BYD Sealion 7

Bmxcar

On 11/13/2025 at 7:52 PM, Ake109 said:

@Solar 

No, not true. All tyres have their load rating. As long as you buy a model with sufficient load rating for your EV weight, its fine.

One unique aspect of EV tyre is the sound insulating foam inside the tyre, unless you are super princess and the pea cannot tahan wind noise (and our 90kph limit really doesnt get much windnoise unlike zee Germans and their autobahns), that foam is extra cost, weight and another failure point (the foam can detach or crumble inside tayar).

Yes, as long as the load rating is the same as the EV tyre, no issue at all. 

For my car, i decided to spend a few hundred bucks to do double layer wheel well insulation and then use tyres without foam. Same price in the short term, but cheaper in the long run.

On 11/25/2025 at 4:33 PM, Heartbreakid said:

So is Atto 3. Among other cars at night, this model rear lights appear dimmer. Still notice the car with the lights but just dimmer.

I like it dimmer actually, as long as visibility is still good from a distance, it's better than those bright and glaring ones.

On 11/26/2025 at 5:52 PM, Rickster said:

Yes, as long as the load rating is the same as the EV tyre, no issue at all. 

For my car, i decided to spend a few hundred bucks to do double layer wheel well insulation and then use tyres without foam. Same price in the short term, but cheaper in the long run.

Does the wheel well insulation work? Your double layer, is it one layer of bitumen and 1 layer of foam or?

On 11/26/2025 at 8:45 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

Does the wheel well insulation work? Your double layer, is it one layer of bitumen and 1 layer of foam or?

Yes it works, it’s like 80% quietness vs using tyres with foam inside.

I use STP black gold, for sure one layer is bitumen, not sure about the other layer, doesn’t look like foam though.

On 11/26/2025 at 9:07 PM, Rickster said:

Yes it works, it’s like 80% quietness vs using tyres with foam inside.

I use STP black gold, for sure one layer is bitumen, not sure about the other layer, doesn’t look like foam though.

You DIY? 

I'm rather bad at handiwork 🤣

On 11/28/2025 at 3:06 PM, Solar said:

You DIY? 

I'm rather bad at handiwork 🤣

Nope, went to a workshop. Plenty of workshop doing sound proofing. 

I notice that the stock tries which came with the SL7 are continental Eco contact 6.  

Reviews of these tries on wet surface is really not very encouraging. Anyone has real life experience of how these tries perform on raining days? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 12/12/2025 at 10:41 AM, Tianmo said:

I notice that the stock tries which came with the SL7 are continental Eco contact 6.  

Reviews of these tries on wet surface is really not very encouraging. Anyone has real life experience of how these tries perform on raining days? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Straight line only ah, no cornering. If step full until display show indicated already past the rated output, no wheel spin in the rain yet.

Itchy change liao izzit? I also. But the tayar sizes limit the choices to almost zero. I also see all the ratings online, this damn thing lose to even those 2nd tier brands, damn sianz.

When you taking car?

On 12/12/2025 at 11:22 AM, Ake109 said:

Straight line only ah, no cornering. If step full until display show indicated already past the rated output, no wheel spin in the rain yet.

Itchy change liao izzit? I also. But the tayar sizes limit the choices to almost zero. I also see all the ratings online, this damn thing lose to even those 2nd tier brands, damn sianz.

When you taking car?

wow, your first sentence sound positive! At least more than enough for me. As log as can stop in time in the rain I am happy. [thumbsup]

Not itchy lah, but just that I notice they have westlake as stocks on many of their vehicles, and got me concern.  When I checked out the SL7, I saw continental, so was not so worrying, but when I googled for the model and saw the review for wet grip, sian half liao. 

And you are so right about the tyre profile on  the staggered setup, sibey pai find from the same model. 

take car suppose end of the month. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 12/12/2025 at 11:37 AM, Tianmo said:

wow, your first sentence sound positive! At least more than enough for me. As log as can stop in time in the rain I am happy. [thumbsup]

Not itchy lah, but just that I notice they have westlake as stocks on many of their vehicles, and got me concern.  When I checked out the SL7, I saw continental, so was not so worrying, but when I googled for the model and saw the review for wet grip, sian half liao. 

And you are so right about the tyre profile on  the staggered setup, sibey pai find from the same model. 

take car suppose end of the month. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Mcf standard sop

take car drive to tire shop trade in for rim and tyre package 

problem solved

😂

On 12/12/2025 at 11:37 AM, Tianmo said:

Eh you read again. I meant acceleration. Not braking. Havnt zham brake full in wet yet.

I suggest now Dec rainy weather. You go Sime and test drive when raining. Then zham their brake.

Like this, you know if day 1 take car you can trade in tayars while they are still brand new, better trade in value.

Can ask which dealer you buy from?

Also hor, the front mesh and leaf protector I feel is important must buy before take car accessory. You buy liao?

Edited by Ake109

On 12/12/2025 at 10:41 AM, Tianmo said:

Bro, face value more important. Continental looks better than Westlake or any sub par brand .😛

On 12/12/2025 at 12:18 PM, Hamburger said:

Bro, face value more important. Continental looks better than Westlake or any sub par brand .😛

Bro ah bro, brake in time than got face lor..^_^

You back already or still there? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 12/12/2025 at 11:56 AM, Ake109 said:

Can ask which dealer you buy from?

Also hor, the front mesh and leaf protector I feel is important must buy before take car accessory. You buy liao?

I bought from ME. 

front mesh and leaf protector? No not yet buy. 

Important ah? Ok i go place order now. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 12/12/2025 at 12:43 PM, Tianmo said:

Bro ah bro, brake in time than got face lor..^_^

You back already or still there? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Just returned and drooling tour SL🤤

On 12/12/2025 at 12:47 PM, Tianmo said:

I bought from ME. 

front mesh and leaf protector? No not yet buy. 

Important ah? Ok i go place order now. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

The front active slats, are deep behind the plastic lower grille. If leaf or used condom* fly in, hard to extract. If fly inside the active slats when its open and then slats close, even worse.

I brought the damn thing to the showroom and installed on the spot before I drove off the lot.

*not joking, I seen it before although not my car.

p.s. BTW, pls tell me your color is NOT shark grey....

Edited by Ake109

On 12/12/2025 at 12:54 PM, Ake109 said:

The front active slats, are deep behind the plastic lower grille. If leaf or used condom* fly in, hard to extract. If fly inside the active slats when its open and then slats close, even worse.

I brought the damn thing to the showroom and installed on the spot before I drove off the lot.

*not joking, I seen it before although not my car.

p.s. BTW, pls tell me your color is NOT shark grey....

I think I know what you mean, I saw the the shade like nets on TB when I was shopping for other accessories. Later I go put into cart and cart out. 

No worries bro, there is already one shark grey SL7 and one grey SL6 at my MSCP, i am not joining the shark grey party. 

Atlantis Grey (which is the blue one)!!!![laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 12/12/2025 at 1:27 PM, Tianmo said:

I think I know what you mean, I saw the the shade like nets on TB when I was shopping for other accessories. Later I go put into cart and cart out. 

No worries bro, there is already one shark grey SL7 and one grey SL6 at my MSCP, i am not joining the shark grey party. 

Atlantis Grey (which is the blue one)!!!![laugh][laugh][laugh]

warrau BYD got 50 shades of grey sibo :grin: