iPhone 14 anyone?

therock

58 minutes ago, Ingenius said:

Seriously iPhones should start to use usb c port asap and have onscreen fingerprint scanner, face recognition is much less reliable. These are essential these days. 

Updated to IOS15.6.  Face recognition is really good even with a mask.

My son's ipad Air has finger print sensor built into the power button.

I register my apple account tied to the finger print so that I can control the apple store purchases.

I hope he never ever try to authorize store purchases with my finger when I am asleep... :D

Edited by Vratenza
  • Haha! 8

9 minutes ago, Ingenius said:

They should use type C to type C instead of lightning cable, as usb C is much more efficient, and is everywhere.  Having tried both, i feel that facial recognition while it works, is not as fast or accurate as fingerprint scanner. 

Apple initially wanted to drop all the plug-in cables and go wireless. LoL

I doubt they cared what is more efficient. They already drop the charger. Ppl do like the fingerprint scanner. It has its pros and cons. Like when I'm driving I would rather go for face recognition. My android tablet has a fingerprint scanner at the back. It is good while i hold it but if it is on the phone holder it is abit tricky.

11 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

I doubt they cared what is more efficient. They already drop the charger. Ppl do like the fingerprint scanner. It has its pros and cons. Like when I'm driving I would rather go for face recognition. My android tablet has a fingerprint scanner at the back. It is good while i hold it but if it is on the phone holder it is abit tricky.

I remember iPhones can create an Activity whereby say if you are driving it is always unlocked, just have to touch the screen. 

12 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

these days, under the screen fingerprint sensors are almost instantaneous. My phone can be in the car phone cradle charging wirelessly while I can use my index or thumb to just touch the sensor area for less than a second and it will unlock.

resistance to using a unified USB-C charging cable and adoption of screen fingerprint sensors is simply Apple's way to differentiate themselves from the android competitors be it for the good or for the worse for the consumer.

5 hours ago, Jman888 said:

$1.4k only get the lowest storage of 128GB, nowadays no 512GB no count [laugh]

Backup all my photo to google so it will free up the space

currently using xs max 256gb and still use up 100gb after 4 yrs

1 minute ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

Backup all my photo to google so it will free up the space

currently using xs max 256gb and still use up 100gb after 4 yrs

nowadays most iPhone and samsung phones dun have external memory. Mobile phone become a camera when travel, so bigger storage the better just in case.

3 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

nowadays most iPhone and samsung phones dun have external memory. Mobile phone become a camera when travel, so bigger storage the better just in case.

kinda hard to find 512gb android phones here in SG, other than those with external SD card slot.

They tend not to bring them in to keep the price down for non-samsung phones. And even then usually only flagships have 512gb.
Pretty standard now is 256gb max. 

1 hour ago, Vratenza said:

these days, under the screen fingerprint sensors are almost instantaneous. My phone can be in the car phone cradle charging wirelessly while I can use my index or thumb to just touch the sensor area for less than a second and it will unlock.

resistance to using a unified USB-C charging cable and adoption of screen fingerprint sensors is simply Apple's way to differentiate themselves from the android competitors be it for the good or for the worse for the consumer.

wet fingers or overly dry skin is an issue though. Admittedly I'm still on capacitive fingerprint sensor on S9+.

23 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

wet fingers or overly dry skin is an issue though. Admittedly I'm still on capacitive fingerprint sensor on S9+.

The note 10+ fingerprint is better than the S9+ I upgraded from. Initially still abit wonky but after some firmware updates it improved quite alot in terms of sensitivity and consistency.

One tip I picked up from youtube is to register your most frequently used finger under 2 different fingerprint profiles. That way the phone will have easier time to match the fingerprint pattern to more sampling points of the different profile.

51 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

old people got fading finger print, my thumb, index and middle finger all fail, now using ring finger, soon will left with only pinky [smallcry]

• Sad 1

54 minutes ago, Vratenza said:

The note 10+ fingerprint is better than the S9+ I upgraded from. Initially still abit wonky but after some firmware updates it improved quite alot in terms of sensitivity and consistency.

One tip I picked up from youtube is to register your most frequently used finger under 2 different fingerprint profiles. That way the phone will have easier time to match the fingerprint pattern to more sampling points of the different profile.

yes i have dual prints of both IF and sometimes still unable to unlock. But ok lor. just type pin number

37 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

old people got fading finger print, my thumb, index and middle finger all fail, now using ring finger, soon will left with only pinky [smallcry]

Lol. That's why apple stick with "bin".

4 hours ago, Vratenza said:

My son's ipad Air has finger print sensor built into the power button.

I register my apple account tied to the finger print so that I can control the apple store purchases.

I hope he never ever try to authorize store purchases with my finger when I am asleep... :D

One day he cut it off

then u know

8 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

So new iphone 14pro max will be $2k? Haha

Eh just go America to buy. lol my friend bought 512gb Pro max from States for like 400+ dollars cheaper. 

2 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Eh just go America to buy. lol my friend bought 512gb Pro max from States for like 400+ dollars cheaper. 

That is USD right?

6 minutes ago, t0y0ta said:

That is USD right?

No lah. Not that big difference. Its in sgd after conversion. But if you are on holiday, might as well. 

Of course this is not including platform vouchers etc etc. I just take retail price from apple sg to compare. 

But he just buy at US apple store. Not using online or what. 

For less expensive devices, its about 80-100+ difference. But the premium they charge locally for higher memory models increases the arbitrage difference.