COVID-19: Phase 2 Heightened Alert 16 May to 13 June

Blueray

Message added by BabyBlade

One step forward two steps back (the sweeter Phase 3 ☹️😞)

12 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Now just anyhow whack. 

Godspeed Singapore.

Don't think is anyhow whack. 

Now come to think about it.. 

IMG_20210603_224715.thumb.jpg.c77d1b9114862eacfda93458b28f8397.jpg

The swabbing test expended to so many blocks all next to each other.. so that tells a lot.. that area should be a big concern. 

5 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Don't think is anyhow whack. 

Now come to think about it.. 

IMG_20210603_224715.thumb.jpg.c77d1b9114862eacfda93458b28f8397.jpg

The swabbing test expended to so many blocks all next to each other.. so that tells a lot.. that area should be a big concern. 

The neighborhood center is always very crowded.

11 minutes ago, Tohto said:

Young and middle age adults still okay .

There area should have quite a lot of old folks. Old folks will have higher chance of hospitalisation, the death rate is also higher. Not only that, many old folks are quite stubborn and they have higher chance of not wearing mask properly like cover nose, not say Young and middle age adults all got wear mask properly. It's just that the chances of old folks not wearing correctly is higher. 

Update on the MINDSville@Napiri cluster

Total population =255

Vaccinated population =0.91*255=232

Unvaccinated population = 23

Infection number 24 (vaccinated) and 3 (unvaccinated)

Vaccinated attack rate= 24/232=10.3%

unvacinated attack rate = 3/23=13.0%

Efficacy=(13-10.3)/13=20.7%

For sypmtomatic infection only 

Infection number 6 (vaccinated) and 1 (unvaccinated)

Efficacy=40%

From this limited sample set alone, the vaccine does not show sufficient protection to achieve herd immunity against the B1.617.2 variant. As I said before, a small sample size could have a big error margin.  Fingers crossed

Edited by Somewhat1975
  • Shocked 7

16 minutes ago, Somewhat1975 said:

Update on the MINDSville@Napiri cluster

Total population =255

Vaccinated population =0.91*255=232

Unvaccinated population = 23

Infection number 24 (vaccinated) and 3 (unvaccinated)

Vaccinated attack rate= 24/232=10.3%

unvacinated attack rate = 3/23=13.0%

Efficacy=(13-10.3)/13=20.7%

For sypmtomatic infection only 

Infection number 6 (vaccinated) and 1 (unvaccinated)

Efficacy=40%

From this limited sample set alone, the vaccine does not show sufficient protection to achieve herd immunity against the B1.617.2 variant. As I said before, a small sample size could have a big error margin.  Fingers crossed

Bro..thanks for the calculations........

Edited by Starry

1 hour ago, Playtime said:

Yup, the one opposite 7 11 store.

The bkt is so so only... imo.

The salted veg from that BKT  is very expensive. $3 for a small plate.

2 hours ago, Tohto said:

Blk 685 is the popular SHK porridge blk and the popular S'pore Pools store. Both have a lot of people.

The rest of the blk are the neighborhood center.  Also alot of people.

That area is full of lau uncles gathering talking cock with masks pulled down or none at all around kopi tiams and the park area. Ppl who frequent there will know what I mean. The times I've been there I didn't see any SDA patrolling the area. From all the impacted blocks in the area looks like dai ji tua tiao already.

Edited by Jellandross

2 minutes ago, Jellandross said:

That area is full of lau uncles gathering talking cock with masks pulled down or none at all around kopi tiams and the park area. Ppl who frequent there will know what I mean. The times I've been there I didn't see any SDA patrolling the area. 

HG village...the village people there not YMCA type hor...but "you mai cum again!!!" type hor 😁

1 hour ago, Tohto said:

looks like the WP area where many always celebrate after the election results out

• Angry 1

The expansion of mass testing across the HDB blocks tells us something very clearly. We had more or less increased our ability to run more tests daily compared to last year, this should be a good thing. From what I've last heard from LHL, we are doing at least 50k-70k tests daily.  

5 hours ago, Nolicense said:

looks like the WP area where many always celebrate after the election results out

Somebody better go be kaypoh "co-driver" go and slap all these lao "drivers". 😁

45 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

The expansion of mass testing across the HDB blocks tells us something very clearly. We had more or less increased our ability to run more tests daily compared to last year, this should be a good thing. From what I've last heard from LHL, we are doing at least 50k-70k tests daily.  

Yes, but now the healthcare sector is extremely burdened again, this time with the main stress going to the laboratories. 

Pretty much all staff in most of our public hospitals are being routinely swabbed regularly, those swabs have to be tested along with the "actual patients" who are symptomatic. The laboratory staff somehow have to find the time to get swabbed themselves in between running the massively increased volume of tests. And don't forget the swabbers, many swab teams have had to source around for unconventional manpower options and train them up to cope with the added loads.

The top-down push for antigen rapid testing hasn't relieved any testing burden since every positive has to be confirmed with a PCR test - instead in many instances it has also burdened areas like hospital A&Es that need to plead for more temp staff and even non-clinical admin staff to be urgently trained and pressed into service to run these additional tests. 

And all while being generally forbidden from unnecessary socialising, both with healthcare colleagues and with others in general. "Joie de vivre" not so much anymore.

All this continues to impose a toll on healthcare workers of all vocations. Physical and (more insidiously) mental. Nothing is without cost.

Healthcare workers are perfectly willing to make sacrifices and shoulder these burdens, but I would appeal to people to think twice before complaining about "COVID-19 fatigue" from wearing masks when going out while they generally work from home.

And for those who continue to trivialise the situation and ignore basic hygiene measures by refusing to wear masks in defiance of our laws, I have nothing but contempt. If you're one of these jokers, I will very happily bao toh you if I see you and hope the law really comes down hard on you. 

• Praise 20

32 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

Yes, but now the healthcare sector is extremely burdened again, this time with the main stress going to the laboratories. 

Pretty much all staff in most of our public hospitals are being routinely swabbed regularly, those swabs have to be tested along with the "actual patients" who are symptomatic. The laboratory staff somehow have to find the time to get swabbed themselves in between running the massively increased volume of tests. And don't forget the swabbers, many swab teams have had to source around for unconventional manpower options and train them up to cope with the added loads.

The top-down push for antigen rapid testing hasn't relieved any testing burden since every positive has to be confirmed with a PCR test - instead in many instances it has also burdened areas like hospital A&Es that need to plead for more temp staff and even non-clinical admin staff to be urgently trained and pressed into service to run these additional tests. 

And all while being generally forbidden from unnecessary socialising, both with healthcare colleagues and with others in general. "Joie de vivre" not so much anymore.

All this continues to impose a toll on healthcare workers of all vocations. Physical and (more insidiously) mental. Nothing is without cost.

Healthcare workers are perfectly willing to make sacrifices and shoulder these burdens, but I would appeal to people to think twice before complaining about "COVID-19 fatigue" from wearing masks when going out while they generally work from home.

And for those who continue to trivialise the situation and ignore basic hygiene measures by refusing to wear masks in defiance of our laws, I have nothing but contempt. If you're one of these jokers, I will very happily bao toh you if I see you and hope the law really comes down hard on you. 

Yup, mess testing in current setting I feel should not be long term solution. So hopefully when situation stabilised and when more people get vaccinated, hope government to go to drawing board and plan out what would be a better way forward.

I think SG isn't going for elimination strategy? Everyday still double digits and no signs of stopping..