mine is a AT on 15inch rim. using 195/60r15. did not look to buy a new car. Currently too comfortable with the installment and insurance pricing of the car. COE was at 26k and insurance 600+ PA 😁 looks like just gonna live with it and maybe in the near future change to an electric or hybrid car. Edited February 21, 2021 by Goldenvodka 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 21, 2021 Share February 21, 2021 1 hour ago, Goldenvodka said: Mine is a AT on 15inch rim. using 195/60r15. did not look to buy a new car. Currently too comfortable with the installment and insurance pricing of the car. COE was at 26k and insurance 600+ PA 😁 looks like just gonna live with it and maybe in the near future change to an electric or hybrid car. You mentioned you took over a used stock suspension. Do you know how old it is? Maybe it’s getting tired too. Some shocks when old get some stiction and this might cause a rougher ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldenvodka 2nd Gear February 21, 2021 Author Share February 21, 2021 (edited) I am not sure of the age of the suspension but should be at least 7 years and above. However accordingly to the workshop it’s still in good condition.that was about 2 years back. no sound from the suspension or any changes since then. I have heard from other friends in the past that KYB suspension is very comfortable? Considering it once my current one goes off Had also since sure that Swift 1.5 rear shocks can be fitted on the 1.6 and it cost about $100 a piece from fitinpart. Not sure about the labour to change it though Edited February 21, 2021 by Goldenvodka ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...