SPH to Restructure Media Business into Not-for-Profit Entity

Carbon82

5 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

It is well known and a fact. So maybe they should have a section for all those paid and reporters being 'entertained' news.  But it is also readers fault lah. Reading also need to use brain lor. If you believe everything they report then who to blame? 

If reader has to fact check every news they read, might as well don’t read.

58 minutes ago, Freeder said:

He can start this new start up😂😂😂

5E8ACFB6-DD95-4353-B75D-B0412BC4955A.jpeg

The logo and the new startup.

Is that a tuition center or agency?

A1 in English, guaranteed.  

Edited by Albeniz

when a listed company "cutoff" losing $$ business unit ... better sell it or close shop?

065268F1-8DE7-4877-9BD7-FD00343D8B30.jpeg

9 minutes ago, Civic101 said:

IMG_20210509_110814.png

NYC really got this “in your face” aura or charisma ...

The more I see this face , the more i umbrage..

1 hour ago, Wt_know said:

when a listed company "cutoff" losing $$ business unit ... better sell it or close shop?

065268F1-8DE7-4877-9BD7-FD00343D8B30.jpeg

I wonder anyone reads segment P&L?

Excl fair value change, property has $181m profits.

FEB4BEA2-80AA-4244-AF7A-E3E0AE6C87AD.png

15 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

LHL to Umbrage:

Apologize you idiot!

https://mothership.sg/2021/05/sph-ceo-apologises/?fbclid=IwAR0ioi4GzkZB3s0n98pn1c8lpeXYJ5b91ryP7P-WDIirgDRocWlIlazOYGA

Speaking to the media on May 8, Shanmugam said that both the reporter and Mediacorp editor-in-chief Walter Fernandez knew that taking money from advertisers did not automatically compromise an outlet's independence.

"If that were so, most newspapers in the world would not be considered independent because most newspapers do, in fact, completely rely on advertisements," he continued.

However, he noted that the question was a fair one, since the journalists should naturally be concerned with editorial independence.

"Mr Ng's reaction, and the way he answered the question, I think was very unfortunate," the minister said.

"His outburst can be described in stronger terms, but I want to be careful and understated, because SPH is a listed company, with shareholders, management, and I need to be careful."

🤣🤣

i wonder why he needs to be careful ?

it's either

1. someone remove him.

2. he remove someone.

3. shutdown sph

there's nothing to be careful about.

his reaction, his action, his past actions, sph situation, all demands an action on the part of the shareholders.

2 hours ago, inlinesix said:

If reader has to fact check every news they read, might as well don’t read.

True but you still need to listen, see and read what is around you and do your own judgement. If you just trust one source, then you will be misled along the way. 

1 hour ago, inlinesix said:

I wonder anyone reads segment P&L?

Excl fair value change, property has $181m profits.

FEB4BEA2-80AA-4244-AF7A-E3E0AE6C87AD.png

不务正业 的英文。。。be derelict in duty and run irrelevant business; ignore one's proper occupation; do not to attend to one's proper duties [main profession; proper business]; not to attend to one's own pursuit; be unmindful of one's work;

If he had managed to make the share price of SPH spike like this instead of just the search interest in the word 'umbrage' and 'SPH', I would not be taking umbrage at his behavior!

IMG_20210509_150925.png

5 hours ago, Albeniz said:

Once you take money from advertisers, how could you maintain independence?

Haven't they heard of

拿人手短

One can't possibly bite the hands that feed him.

She is also old bird.. it's silly to think she scared take money from say.. cocacola,  means cannot report news about Pepsi. Serious journalist in Singapore aren't worried about that.

Advertiser is just broad term for the pap govt.

Already ranked 160(?)... going to compete with north Korea soon. 

5 hours ago, Civic101 said:

IMG_20210509_110814.png

It could be true that he and many like him aren't elite like those directly connected elites. However, it has proven the route cultivated through the army gave them the wrong mindset and training not suitable for public sectors. So, it is now that the government need to look into which other organisations are filled with generals and connels. I know it is not just sph. 😁

8 hours ago, Victor68 said:

It is well known and a fact. So maybe they should have a section for all those paid and reporters being 'entertained' news.  But it is also readers fault lah. Reading also need to use brain lor. If you believe everything they report then who to blame? 

But there is a saying "A lie told once remains a lie but a lie told a thousand times becomes the truth".... dun forget there were once someone said we should only listen to the good news.....

wait.... will they slam pofma on me??? 🤣

2 hours ago, Victor68 said:

It could be true that he and many like him aren't elite like those directly connected elites. However, it has proven the route cultivated through the army gave them the wrong mindset and training not suitable for public sectors. So, it is now that the government need to look into which other organisations are filled with generals and connels. I know it is not just sph. 😁

Well despite the backlash from the public, these paper generals and the like are still being parachuted in. I would think the main reason is only they have absolute submission. 

10 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

Well despite the backlash from the public, these paper generals and the like are still being parachuted in. I would think the main reason is only they have absolute submission. 

I think most of us heard the stories of the frog in the well and the emperor new clothes. 

On 5/7/2021 at 10:46 PM, Sosaria said:

Reminds me of this another example of over-reaction to reporter's question [laugh]

Who is this guy? He looks like a toad.